We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing some Vital Ingredients”
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Reviewed 4 June 2008

We recently vacationed at Kona Sugar Shack for 4 nights. We stayed in the Ocean Suite. First off, let me say that Jae and John are very sweet people. Secondly, let me point out that the erupting volcano BLOCKS OUT THE SUN after 10 am every day until the sun rises the next day. So, coming from Seattle, we're used to not seeing the sky, but that's not what we went on vacation for.

Positives - very nice furniture in the living areas, well appointed; lots of extra books lying around just in case you finish yours (I did); unobstructed view of the ocean; nice big kitchen with newer appliances and all the kitchen supplies you should need; beautiful landscaping, lovely grounds; free use of boogie boards, coolers, beach towels, lots of extra beach stuff; black book full of recommendations for food and activities along with a really excellent guide book; shared laundry facilities; really cute geckos.

Negatives - NO AIR CONDITIONING; ants in the kitchen (not surprising), bathroom, bedroom; Ikea bedroom furniture (I guess not such a big deal, but not very nice) and a bed that fills up all of the rest of the room; across from the parking lot of a beach, not across from the beach - lots of interesting folks hanging out there!; next door neighbor is an aspiring electric guitarist - so far, all he can play in Iron Man from Ozzy, and not even that well; busy, busy road in front where you sit on your lanai sipping drinks and listening to the drunks in the parking lot - we were treated to a guy taking his new 'hog' out up and down the road; the walls are thin and the owners listen to music and television loudly enough to be heard clearly in your apartment.

I had a really hard time getting a vacation feel while at this place because it was so residential and noisy. Plus, as you can imagine, the lack of sunlight during the day and air conditioning at night really were detrimental to the fun factor. We were more than ready to go when the time came.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EllieBelleSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyJomac, Owner at Kona Sugar Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

First, we want to thank the guests for all the nice things they said in their review about the Kona Sugar Shack. We realize this is an old review, but wanted to respond to some of the concerns mentioned.

A few things have change at the "Shack" since these guests stayed with us. There is now low voltage path lighting, 60 new photovoltaic panels on the tin roof and air conditioning in all of the bedrooms. Attractive furniture has been placed in all the suites and the Ikea chest of drawers, in the Ocean Suite bedroom the guest stayed in, has been replaced with an antique buffet with a round beveled mirror. Also, there is original art in all the bedrooms and living areas.

The kid who was practicing his guitar next door is long gone and the place has been sold and is operated as a vacation beach cottage. People aren't allowed to drink in the beach parking area across the street but alcohol consumption is still permitted on the beach. People normally behave well and respect others. The parking area and beach are closed after sunset.

Some things haven't changed: The Volcano is still active and forming new land, so on some days there is some overcast in the afternoons, but on most days the weather is beautiful and sunny. The "Shack" still has beautiful tropical landscaping with lots of bananas, lilikoi and citrus trees.

These guests had been staying up the coast at a high-end resort before arriving at the "Shack." Although very nice (and much more expensive), the resorts offer an entirely different experience than what is offered at the Kona Sugar Shack with its local favor and charm.

Most people acclimate to the mild tropical climate in a couple of days and prefer the cool breezes to air conditioning. However, for those those who prefer a/c , all the bedroom are air-conditioned with ceiling fans providing additional comfort. Ceiling fans are also installed throughout the living areas and on all lanais.

The tropical conditions in Hawaii require special attention to control pests such as ants. We have contracted quarterly and on-call pest service to manage any potential issues. We also encourage our guests to empty trash containers regularly.

Please take the time to read some of the 72 positive reviews found on TripAdvisor and even the two negative ones before deciding where to stay on the Big Island of Hawaii. We make every effort to ensure our guests have the best experience possible. Over the years, we have met wonderful people from all over the world and most have found the "Shack" a delightful place to stay, many returning year after year. This is why the Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently rated #1 by TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2008

Our family just spent a wonderful week at the Kona Sugar Shack. Eight of us rented the entire Ocean Suite as well as the Mango suite and we had plenty of room. The kitchens, bathrooms, bedrooms, and common areas were tremendously equipped and nicely decorated. Perhaps our favorite (and definitely most used) feature was the balcony off the front of the Ocean Suite where we enjoyed every meal along with an ocean view. The property is conveniently located across the street from Magic Sands Beach at which we enjoyed for boogie boarding, snorkeling and letting the kids play in the sand. We also drove south a few miles to another snorkeling cove and north a few miles to a few restaurants. When we were tired of exploring, returning to relax around the pool was just what the doctor ordered. It was the perfect size for our 2 and 5 year old to splash and have fun with us and their grandparents. Topping off the vacation was the hospitality provided by the owners of the Sugar Shack, Jae and John. They made sure we were comfortable and (on top of it all) provided an adventure for our son by having him track the ripening of the bananas and papayas on the property and picking them when ready. It was a fabulous place to stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PAexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

We had originally book to stay in the Mango Suite at the Kona Sugar Shack, but were able to upgrade to the Ocean Suite due to a cancellation. The Ocean Suite was much larger and had a great view of the ocean.
The pool is small, but great for young children. It isn't for swimming, but is a great place to get wet and hang out to overlook the ocean.
The supplies of toys, games and beach stuff was great. Almost everything that we could have wanted was available.
The single bedroom of the Ocean Suite was a little cramped, but if you need more room, an additional two bedrooms are available at an additional charge.
Check out time was surprising early - 10:00 AM. We had requested a late check-out which couldn't be accommodated, which we understood, but were still surprised to realize that we needed to be out so early.
Owners were very friendly and attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Oatmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

The Sugar Shack on Alii Drive is amazing and it’s Owners Jon & Jae are two of the kindest people on Earth. My fiancé & I came to the big island for his father’s memorial. Jon & Jae kindly let us book a room at their beautiful hotel at the very last minute when no one else could/would. Aside from this kindness the room was amazing. The large shared lanai in front is beautifully maintained, the pool is cooling and refreshing, and watching the sunset from the little bit of heaven brought us much needed peaceful moments. The Sugar Shack is conveniently located right across the street from Magic Sands Beach and boogie boards, rafts, and towels are generously provided to guests who want a little fun in the sun. The room that we had was very comfortable with it’s privet deck, king sized bed, and newly remodeled bathroom, it was very nice be able to go back to the Sugar Shack at the end of several very long days. I would stay here again and again and recommend it to anyone staying on the Big Island.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank choleshalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Kona Sugar Shack for 2 weeks and can't wait to go back. The rooms were tastefully furnished, well stocked with supplies, and beach toys. The innkeepers, Jae and John, were very gracious and accommodating. It was central to everything in Kona without having to be 'downtown". If you like a place that gives you the space and freedom of having your own unit and at the same time is small and quaint, then Kona Sugar Shack is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TahoeSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

Jae & John are wonderful hosts. Jae made sure we had everything we needed. John's artwork is displayed thru the apartment. We stayed in the Ocean Suite and it was beautiful. It was in a great location- not right in the middle of the busy town but close enough for a quick trip in. The ocean was directly across the street and there's a great snorkeling spot. Also a very short walk to a beautiful beach. The pool is small but with the ocean right there, we only used it as a spot to wind down with a Mai Tai in hand! The others staying there were very friendly and we had a great evening visiting with others from all over the U.S. down at the pool. Jae & John are also very accessible for help when needed and make you feel like welcome guests. I would recommend this is as a place to stay to any of our friends. Grab some groceries on your way in and make use of the grill by the pool. The outside kitchen is also a nice touch.
What a great vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jim_and_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here after narrowly losing out on condos right over the water in Kona. In the end I'm glad we ended up here! We could hear the surf crashing on the rocks from the Sugar Shack, and that was ACROSS the street from the rocks. If you're staying in those condos right on the water it must really be as loud as the reviews on here say it is. They also didn't look as nice as where we ended up.

On to the Sugar Shack. It is run by an extremely helpful and friendly couple who rent out three rooms of their house. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and LOVED it. The room was spacious, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, lots of amenities like a binder full of local restaurant menus and personal reviews, hats and flashlights for sightseeing, etc.

The owners were very helpful when we had questions about going to see the lava flows, restaurants, or anything. We never felt like we were just staying in a room in Hawaii. The only thing to note about the Honeymoon Suite is that it has a locking front metal screen door but that's it. This makes it easier to hear people in the room at night when it's quieter, and may not be the best room for an actual honeymoon :)

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank GreenRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
1.7 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
622 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Address: 77-6483 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £109 - £869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing