We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MaiTai”

Don the Beachcomber
Ranked #35 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Walua Road
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MaiTai”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great staff but overpriced drinks and food (which was also poor quality). Great view and sunset watching.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank flyingsolo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    234
    93
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast is Horrible, Dinner is Good”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I would not pay for breakfast at this restaurant that is located within the Royal Kona Resort. Especially at $19 per person. The quality was awful. But I did go there for dinner one night. I got the poke appetizer and the surf and surf entrée. They were delicious but on the pricy side. You also cant beat the view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Mai Tai!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at Don the Beachcomber, I really enjoyed it! The servers are friendly, the view is spectacular. It's the home of the original Mai Tai! Need I say more?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank beachbabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, terrible service”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I meant to send this sooner. We had the Valentine special on Feb. 14th. Our order was taken, our salad was served and eaten. We then waited about an hour. I asked the waitress, she apologized saying a large table had taken a long time. I reminded her that large table came in after we did. She said she would check. I saw her talking to her manager, then walk over to another table and talk to those people. When she came back she apologized again and said she had given our dinner to the other table. 20 minutes later we got our dinner. I asked if they intended to give us a break on the bill.. We got 2 free cups of coffee with our dessert which I also had to remind her came with our dinner. So our only break was the $20 tip she did not get. The food was delicious but I feel we should have been compensated for the poor service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It became our most fav place to dine.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

IT was the best place in Kona Village to eat if you are wanting really good seafood. I highly recommend it. The view and atmosphere and staff were delightful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EpiClesis108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don the Beachcomber also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Don the Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing