We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

The best and only way to stay on the Big Island! The Kona Sugar Shack has a great location on Ali'i Drive--its removed enough from touristy Kona, yet still has access to all the great amenities such as grocery stores and beaches. It is a great 'base' from which to venture out all over the Island, we never bothered staying anywhere else. Our hosts Jae and John were extremely attentive and friendly, and very helpful with tips about sightseeing. It is situated right between a great snorkeling bay 5 minutes to the left (Kahalu), and a great boogie boarding beach (White Sands) to the right. There are grills outside which you can bbq on--its nice to do after a day-long of exploring, swimming and hiking. They just added solar and are trying to 'go green' etc. Beautiful gardens tended with lots of care. What a fantastic place!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berkeleyites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

wow what a place and location perfect if you want to experience the real Hawaii, if you are a fancy resort person this is not the place for you probally, However if you want to experience the real Hawaii like almost living there here you go WHAT A PLACE, AND WHAT A LADY "JAE" your awsome we really had a great time with you and our stay, thanx again, "Brad & Candy-Oregon

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

My family and I spent a week at the Sugar Shack after reading rave reviews on Trip Advisor. It was everything we read about and more! The view from the Ocean Suite was amazing, we ate every meal outside. When searching for restaurants Jae was able to help us find unique places that catered to my husband's celiac disease. She was the best!! The Ocean Suite is modern and updated, and the fully stocked kitchen was huge! If you have children there is plenty of room for everyone to spread out. My parents stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and they thought it was just perfect, and my mom loved the decor. We also spent a couple of days in the Mango Suite. The bedroom was really cute and it was a very functional suite. The pool and patio area were great for taking a nap or reading a book. The beds are pretty firm, if you have a troubled back you will be very supported. We would recommend the Sugar Shack to anyone who is looking for a unique and inviting stay in Kona.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerraA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2009

I was treated with utmost care - an upgrade was provided at a small extra expense with a drop dead view of the ocean. Very comfortable with many extras you can borrow for your beach trips. The advice Jae gave was right on and things are exactly as she describes- so she helps you miss the so-so places and you get to enjoy the best of the island. John's art is so beautiful and unique, be sure to ask to see his studio. I will come back with my family as soon as I can. oh, also, the pool is refreshing - is was wonderful to see the mood and stars while I relaxed there in the water- and I could see and hear ocean waves & birds singing always from my room, and the garden is lush with old Hawaiin style. Unforgetable!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 30happyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

My daughter and I just spent 8 days at the Kona Sugar Shack and it was a great vacation! I wholeheartedly recommend this inn to anyone looking to stay in Kona who doesn't absolutely need to be able to walk to town. If you've been there, you know that the town can be noisy. Well, 2-3 miles south, on Alii Drive, sits the Sugar Shack, which is a beautiful house containing 4 suites. The innkeepers, Jae and John, also live there. It is right across the street from White Sands Beach, so you can take your towel, snorkel, etc. and walk right on over. We stayed in the Pool Suite, which is on the ground floor and opens out onto the pretty pool area with gorgeous tropical landscaping. Having tea and tropical fruit in the morning out there was heaven. There is an outdoor kitchen -- how cool is that? It is communal, but most days we were the only ones using it. Same goes for the grill. The service goes above and beyond. Example: my daughter thought she had lost her passport, but the staff found it in the room after we departed and mailed it to her in Honolulu, having first called and emailed me about it. What can I say except you can't have this experience at a big resort?

  • Liked — Having friendly innkeepers on site who are very knowledgeable about the Big Island
  • Disliked — I liked everything to be honest!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dotsomeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canuck_Woodinville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

I spent eight days at the Kona Sugar Shack with my wife, her sister and my two kids. Each year I have been to Hawaii trying a different island, and last year we all realized that the Big Island was the island we loved best. Each year we have stayed at a resort hotel, however this year I decided to try the Kona Sugar Shack based on some personal recommendations. I can't express just how much staying at the Kona Sugar Shack contributed to the best vacation we have had as a family. It was like walking in to your own home... all of the details were provided (spices, saran wrap, appliances and more)... which meant all we had to do was a Costco run for the basics. The accommodations were private and spacious. Across the street was White Sands, one of the best swimming beaches on the Big Island. Next door to White Sands was an AMAZING snorkeling beach. Way better than any of the tourist traps you might make the mistake of visiting. One morning we saw dolphins playing in front of Kona Sugar Shack as we had breakfast. Jae and John are wonderful hosts and even greater people. What else can I say aside from amazing, wonderful, great value and I am coming back soon.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Canuck_Woodinville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

We do not write reviews very often but this place really deserves a great rating! After much research we booked our ten-day vacation at the Kona Sugar Shack Vacation Inn in mid-September 2008 and had the time of our lives to say the least. John and Jae are Hoteliers extraordinaire! We stayed in their Ocean Suite which has an ocean view and served as an excellent base for our Island adventures. This ocean suite is a 3-bedroom upstairs unit that has been creatively decorated throughout and is stocked with everything you need for a self-sufficient vacation, minus fresh groceries, but condiments and spices are well stocked. It has a private veranda where we ate all of our meals and we watched the sun set and the waves crash on the rocks. The fully-equipped kitchen makes it a home away from home. For play time, there is a storage closet on the ground floor full of beach necessities like sand chairs, an inflatable sea turtle, boogie boards, snorkel gear, flippers, coolers and umbrellas all for guest use.

The Inn’s garden areas have fresh basil, mint, papayas and bananas ready to eat ,and the palms, tropical flowers and giant banana leave trees make excellent props for tropical photographs. It is a jungle like setting with colorful tropical bird species visiting us on the patio, some loud singers, some just curious, and the myna birds looked like they were out with their buddies all night long forgetting to comb their head feathers in the morning, kind of like John McCaskill. I have since adopted that hairdo as part of the Island ways.

The Inn is located on Alii Drive south of the main tourist area but restaurants and stores are a short drive away. There is limited taxi and bus service in Kona as well as everything else that one may need. We recommend getting a rental car, however.

In short, we are already planning our next visit and will endeavor to bring family members with us so they can enjoy what the Kona Sugar Shack Vacation Inn has to offer.

  • Liked — See our review
  • Disliked — Jealous that it's not my home.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank auporphyry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Property: Kona Sugar Shack
Address: 77-6483 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing