We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, Professional, Friendly, Beautiful”

Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides
Book In Advance
More Info
US$138.24*
and up
Manta Ray Night Snorkel from Kona
Ranked #3 of 199 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1971, Fair Wind has been the leader in snorkel cruises on the Big Island of Hawaii. Cruises include morning and afternoon tours to pristine Kealakekua Bay aboard the spacious Fair Wind II. Enjoy one of Hawaii's top snorkel locations and site of the famous Captain Cook Monument. Perfect for families of all ages and experience levels. Includes (2) 15-ft waterslides and high-jump platform. *Save 10-15% by booking direct at Fair Wind Cruises official website.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Fun, Professional, Friendly, Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The crew was so great, happy and accommodating the entire way. Also very knowledgeable. Beautiful snorkeling, great boat and amenities, very glad we saw the bay with this company. Would do it again for sure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank matt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,799
    243
    46
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth every cent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Great day spent on the big island. You spend 4 dollars/gal on gas to get around without knowing if you are going to enjoy you next adventure.This money assures you two good meals, snorkeling at prime spots, paddle boarding, snuba diving, underwater propulsion. Very little money/time are wasted. Do it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank phonsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino
1 review
“Amazing and helpful crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 kids) were first time snorkelers so a bit apprehensive. But the Snorkeling 101 tips we got eased us a lot. The equipment was good quality including floatations. The crew was moving around taking videos etc, distributing equipment.
They did try to upsell snuba, at least it helped make some folks try it out.
Jon Carter was pick of the crew he showed a great footing of underwater life ( He had great knowledge) including video from today.
We had great fruit serving and chips were just awesome.
In all a memorable experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Md-cup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great with special needs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The team at Fair Winds was amazing with my adult mentally challenged sister. We started with manta night snorkel. She froze at the stairs. Capt Mitch sent Dan the life guard out to help and he guided get thru the whole thing. Kat was extatic. We had such a good time we booked the 4 hour morning snorkel to cooks Monument. They all remembered Kat abs the trip was amazing. Mahalo!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Kealakekua (sp?) Bay -- the _best_ snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Took the AM snorkeling trip -- includes breakfast and lunch. We've been to several of the "best" snorkeling beaches on the Big Island, but this bay (with the Captain Cook monument) is far and away the best -- the coral is vibrant, close to the surface, and awesome variety of fish . . . and we lucked out and saw several dolphins and a humpback whale. And the crew was great, very professional and personable. The boat even has a high dive and two slides.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pasconole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing