We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaiian Treasure by the Sea”
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We left the Sugar Shack not one week ago, and miss it already!! The Kona Sugar Shack is a well-appointed traditional Hawaiian home divided into 4 separate units, all with full kitchens and private baths. It sits on Ali'i Drive, just south of the bustling downtown seaside community of Kailua-Kona. Though Ali'i Drive is busy at times, the home is built up above the road so that you cannot see the traffic, but can enjoy unobstructed views of the ocean (and can see/hear the white water of crashing waves). The patio and pool area are a beautiful space to swim, barbecue, and enjoy a meal, all in the presence of tropical flowers, birds, and an incredible ocean view. Bring your binoculars so you can see the many boats and dolphins just off shore!

We stayed in the Ocean Suite with our family of 4, and it was the perfect size. This particular unit was well suited for a family with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It can also connect to the Mango suite downstairs, and the Anniversary Suite upstairs if you need more room. The Sugar Shack is well equipped with all the things you need for a day on the beach, snorkeling, boogie boarding, picnicking, etc. Coolers, blue ice, beach towels, umbrellas, boogie boards, pool noodles, a few kids life vests and some random snorkeling equipment are all included with the home. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and the pillows and sheets were soft (we really appreciated this). The bedrooms are near the back of the unit and are quiet, all with air conditioning and ceiling fans.

All in all, the Kona Sugar Shack is a Hawaiian treasure that we would love to return to. Owners Jae and John are very responsive and helpful with suggested places to see and things to do. Mahalo for a wonderful Big Island experience. Melissa, Jeff & kids.

Room Tip: Ocean Suite if you need 3 bedrooms with room for 2 to sleep in each room - great for a family!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Kona Sugar Shack
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We rented the entire Kona Sugar Shack for a week long birthday celebration. We loved it. Everything was exactly as advertised and the location is great. In addition, the house has all the little things we needed like beach chairs, coolers, etc. The pool is wonderful and you'll have no problem with bugs in the evening -- just be sure to light the tiki torches -- they make a huge difference.

The beach right across the street was perfect -- you just have to be a bit careful with the waves -- some days it was really fun for novice surfing, but some days the waves were huge and you better know what you're doing. If you drive 5 minutes south, there is a great bay with wonderful snorkeling -- we went in the morning and saw turtles and lots of fish. We went on a great snorkel trip (saw tons of dolphins), and the night dive with the Mantas is great.

We had great weather for 5 days and a bit of overcast / light rain on 2 days -- but if you still want some beach time, I suggest driving about an hour north to Waialea Bay -- we did that on one of the overcast days and still got some great sun that day.

Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank GreginSF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Our family of four stayed in the Ocean Suite on the second floor for a full week and really loved this location. It was away from the hustle and bustle of town but not too far. And, more than anything it was right across the street from the Magic Sands beach which was truly magical! Our kids LOVED the boogie boarding (when the waves weren't too dangerous) here. We also appreciated the hospitality from Jai. She and her husband ended up being gone for much of our time there but she did what she could to ensure we were well taken care of. The Kona Sugar Shack was our homebase as we traveled much of the island during the week that we were there. Our 9 year old was the only one to use the pool and just one time. There were too many wonderful beaches to visit! We also loved being able to use the beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and more that they have a great supply of so that we didn't have to purchase these items while we were there.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ocean suite which had two bathrooms and three bedrooms. Each bedroom had a window ai...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesDavisFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Our family loved the Kona Sugar Shack! We had the two units upstairs that open up as one unit, the Anniversary and Ocean Suites. The accommodations were roomy and comfortable for 7 adults and 2 children for almost 2 weeks. We loved the convenient location, good beds, nice furnishings, pool, etc., but what we loved the most was the experience of staying in an Hawaiian home. To wake up every morning to so many birds, to hear the ocean surf pounding on the shore, to watching sunsets from the deck at night, to picking limes for our drinks, flowers for our hair, going on gecko hunts in the yard where they hide in numerous tropical trees - it was truly an experience that we have not had before when visiting Hawaii and staying in a condo. The only problem we had with the Sugar Shack that it was hard to leave to go sight-seeing - we were happy just to sit on the porch or by the pool! This really made our family trip one of the best ever! We also very much appreciated all the "toys" that are available, beach towels, chairs, coolers, umbrellas, etc. that made our beach outings so great. I would absolutely recommend this place! (stayed March 12 - 25, 2013)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bufordco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at the Kona Sugar shack back in July 2012. We could not have had it any better than the ocean suite at the Kona Sugar shack. I wish they had a webcam and I could go back and day dream every day. The home is right across from white sands beach with gorgeous sunsets,a wonderful pool,all sorts of equipment to take to the beach,everything you could possible need for your vacation. We made our own leis with all the plumeria flowers they have on the property and I love the apple banana's. Kona sugar shack is close to everything on the west side of the island. We could walk down to Kahuluu beach and snorkle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130KatieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We actually stayed in December of 2011, just before the Christmas holiday. We had the place to ourselves. A highlight for the kids was when John chopped a banana tree down. The location was perfect and we spent hours at Magic Sands beach. i also snorkeled in the bay next to it - a bit tricky to enter the water but lots of good fish to see.
Now when we ask our 8 year old where he wants to live, he always says, The Sugar Shack!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked in after reading all the reviews and we had been on the other side of the island at the Hilo Bay B and B so we could not help but compare. The location of the Sugar Shack is good, across the street from a small but beautiful White Sands Beach. The host Jae is a wonderful lady. We stayed in a room at the back of the house, it was large, decor a bit dated but more than adequate. We had to use the car to get down to the action in Kona every night which was a bit of pain if you want to go out for dinner and have drinks. My main problem was being charged a ! 150 fee for cleaning on top of our rental per night. We paid more per night plus the cleaning fee without a breakfast (which we did know about ahead of time) but for the price I would have stayed down in the heart of Kona in a hotel for much less. I don't like to make a poor review, depends what you want. Jae is wonderful and provides you with coolers and beach chairs but I think the cleaning fee is out of line. There should be one set price per night.

Room Tip: Probably better to stay on top floor or at the front of the building.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pickypatKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyJomac, Owner at Kona Sugar Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the positive feedback and the opportunity to respond to the negative.

When you called last November and wanted to book two nights, I explained that we had a five night minimum and that for such a short stay it would be less expensive to stay in the village (which is about 3.5 miles from the Sugar Shack). We agreed to accommodate you and your husband anyway and you were given the full breakout of the costs, which included a discounted daily rate for the two nights, plus tax and a one time cleaning fee of $125.00, not the $150.00 stated in the review.

We charge the same cleaning rate no matter the length of the stay as we sanitize the baths, kitchen, clean all the linens, etc.

We are sorry that this has been on your mind since your stay last November 2012. We would be happy to forward the original reservation along with the email thread with the quote and other correspondence that you were given prior to your arrival to you or anyone reading this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,891 reviews
25.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Address: 77-6483 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £111 - £887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing