We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful beach”

Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.96*
and up
Kona Tour: Coffee Plantation, Kealakekua Bay, Kaloko-Honokohau Park and Bee Farm
Ranked #9 of 130 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Peaceful beach”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stopped by after my husband finished ironman. Was recommended by park ranger. We parked at the harbor and only walked 3 minutes. It is quite and peaceful. We relaxed with turtles on the sand and water. We saw historic volcano produced lava wall and ancient homeland. The spirit of Kaloko- Honokohau. We found out it's also great place to hike. We are planning on coming back to hike and snorkel in next few day. Great place for small kids long as they know better to stay 25 feet from turtles and not to bother them.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    175
    35
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good area for Snorkeling”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Can see sea turtles and peaceful area for relax / snorkeling (private). But it is little hard to identify.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RamuduChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Scotland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Quiet beach and green turtles”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Easy to reach off the airport road and has good parking at the marina. Short walk to the beach and we saw at least 10 green turtles, some feeding in the water and some on the beach. The beach itself is long and forms a sheltered bay. Only possible downside is that after we left we came out in loads of bites. There were lots of tiny flies around the rocks but we didn't notice any on our skin. Worth putting on insect repellent if you go here, just to be on the safe side.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_fan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went here in search of turtles - it was low tide so none were around, but we saw a monk seal which I hear is very rare. Like others have said, go to the Marina just to the south and there's a shortcut, which we used, and its a quick walk in.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank slaglator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A really nice NPS site - don't pass it up!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

i'm really glad we stumbled upon this site. we're frequently visitors of NPS parks but even so we almost missed this one! the visitor's center is small and unassuming but really nice. the staff is also great, as we generally find for NPS rangers and employees. the junior ranger activities are nice at this one and definitely help pass the time for the kiddos during the 0.7 mi walk to one of the beaches. the fish trap area is nice for swimming though a bit silty for snorkeling. the beach is really pretty and the areas of shade are definitely welcome. we chose to drive down to the area with the fish pond, which is a good options for people with children who don't want to undertake another walk with them. we picnicked there and then enjoyed walking around the tide pools.

in all, this was a nice, relaxing afternoon spot. it was a welcome opportunity to do a little trail walking after feeling like all we did was swim :) this is a gem of a spot and a nice change of pace for an afternoon on the Big Island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank w1ntermute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing