We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true big island getaway!”
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu Kai B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 October 2011

An amazing first experience of a B&B and they have really set the bar high! The brekky was amazing - we kinda wished it wasn't and B&B because then they'd have to serve lunch and dinner too! The rooms were classy and had beautiful sheets and lovely little furnishings that made the room extra special. Words cant really explain how lovely it was to stay there. We had such a great feeling of relaxation when we walked in.

From the 2am phone call I woke Wendi up with when I was booking from Australia (sorry again Wendi! :p), to the little packs of trail mix and drinks they snuck into our cooler bag (which they gave us for our trip to the volcanoes) - their hospitality will not be forgotten! If we didn't have something, they did their best to help. When we weren't sure about anything to do in the area, they had folders filled with restaurants and activities.

It really was great to stay there and I was kinda sad that we only spent two nights there.
I think for kids, it wouldn't be appreciated as much for its beautiful setting and its peaceful aura - but absolutely suited to anyone from backpackers to retired sweethearts enjoying their second honeymoon together on the beautiful Big Island.

Thanks again Wendi and Dave! xxxoxo

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

Honu Kai B&B is in a class of it's own, offering more than most other B&Bs and far more than a hotel or resort ever could.

We spent 12 of the most adventurous, yet relaxing days there.
Never did it feel like just a room to sleep at night, instead, it became our home away from home!

For Breakfast, there was always something new and exciting to look forward to. Artfully arranged exotic fruit, a selection of pastries, fresh fruit juice, local coffee and teas and a delicious hot breakfast await you each morning. Never the same meal twice, even in our twelve days with them. They were happy to cater to my husband's almost vegan diet, whipping up something special for him, while taking careful note of allergies and dietary requirements/preferences.

Their attention to detail is just part of what make Honu Kai special, from the fresh cut flowers, to available snorkel gear, beach towels, warm weather clothes for the trip up the volcano, to a cooler with water and snacks for our daily adventures.

Wendi and Dave are fountains of knowledge about the island (especially if you're on a budget), with their great suggestions of places to shop, eat and explore. Between their help in booking events and tours for us, their detailed road trip guides, suggestions for neat places to see and go, they truly made our vacation effortless.

From sharing our previous days' stories and photos with the other guests, to the lazy afternoons on the lanai with my husband napping on the couch, cracking our own fresh macadamia nuts from their garden, even almost kittynapping their misunderstood "devil cat" Koa, every moment at Honu Kai was a pleasure!

Wendi and Dave, you truly made our 10th wedding anniversary/holiday one to remember.
We are already planning to come back soon, and wouldn't even consider staying somewhere else!!

Mahalo from the bottom of our hearts,
Your friends, Steve and Zoe.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe-n-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and loved everything about it. Wendi and Dave are so welcoming and friendly and you feel at home straight away. We stayed in the Nigori room which was lovely and quiet, nice furnishings, great shower and all very private. The breakfasts are fantastic and you can tell that a lot of time is put into creating something special. Wendi and Dave provide everything you can think of such as boogie boards, snorkeling gear, beach towels, sunscreen,water, snacks.

This B&B is truly fantastic, we recommend it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danni145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Everything that everyone else has said is 100% true. My wife and I spent 6 nights at Honu Kai on our honeymoon and it was perfect. Wendi and Dave went the extra mile at every step of the way. Beyond the truly excellent breakfasts, the beautiful garden landscape, the clean and comfortable rooms and everything else you would expect at a great B&B, Wendi and Dave set us up on awesome tours and even had detailed guides for just about any conceivable activity you could imagine. They will never let you leave the B&B for the day unprepared - whether it just be some snorkel gear, boogie board and towels for a day at the beach or much needed extra layers and gloves for a chilly trip up Mauna Kea or just a quick guide of interesting attractions on the way to Kilauea - Wendi and Dave take care of everything you could think of.

Any of these things by themselves would be enough for a five star rating, but the truly best part is that Dave and Wendi make sure that you feel welcome. Our stay at Honu Kai felt more like a stay at a good friend's house than at a B&B or hotel and their attitude was infectious to the rest of the guests. Breakfasts around the table felt like a gathering of buddies as the previous day's adventures were discussed, pictures were exchanged, and plans were made than a group of strangers just sitting down to eat and move on with their vacation.

Staying at the Honu Kai was one of the best decisions we made on our trip to Hawai'i. On our return trip, the Honu Kai will be our B&B of choice and I heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a stay on the Big Island whether for two days or two weeks.

Mahalo for everything, Wendi and Kona Dave!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mwoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is by far the greatest bed & breakfast I've ever stayed at! The breakfasts are spectacular! My wife and I were on the islands for two weeks and never had any other breakfasts as good as the ones as the Honu Kai B&B. The house and the rooms are extremely nice and on par with the best hotels.

Both Dave and Wendy are extremely accommodating and friendly. They know so much about the island- everything from where to eat to which sights are the best to see.

I would definately stay here again (and every other time I'm on the Big Island)--it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingerJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Believe everything you read in the previous reviews, so I'm not going to repeat...

With Wendi & Dave's clear passion for the island and their B&B, you cannot help but to get into the 'aloha' spirit. That's exactly what we needed to get over our jet-lag from the long flight from London, and really set up us well for the rest of the 2 week holiday.

Wendi & Dave really do go the extra mile and can help orientate you and give you snippets of knowledge that you'll never find in a guidebook (even the Blue Book!). It is really like they cannot do enough for their guests. It really is more than a job, it is a passion for them to spread the aloha spirit and it worked for us!

We also loved the sociability of the whole place and enjoyed talking to other guests to hear what they had done and were planning to do.

Wendi & Dave are so generous. I can't believe how many extras are offered and they think nothing of sharing some good wine/beer on top!

I hope we will be back in a few years and will definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missie_tinkerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Wendie and Dave are the best, they were made for this type of business. They anticipate your needs and have it all done. They were magnificant, the food was superb and the If every B&B were like this, all of the hotels would be out of business. We have stayed in B&B.s all over the country and this was the best. Don't hesitate to book a stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4realtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
2.1 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
606 reviews
20.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £144 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honu Kai B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise with Aloha and Concierge Class Service ... Beyond Compare! Honu Kai, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate, offers a serene, Zen like feel amidst an old growth garden environment ... so relax, rejuvenate your senses and feel at one with nature — whether it’s lounging on the expansive lanai deck, listening to the water flowing into the koi pond, enjoying the garden jacuzzi under the Kona stars, or letting the occasional rain falling on the roof lull you to sleep. Honu Kai is extremely conscious of our environment and is 100% solar powered. We have been recognized as a Platinum Level Green Leader by TripAdvisor, their highest level of recognition. We use biodegradable toiletries, water efficient fixtures, Energy Star appliances, recycle waste, encourage towel and linen reuse, and serve locally sourced or on-site grown organic produce. Concierge services and trip planning by hosts with many years of experience in executive hospitality and travel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing