We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Condo in Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Condo in Hawaii”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I very highly recommend the condo for anyone and everyone thinking about staying on the Big Island. We spent a week of our honeymoon there, and it was nice to have a place that felt like a home to come back to after a long day of activities and driving. The condo was in perfect condition, extremely clean, the kitchen and lanai were wonderful, and all of the details, style and charm were amazing. This condo has more than you could possibly need, and the kitchen was fully stocked. We did one local food shopping trip the first night we arrived, and it lasted us for the whole week. The dishwasher and washer/dryer units were a huge bonus. The grounds included parking, a great infinity pool, a jacuzzi built into the pool, a bbq and tables in the back near the pool, as well as snorkeling and other beach gear for the beach across the street. We saved a ton of money not having to eat every meal out all week, and it was so nice to have a beautiful place to come back to each day. The unit feels larger than it is. Please do not hesitate to stay here. Kudos to the owners and the rental management company, Aloha Condos.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYtoMTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in Unit 1-202 with our two late-teen girls. All of us were amazed with the location, the amenities of the condo and the resort. From reservation to checkout, the process was smooth and easy, and the condo was truly wonderful and a great value on the Big Island. Great snorkelling just across the road. Stay here, you will love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were completely spoiled by our stay in this lovely condo. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and spacious, and the kitchen was well stocked. Having a washer/dryer in the condo made for a much easier trip. The view of the beach is awesome. The pool is nice, and my kids really enjoyed the shallow end and the deep end. It's an easy street to cross to get to Turtle Beach, so no worries there. You can't beat being across from such amazing snorkeling. We can't wait to return -- the only thing we'll do differently next time is stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I almost don't want to post this review out of selfishness. This place has been down-played. I just returned from my 3rd stay in 1-201 and it's feeling like my home away from home. I also booked 2-202 (two bedroom) for my adult kids this trip. It's clean, the amenities and appliances are wonderful, and the décor is colorful, relaxing, and homey. It's perfectly located in my option – just a few miles out of down-town Kailua. Close to a grocery store, snorkeling, and beach access. I lived in Kona 25 years ago and can’t imagine a more comfortable place to stay. Listening to the tropical birds and enjoying morning coffee on the lanai is my absolute fave.
PJ

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank iamspoild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Spent 6 nights at the gorgeous condos directly across the street from Kahalu'u Beach Park. The property was perfectly appointed: we enjoyed having access to a bbq (and even hanging in the hot tub while waiting for steaks to grill!), a beautiful pool, well-maintained grounds, great security, spectacular views and a beautiful beach for snorkling and swimming just outside our door. The location would have been perfect had it not been for a few late-night parties in the covered cabana across the street at the park.
Two different nights brought large groups of families enjoying celebration at the park. The first was not only loud - but brought their own amplification (a karaoke machine) to further project their bad singing and endless bass-heavy musical selections. While the gates are locked by park employees at 11pm, anyone coming from the mainland is still dealing with a minimum 2-hour time change difference and likely is thinking about sleep before then (as we were). We'd have opted for the daily fee for A/C just to have the ability to close the windows and (somewhat) drown out the sounds in exchange for a little decent sleep. As it were, we closed the windows and *still* had the resonating bass from the music thump-thumping its way into our dreams in an overly warm room.
This certainly isn't the fault of the property managers - they went out of their way to keep the property updated with everything a guest could need, but unfortunately have no control over the noises created from across the street. Yes, there was a little neighbor-noise from other condo inhabitants from time to time, but with only one exception they seemed to quiet down fairly quickly.
All in all, I still give the condo a high rating, as without the annoying beach parties & noise I'd considerate it nearly perfect!
Downtown Kona's an industrious walk away (with a rather treacherous shoulder on the roadway - no sidewalks and lots of cars parked on the roadside). It was a quick easy drive into town, however, and we seemed to have great parking karma.
Keauhou Shopping Center (just off the main highway on the hillside) is very close (2-3 min drive at the most) and offers abundant food selections, Long's Drugs, a nice little nail spot for a very affordable mani-pedi, and free entertainment nightly!
One last suggestion, in that the kitchen is full and spectacular: head to costco and pick up one of those $15 spice racks with 30 different spices. We loved cooking, and were glad we'd brought a few little baggies with our favorite spices. Lots of people won't care, but a few foodies like us will love it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NorthwestNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southworth WA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

We highly recommend this condo!

Right across the beach from the best snorkeling beach in Hawaii. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, a lanai with perfect ocean views. Plus a pool and hot tub. Great for families with kids. Condo has a couple of sets of inexpensive goggles and flippers, boogie boards. Much quieter and more relaxed than downtown Kailua, but in easy reach of shopping and other sights.

We stayed in 202 and it was everything that people said it would be. This would be our first choice for a return visit. In fact, we'd schedule the trip around the condo availability!

The only thing to keep in mind is that there are stairs, even to the first floor. We had to lug a lot of stuff from Costco down one set of steps and then up another. We groaned but it was well worth it.

We did not need air conditioning in December, but would probably want it most of the rest of the year.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon Manitoba
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Stayed in unit 2-203 "Gail's Unit" with our parents/inlaws and 6 month old son. Couldn't have asked for more the location was good, once we found out that there was a shopping center right close to the unit instead of driving 10-15min to Safeway every time we needed something. View was amazing as was the weather it was literally the perfect temperature day and night. Beware air conditioning is extra but you really don't need it. Although it would have been nice the first couple nights coming from frosty Manitoba, Canada haha. Oh yeah and she even purchased a hi-chair especially for our little boy, Thanks Gail! You even impressed my mother in law with your "tasteful decor" and that's not easy to do.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,574 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
17.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u

Property: The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
Address: 78-6721 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2453
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Villas represent the first new beach front condo constructed on Alii Drive in the last 20 years. These villas are large, luxurious, designer decorated and have all the amenities you desire - infinity pool, spa, gas barbecue, central air conditioning, plasma TV, Bose surround sound, and free long distance telephone service to name a few. If you are looking for access to the beach with all the modern conveniences of home, look no further. You have found the ultimate vacation destination!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Villas At Kahalu`u Hotel Kailua-Kona
The Beach Villas At Kahalu'u Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing