We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever!!!!!!!!!!!RELAX:)”
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This was our second visit. We love Kona! It is very quaint. The property itself was very inviting and comfortable. Both units were updated and very clean with breathtaking views. The town itself has much to offer. It is a quiet little town with much to do! We traveled to Honolulu and Hilo on both visits. They are great and easy to get to from Kona. Our favorite relaxing time though is always in Kona. The water is breathtaking and snorkeling opportunities are awesome. We loved the whole experience and John and Jae are perfect hosts!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbumsludr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2010

We loved our time at the Sugar Shack. We stayed in the Honeymoon Room, and being just off the pool and outdoor kitchen area we felt like we had our own home...with a view of the whales each morning and night. John was so nice and personable, gave advice when asked, and tread the perfect line between being helpful and not intrusive. We found it especially nice to have extras such as fins, beach chairs and coolers to support our day trips. We will be back again!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
Thank 2alwaysonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

John and Jae have put so much love into this place and it shows everywhere. We stayed in the Mango suite for a week and it couldn't really have been any better. The pool was nice; it felt like we had our own private pool. The property is on Alii Drive which can be busy but it is raised up off the road so really it doesn't feel like it mostly. White sands beach across the street, downtown Kona just down the road, Safeway, KMART, Costco and Walmart all nearby. We loved the outdoor kitchen and BBQ, the tiki lights at night and fresh bananas all week. John and Jae gave great recommendations and are just the nicest people possible. Having coolers, beach mats, towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel gear, etc all there for us to use for free was yet another great touch. It's a perfect house for a large family gathering or just a few friends or a couple with kids. We will definitely be coming back to stay here. It felt like we were living on the Big Island rather than visiting. Mahalo, John and Jae!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationTimeYet?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

The Kona Sugar Shack was the perfect accomodation for our family. With so many child friendly ammenities such as a play pen, highchair, stroller and baby gate we didn't have to bring a thing! Our hosts were always willing to stop and chat, recommend a restaurant or give us the scoop on great locations to snorkel.
The location of the Sugar Shack is a 2min walk from a beautiful whitesands beach...with the best boogie boarding on the island, and a short drive from the main shopping and restaurant district on Ali'i drive.
It was very clean, and quiet (aside from our exuberant 14month old!) and the value was superb.
We are already planning our next vacation to the enchanting Big Island of Hawaii and will DEFINETLY be making reservations at the Sugar Shack!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NeebingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We stayed here back in March 09 and came back Nov. 09 to the most relaxing place ever! Jae and John are wonderful hosts and were very helpful of all our needs. Planing yet another trip in 2010 to our favorite place. Christine & Rainer Half Moon Bay, CA

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mangoHalfMoonBay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Our family stayed for the second time at the Kona Sugar Shack. Jae and John have put so much thought and dedication into their property. After a hard year, we needed to get away to paradise and that is exactly what we found as soon as we stepped foot on the property. All our worries were left behind. They have thought of everything. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blessed86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My wife and I just returned from a week stay at the Kona Sugar Shack for part of our honeymoon. If you are thinking about staying at the Kona Sugar Shack, I would recommend that you do so. The owners set the vibe with their cheerful greeting when you arrive. They are kind, respectful and very helpful. Their recommendations for hidden beaches and yummy restaurants allowed us to maximize our time on the Island. They also provide guests with all of the basic gear (beach chairs, coolers, umbrellas, boogie boards, snorkels, etc...) needed for most adventures to local destinations.

The location right across from the beach is great. We barely encountered the other guests but when we did they were warm and gracious. It is a cozy, comfortable and relaxing home away from home that provides the perfect base from which to explore the Island.

Make sure to try the fresh apple bananas!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.7 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Address: 77-6483 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £114 - £910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing