We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Plusses and minuses”
other travellers have booked this property
Upper Lani with Ocean Sunset View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper Lani with Ocean Sunset View
Front of house Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Upper Lani with Ocean Sunset View
Front of house
Living room
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Dining and Kitchen off Lanai with Ocean View
Kitchen
Spare Bedroom
Spare Bath
Laundry Room
Beautiful view
Back of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martin M
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Plusses and minuses”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Pluses:
1. Great location for our needs - in other words away from the tourist area at a cooler elevation and yet 15 - 20 minute drive to most places, including town and a few beaches.
2. Layout of the house is very comfortable and pleasant. We loved having the master bedroom, living area and kitchen on the same floor.
3. Kitchen has beautiful granite surfaces and a compact layout
4. Wonderful Lanai with view, furniture and Grill. Downstairs bedrooms have nice lanais as well.
5. Beds and bed linens are comfortable
5. Panoramic Ocean views

Minuses:
1. The place is in need of TLC. Carpets were dirty, towels were three bear and too few.
2. Living room furniture we found to be attractive and yet uncomfortable. Furniture has that rental feel as opposed to you are in my home feel.
3. Only one 32" TV in the house with too few channels. I know this is not supposed to be important in Hawaii and I can't help it - it just is.
4. Kitchen needs more pots and pans!
5. Beds need more pillows
6. While there is a beautiful garage that can be accessed by using the wall switch, no opener was provided. I do understand why - and you may want to request this.
7. I was horrified that there is no garbage service and I was asked to take the garbage to the dump. For the price I paid for this rental, this was over the top.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
You were correct in the need for TLC, but I would like to explain what transpired in the booking process. You had contacted me three days before you needed to rent our home (due to your other rental expiring and the home you were building was not finished) and I did advise about the carpet and couch conditions. We had planned on coming out to do maintenance in the home soon, but of course, it would not get done before you rented. As far as the towels condition, we had purchased new hand towels and washcloths and put them in our supply room for the house cleaner to put out after one of our renters left but she forgot to put them out. We did have six sets of towels available for your use, which should have been plenty for 2 people.
Yes, we do have limited t.v. channels and only one t.v. due to the fact you mentioned, most people don't watch much t.v.
We do believe we have as many pots and pans as most rentals need to cook with. Three pans, 3 pots and 3 glass dishes for microwaving. We also supply a broiler pan and cookie sheet.
We have two pillows per bed plus two sham covered pillows per bed, which seems typical for most rental homes.
We do not provide the garage door opener because, as you allude to, it could be left in the rental car. You are welcome to park in the garage but would need to open the door by going into the house and then using the wall opener.
As for the garbage service, we limit our rentals during the year and it is costly to have garbage service when the house is not occupied much of the year.
Lastly, the price of the rental was the published going rate for a 3 week stay; which you did not question when you booked.
We are glad you were mostly satisfied with your stay and appreciate the 4 star rating.
Kathy, owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilypad74...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, comfortable place, good views”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this house. It was a nice, comfortable place with good views. We enjoyed having breakfast and dinner in the lanai. We would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Big Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the views, the comfort
Liked least: the heat and humidity
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandLub...
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Second Stay at this place, will stay again on future trips”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed here twice. The rooms are spacious and we were close to the airport. Kaloko-Honokōhau Beach which is not crowded, has lots of turtles and many boat tours dock at the harbor next door. Costco was close for those times we craved reasonably priced pizzas, hotdogs and gasoline. The elevation (1000ft+) keeps the place cool as compared to along the coast. Also, the "Belt Road" is very close if you wish to drive to Waimea or the Saddle Road to Hilo. What's really nice is it's QUIET,,,,,,,,, no traffic noise. No loud people like along Ali'i drive. The views at Sunset were beautiful. A BBQ is provided on the upper lanai which we did use. And the car being parked in a garage kept it cool and out of the sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness and Cool Temperatures
Liked least: No Beach at the 1000ft level
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationi...
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great newly remodeled house”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at this property with a party of six. It was a great visit and we enjoyed our stay. The house is very clean and orderly, new carpet was a nice addition. The view from terrace is unbelievable and it becomes even better with a bottle of beer or a glass of wine. ;-) We liked the peaceful and quiet neighborhood.

Great beaches of Kekaha Kai state park is a short drive away. Even though we we visited almost all popular beaches in the Kona site the closest ones were the best.

Kathy was very quick with her responses and the whole renting process was very simple.

It could be a 5-star rating if this house was across the street from the ocean.

Overall we loved the place and we do recommend it to the new visitors.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing