We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa 1-201”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa 1-201”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I wanted a condo that was in walking distance of a snorkeling beach and this was the perfect choice! Conveniently located right across the street from Kahalu'u Beach, the fully furnished condo was clean, well-maintained, and had everything we needed and more. The view from our lanai was spectacular, I only wished the trees across the street were not there blocking the beautiful sunset that I wanted to capture a picture of but couldn't. Nevertheless, our kids had a lot of fun playing in the pool and most of the time had it all to themselves. We hope to return again soon.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pbj_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Last summer, we stayed in this condo for just three days. We had such a great time and felt there was much more of the Big Island left to explore, that we returned for a full week in August. Last summer, we were there over the July 4 holiday (phenomenal fireworks, BTW); this year, we vacationed Aug 1 - Aug 9. What a difference a month (and a year) makes. This year, I need to downgrade my review by 1 star (it would be 1.5 stars, if that were possible).

My biggest complaint is noise - lots and lots and lots of noise. Evidently, Hawaiian students return to school the first week of August, and the corner (Ali'i Dr. and Makolea St.) directly below this condo is a bus stop for elementary and junior high school kids. Every weekday morning at 6.30am, we were woken up by the noise of dozens of shouting, screaming, and yelling children. They begin to gather at 6.30am on the corner - there appeared to be only 1 adult hanging around, and she did nothing to keep the noise down. Many of the cars pull up with radios blaring and adults shouting as well. The first bus picks up at 7.00am, which brings about half the kids running from down the hill, jumping off the walls where they climb, and tearing out of vacant lot across the street. The other half of the extremely loud kids are picked up at 7.30am. It's like trying to sleep in the middle of a playground. The master bedroom windows and the lanai are directly above and across this bus stop, and even with all of the blinds pulled, there's no way to block any of this early morning noise.

I understand that some of the locals resent tourists, and I don't expect to be revered for my vacation money. What really bothered me about this is that this condo is a residence for many people, not just rental units, so the school children and their parents show zero regard for the people living -- and trying to sleep past the crack of dawn -- in this residential area. Full disclosure: I have a 6 year old and an 8 year old, and I couldn't deal with the amount of noise made right outside my window every day for a week (nor would I ever allow my kids to run rampant like that in the early morning hours outside someone's house, but we all have different expectations).

My second complaint is the cleanliness of the condo. It is still lovely and well appointed, and, for a family of 4, having a second bedroom and second full bath is absolutely necessary. However, it should've been cleaned more thoroughly; there was mold on the walls of the master shower, someone else's bobby pins left in the shower pan, and the fixtures needed to be scrubbed. It also seems a little run down. Of course things get rusty by the ocean, but they should be replaced when that happens, like the tension-rod shower caddies. There are nicks in the wall that need to be re-painted, and some of those nicks that have been repainted don't match. These are small complaints, to be sure, but don't exactly scream "luxury." The couch and the chairs in the living room are spectacularly uncomfortable, but the kitchen stools make for good seating.

Of course, the best place to hang out is on the lanai. There's a great patio set that's very comfortable -- and the view of Kahalu'u is amazing. The best part is you can see how crowded the beach is getting and run right across the street to claim your spot bright and early (extra early, if you can't sleep through the bus stop noise).

Many things about this condo are wonderful. The beds are clean and comfortable, the pillows abundant. The kitchen has everything you'd need to cook all meals, the appliances all function properly, and there are more dishes and utensils than you'd need. There are TVs in each room, but we didn't turn them on - I assume they work. The washer and dryer work fine, and the owner very thoughtfully provides detergent and dryer sheets. The pool is great, too -- my kids especially love that there's a turtle-shaped seat in the middle of it; it's clean and safe.

The location on Ali'i Dr. can't be beat (apart from the bus stop). Of course, it's right across the street from "Turtle Beach," so excellent snorkeling is in your front yard. BTW, this is a great place for kids to try snorkeling -- getting in is a little tricky, but there's a sandy path through the lava rocks and it stays very shallow. The water is pretty calm, and there are TONS of gorgeous tropical fish and even a sea turtle or two. The condo is fairly central to everything on the Big Island. It's about a 10 minute drive from Kailua Village, the main shopping and dining center in Kona. It's about a 5 minute drive from the Keauhou shopping center, which includes a KTA grocery store and a nice little indie bookstore. And it's about 2.5 hours from the other major spots on the island, including Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and the Mauna Kea Visitor Information Center.

I must repeat: The ungodly bus stop noise was not at all a problem when we were here last July. I heartily recommend staying in this condo as long as school is not in session, you can sleep through an hour of screaming children, or you're an early riser and won't mind the noise. EVERYTHING else about this condo is pretty much fantastic, especially if the cleaning service works a little more thoroughly.

One other note: We never received a new email from the rental guy (not the owner) with the lockbox code for the key. Our emails and phones calls placed when we landed in Honolulu and then Kona were not returned. Luckily, my husband still had the code from the email sent last summer, and luckier still, the code hadn't changed. Needless to say, this was stressful. So make sure you have the lockbox key before you leave home!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, CA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We love these condos and have stayed in Unit 1-201 for the last 6 visits to the Big Island. You have great views because you are right across the street from Kahalu'u Beach, one of the best snorkeling beaches on the Island. What a joy it is to sit out on the lanai, watching the sunset. The condo has all that you need and is furnished beautifully. Condo is clean and the grounds are landscaped nicely and are very well kept. Nice infinity pool, there's a spa, plenty of lounge chairs and a barbeque for grilling. It's close to the Keahou Shopping Center which has a Long's Drug Store, movie theater, restaurants and other stores for shopping. If you stay at the Beach Villas, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Great condo with excellent view to beach and sea directly from bedroom and lanai. Great modern equipment of condo. I will come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_CZ_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Can't say enough for this lovely lovely condo. The location was incredible. The condo
well equiped and well maintained. Will miss the lovely views across the road of snorkelers and surfers each day from the beautiful lanai. The great pool and hot top for an early evening dip after long days of exploring. The BBQ on site was put to good use as well.
A smooth operation from directions from the airport to checking in and out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraAnn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed in unit 2-202 from Feb 2-10. We really loved the location here. I enjoyed being across from Kahaluu beach. There was great snorkeling and the tidal pools were wonderful for the kids. There were always plenty of turtles to see there too.
The kitchen in the unit had most everything we could need except for sugar packets but we picked some up at a gas station. The lanai was really nice to eat our meals on. The lanai had a BBQ on it but we always used the one at the pool. From the lanai we had a great view of the beach across the street.
The bedrooms were well equipped and each had a TV in it. There was an extra single blow up bed for our third child so no one had to share a bed and it fit in the bedroom with the two single beds. The master king size bed was super comfortable. All the rooms were clean and well kept.
The bathrooms were a nice size and they were clean. The showers were very large. The vessel sinks were a bit high for our kids to reach the faucets however we just picked up a stool at WalMart and it was fine. We had plenty of towels and face cloths.
We made good use of the beach towels, a hard sided cooler, umbrella, and two beach chairs that the unit had for our use.
The Wifi worked well and we always had good service. The free North American long distance was alse really nice.
My only complaint would be that the washer was very loud and the dryer took a long time to run.
We went to the pool almost every day. The kids loved the pool and had a blast. It was nice that there was a hot tub to warm up as the pool wasn’t heated but the kids didn’t mind at all. The pool area also had lounge chairs and a few tables with chairs. There was a BBQ area as well.
There was ample free parking. The building had an elevator but we mostly used the stairs.
The condo is in close proximity to the grocery and drug stores which are just up the hill. There was a great farmers market on the corner of Ali’I drive and Hualalai. We found this was the best place for produce and souvenirs in terms of both selection and price.
I would recommend this complex to anyone looking for a quite location that has all the amenities you could need.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twinmommaAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were pleased to find the condo had everything we needed and more. The condo was tastefully furnished and cozy. The kitchen was a pleasure to cook in and contained everything we needed to prepare all our meals. An unexpected bonus was two bathrooms! The lanai was roomy and comfortable with a lovely view overlooking the pool and Kahalu'u Beach Park. The amenities, including pool, hot tub and barbeque were used extensively. We also put the cooler, beach chairs and other beach toys to good use. The location was very handy to snorkeling at Kahalu'u Beach. We enjoyed being able to simply walk across the street to snorkel with the fish and turtles. The Keauhou Shopping Centre nearby was handy for our shopping and dining needs. The villa was a short drive from Kailua-Kona which we visited on several occasions. If we had to say anything negative about the condo is that it lacked night lights for midnight trips to the loo. Outside street lights are not in the owner's control but they prevented us from leaving the bedroom blind open at night for air flow. When we required assistance with the wi-fi set-up, help was a phone call away and dealt with promptly. Overall, we had an outstanding condo experience and can't wait to return to suite 1-201.

Room Tip: A front corner suite on the second or third floor provides good air flow, privacy and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
4.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
30.3 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.5 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,559 reviews
17.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u

Property: The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
Address: 78-6721 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2453
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Villas represent the first new beach front condo constructed on Alii Drive in the last 20 years. These villas are large, luxurious, designer decorated and have all the amenities you desire - infinity pool, spa, gas barbecue, central air conditioning, plasma TV, Bose surround sound, and free long distance telephone service to name a few. If you are looking for access to the beach with all the modern conveniences of home, look no further. You have found the ultimate vacation destination!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Villas At Kahalu`u Hotel Kailua-Kona
The Beach Villas At Kahalu'u Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing