We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the Sugar Shack!”
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We loved the Sugar Shack!”
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Mango Suite was perfect. Nice bedroom, comfy futon in the living room, full bathroom, large closet, and a stocked kitchenette. Gas grill on the private lanai, where we grilled and ate the fresh ahi, shark, mahi mahi, and ono from the market up the road. Jae and John were friendly and available but not at all intrusive. Beautiful grounds and dipping pool. Excellent access to Magic Sands Beach but alas there was little sand during our visit and rather rough surf. Still the Sugar Shack was a great home base for exploring other beaches, sights and activities on the Big Island.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gardgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Al
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This was our second visit. We love Kona! It is very quaint. The property itself was very inviting and comfortable. Both units were updated and very clean with breathtaking views. The town itself has much to offer. It is a quiet little town with much to do! We traveled to Honolulu and Hilo on both visits. They are great and easy to get to from Kona. Our favorite relaxing time though is always in Kona. The water is breathtaking and snorkeling opportunities are awesome. We loved the whole experience and John and Jae are perfect hosts!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbumsludr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We loved our time at the Sugar Shack. We stayed in the Honeymoon Room, and being just off the pool and outdoor kitchen area we felt like we had our own home...with a view of the whales each morning and night. John was so nice and personable, gave advice when asked, and tread the perfect line between being helpful and not intrusive. We found it especially nice to have extras such as fins, beach chairs and coolers to support our day trips. We will be back again!

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2alwaysonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

John and Jae have put so much love into this place and it shows everywhere. We stayed in the Mango suite for a week and it couldn't really have been any better. The pool was nice; it felt like we had our own private pool. The property is on Alii Drive which can be busy but it is raised up off the road so really it doesn't feel like it mostly. White sands beach across the street, downtown Kona just down the road, Safeway, KMART, Costco and Walmart all nearby. We loved the outdoor kitchen and BBQ, the tiki lights at night and fresh bananas all week. John and Jae gave great recommendations and are just the nicest people possible. Having coolers, beach mats, towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel gear, etc all there for us to use for free was yet another great touch. It's a perfect house for a large family gathering or just a few friends or a couple with kids. We will definitely be coming back to stay here. It felt like we were living on the Big Island rather than visiting. Mahalo, John and Jae!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationTimeYet?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neebing,Ontario Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

The Kona Sugar Shack was the perfect accomodation for our family. With so many child friendly ammenities such as a play pen, highchair, stroller and baby gate we didn't have to bring a thing! Our hosts were always willing to stop and chat, recommend a restaurant or give us the scoop on great locations to snorkel.
The location of the Sugar Shack is a 2min walk from a beautiful whitesands beach...with the best boogie boarding on the island, and a short drive from the main shopping and restaurant district on Ali'i drive.
It was very clean, and quiet (aside from our exuberant 14month old!) and the value was superb.
We are already planning our next vacation to the enchanting Big Island of Hawaii and will DEFINETLY be making reservations at the Sugar Shack!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NeebingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We stayed here back in March 09 and came back Nov. 09 to the most relaxing place ever! Jae and John are wonderful hosts and were very helpful of all our needs. Planing yet another trip in 2010 to our favorite place. Christine & Rainer Half Moon Bay, CA

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangoHalfMoonBay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Our family stayed for the second time at the Kona Sugar Shack. Jae and John have put so much thought and dedication into their property. After a hard year, we needed to get away to paradise and that is exactly what we found as soon as we stepped foot on the property. All our worries were left behind. They have thought of everything. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blessed86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
2.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Property: Kona Sugar Shack
Address: 77-6483 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing