We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable!”
Review of Island Breeze Luau

Island Breeze Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.96*
and up
Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island
More Info
US$204.68*
and up
Kona Submarine Adventure and Island Breeze Luau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted the Best of West Hawaii since 2000 , the Island Breeze Lu'au and is located on the shores of Kamakahonu Bay and the historic grounds of the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. An evening filled with delicious food and authentic Island entertainment. Highlights include the re-enactment of the arrival of Kamehameha I aboard an outrigger canoe, the unearthing of the imu (underground oven), preliminary arts and crafts where you have a chance to meet the performers, a 22-dish buffet, an open bar and the finale of the Siva Afi - spectacular Samoan Fireknife dance.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first lu'au experience and we enjoyed the pre-dinner activities as well as the dinner. Many Polynesian traditions were explained throughout the evening. The dinner itself was good and there was plenty of food - we had no trouble finding food we all enjoyed. The dancers and entertainers were fun to watch and listen to, especially the gentleman explaining how to prepare a coconut for eating! We were able to sit outside, right by the water and enjoy the evening. The only downside was the long line to get into the venue, get there early if you want to experience more of the activities prior to dinner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vacamom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    135
    69
    23
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott, so the luau was just out the back door of the hotel. They take your picture before entering the luau area, and you have the option of paying $20 for an 8x10 picture and rights to the electronic file of the picture. Prior to the feast, there were actvities, such as ink tattoos and hula lessons. We were able to watch the pig and turkey come out of the emu cooker. The food was great and the dancing was very entertaining, taking us on a "tour" of different island dances.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This luau is well done from start to finish. The location at the King Kamehameha is very nice, the food was varied and well prepared, and the show was fantastic.
Prior to the show there is live Hawaiian music, there are various activities (tatoos, hula lessons, etc.), and your dinner tickets include free drinks at an open bar. There is also the taking out of the pig from the pit prior to the show, and this time they happened to add two turkeys to the pit also. Both were excellent by the way.

Then the show. Well choreographed, the singers have excellent voices, and you learn a lot about the Polynesian culture. If you're going to Kailua-Kona and are interested at all in a luau, I highly recommend this one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our entire family enjoyed this Luau. The food was good, the entertainment was excellent and hula lessons where a great deal of fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NLtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Luau we have ever been to”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We made reservations on line for a party of 6. Because we were staying at the hotel on the luau site, we got a discount. We paid extra for preferred seating. The handling of the waiting area for this luau was excellent. We formed queues in the hotel itself (one for preferred seating and the other for regular seating). Usually luau lines are formed in the hot sun. They have a special room outfitted with King Kamehameha's statue and pictures of the various past monarchy of the Hawaiian islands, paintings. etc. It was in this room that they took pictures of the individual parties, gave you a shell lei, etc. We were very impressed that because we paid extra for preferred seating, we were the first into the picture-taking room and also among the first on to the actual luau grounds, where we checked out the various labelled (covered) dishes on the buffet, were first in line at one of the several bars, and seated ourselves right in front of the stage. This was the first plus, as very often one will pay for preferred treatment and not get it. The bartenders sure made stiff drinks and were very happy, friendly and joking, while doing so. The grounds of the luau are beautiful - manicured lawns and towering coconut trees. It was also adjoining the cutest little beach. We got to watch the pig being taken out of the imu (also a first for us, although we have been to several luaus) and King Kamehameha and his court arrived by outrigger canoe. The food was typical Hawaiian and was very tasty and varied. The show itself was very good and just as we all started thinking it was a trifle too long, it ended; probably meant it was just the right length. At the end, they had a little bit of "ohana" finding out which of the guests had been married the longest, the honeymooners, etc., and then they played the Hawaiian wedding song and anyone who wanted to, danced between the tables. We had taken our two children and their spouse and significant other (who was from the mainland and this was her first luau). She was very impressed and I am sure will always remember this when she thinks of Hawaii. All in all, a very well-organized, impressively-run luau and I would absolutely recommend it. P.S. We also had a Hawaiian blessing (a very light sprinkling of rain)!! Well worth the money. As far as we could tell, there were no bad seats as the stage was raised and the grounds sloped ever so slightly toward the stage. Another plus was that they had restrooms right on the luau grounds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Breeze Luau also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Breeze Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing