We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a reason they were voted #1B&B of all the islands”
Review of Honu Kai B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honu Kai B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edison, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“There is a reason they were voted #1B&B of all the islands”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I recently returned from spending four nights here. Everything you have read in all the other reviews is true. Besides the beautiful setting, accomodations, and classy elegant breakfasts, you have Wendi and Dave. They are the reason for these amazing reviews. They go out of their way to make each and every guest feel special. On our first morning, we left at 5:30 to go fishing. We told them we would not be around for breakfast, which is served between 7:30-9:00 each morning. Imagine our shock, when both of them were waiting for us at 5:30 and had cooked us a hot breakfast to go. That night Dave cleaned a fish for me so we could grill it! The same thing happened when we had to leave early for the airport, another hot breakfast to go. We were in Hawaii for two weeks and stayed at 2 other B&B's.They were very nice, no complaints, but Honu Kai is a few steps above all the others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Mahalo Nancy for the compliments and your glowing review of our Honu Kai B&B.
All of our guest are special, but anyone willing to get up so early in the morning to try and catch a fish, deserves the extra effort of a hot breakfast to go. We would like to think that it was actually our breakfast which attracted the fish you caught. Personally, my idea of a sure catch is found at the seafood department of our local Safeway.
We're glad you had a great time and hope you and the fish you took back to New Jersey with you had a safe trip home. Above all, Mahalo for traveling such a great distance and choosing Honu Kai to be your home base, which gave us the opportunity to share this magical island with you. We hope our warm tropical trade winds blow you back in our direction next time the East Coast goes cold on you.
A Big Island Aloha from your island friends, Wendi and Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
464
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at Honu Kai ---our first trip to the Big Island and our first stay with Wendi and Dave.....we haven't even recovered from our jet lag yet but had to write this review ASAP and express our appreciation for the amazing job these very gracious innkeepers do----hospitality is certainly their specialty---we don't think anyone does it better! We second the many fine reviews listed below----there is no exaggeration in any of them! This B&B is truly incredible in every way!! They will not leave a detail overlooked or undone.....such a wealth of invaluable information, supplies, equipment.....gourmet breakfasts!...peaceful surroundings....cozy lodging (we stayed in the bungalow)......we especially enjoyed using their beach club at Mauna Lani......thank you for taking the guess work out of everything we did! Would stay with you all again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmittl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Mahalo for your great review and for sharing with the traveling world your stay at Honu Kai. We're happy you took advantage of our experience and knowledge of the island and hope others will allow us to do the same for them. We like to think of ourselves as your own personal concierge service who are here for you even while you're still at home in the planning stages of your Hawaii vacation. I think this is what helps sets us apart from the others. Our love of the island, the appreciation of our guests who travel great distances to be here, and the honor and responsibility to share it with others.
We're happy you used and enjoyed our Mauna Lani Homeowner's Beach Club associated with our condo rental at the resort. We are proud to be the only B&B to be able to share such a great benefit with guests as to experience one of the most unique and beautiful little beaches on the island.
It was great sharing the island with the two of you and we're looking forward to your safe return. As for recovering from jet lag, I can share with you a old Hawaiian secret remedy.
Don't leave!
A Big Island Aloha from your new island friends,
Wendi and Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

From our warm welcome to the sad goodbye, our stay at Honu Kai B&B could not have been better! Wendi and Dave are fantastic hosts with a wealth of information to share, with generosity of themselves and their facilities, and with delightful senses of fun and humor. Our upstairs room was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. The breakfasts were beyond beautiful and delicious -- we were there on Valentines day and pink champagne was added to the breakfast menu -- a delightful touch. We were supposed to go on a tour of Mauna Kea that evening, but unfortunately that was cancelled because of weather.... try getting a last minute restaurant reservation on Valentines day! Well, Wendi did just that -- she spent ages on the phone, not giving up until until she finally got something good for us.... but that is just Wendi. And then I left my toiletries bag behind in the bathroom when we left -- she packaged that up and mailed it to me immediately -- and included some Hawaiian candy... the Wendi touch again. We'll be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickering6371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Mahalo Team Australia for your fabulous review of our Honu Kai B&B. There isn't much we wouldn't do to show our appreciation for guests who travel near or far to stay with us and to experience this magical island. We like to think of ourselves as your own personal concierge service. Guests who take advantage of what we have to offer, always end up having a better vacation on our island.
We're happy you enjoyed the breakfasts we served you but wished you could have stayed longer to sample all 14 of them. We try to provide our guests with more than just a hot breakfast. We like to think we are providing them with an early morning dinning experience, which would include your Pink Champagne on ice for Valentines Day. If anyone has a special occasion that we know about while they're staying with us, we'll make it better.
We are looking forward to your next visit to our island home.
Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My hubby and I came here to stay for 2 nights right after the wedding. Wendy and Dave are excellent hosts. We can tell they are pros at hospitality. They had coolers and maps and extra cups/cutlery/plates all ready in ziploc bags for us to take with us on our island tours. They had extras of everything for guests to use. We only had the opportunity for 1 sit down breakfast with them and wow was it ever good. We had yogurt with granola and a southern style quiche/bake that was delicious! The next morning we had an excursion so we had to leave before 7:30am (they start serving breakfast at 7:30am) but Dave prepared us a hot breakfast sandwich, yogurt, juice, danish and coffee on the go for us. They kindly stored out luggage for us for the day and we came back to pick it up before we headed to the airport. I wish we had the opportunity to stay longer and relax on their patio, use the hot tub, etc. Their home really makes you feel like you're in the middle of the tropics. They did a fantastic job designing their home and landscape. Just be aware that there are mosquitos, especially in the parking area because of all the trees so spray yourself down if you're really allergic like I am. All in all, it was a pleasure staying and meeting Wendy & Dave!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We just finished our second visit to Honu Kai and it was just as good at the first. Wendi and Dave are wonderful hosts, their house is magnificent and the breakfasts are never, ever to be missed. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and immaculate, the setting is lush and beautiful, and the hospitality is first-rate. We really enjoyed the colorful birds, geckos, and friendly housecats lounging on the lanai. (People with allergies - don't worry, the cats stay outside!)

I've been to Kona many times and now that I've discovered Honu Kai I don't want to stay anywhere else. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely; the upstairs rooms have slightly better ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Mahalo Bjorn and Alyson for your review and it was great to have the two of you back to Honu Kai again. We're hoping next time you guys can stay longer and try some of our new Breakfast dishes we've added to our growing list of entrees. Everybody gets fed well here at Honu Kai, including our outdoor cat, the geckos, birds, Koi and especially our great guests.
We're very excited that you are already talking about returning to the island again. Remember to book through our secure website reservations page to get your discount. We can't give any applicable discounts if you book through other reservation sites such as booking.com.
We're looking forward to our warm tropical trade winds blowing you back to Hawaii.
Aloha Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Kailua was the last stop on our tour of the Hawaiian islands, and we choose Honu Kai based on the great reviews here, and we weren't disappointment

From the fantastic welcome to the sad departure, Wendi and Dave did everything they could to make our stay memorable ( shame you couldn't fix the rain )

Honu Kai is in the cooler hills above Kailua, about 10 minutes from town and the airport, situated in beautiful tropical gardens with small Asian touches doted throughout, and beautifully lit up at night.

There is a fantastic outside communal space, with everything you could want including an outdoor kitchen with BBQ for guests to use ( what we wouldn't give for one of these in the UK, or the weather to make it worthwhile ) , a lounging area where you can watch the 100's of tropical birds visit the bird feeders, and a large table where we eat breakfast.

The room we had was small, but nicely decorated, with everything we could want, the upstairs room we had access to a shared lanai for our use.

The breakfasts are relaxed, with great tasting dishes , beautifully designed on the plate, it's almost a shame to eat them

Wendi and Dave did everything they could to make our stay memorable, happy to give us a range of recommendations on where to go, and where to eat.

They also have a wide range of beach equipment which you can borrow, and they were always happy to help us fill a cooler.

Hono Kai joins a very short list of the best B & B's we've ever stayed at from around the world, I hope we'll visit again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I visited Kona for the first time at the tail end of our Hawaiian island-hop adventure. Our stay with Wendi & Dave and Honu Kai was the highlight of our trip and left us with wonderful memories of Kona. Not only is their home immaculate and serene, the gardens pristine, and breakfasts beyond gourmet, their level of service and friendship will never be forgotten. My husband, Joe and I have every intention of coming back to visit Kona, Honu Kai, and especially Wendi & Dave, and their fabulous staff including Soni.

We stayed in the Nigori room, although all rooms in the home are spectacular. We enjoyed privacy, lovely music in the air, wine by the fireplace and "real Kona Coffee" fireside on the patio at night, and lounged in the hot tub as well.

Wendi and Dave offered us wonderful recommendations for restaurants in the area and adventures in culture and outdoor activities. We spent Valentine's Day in Kona and had a lovely supper up in the mountains at a cafe they recommended and were amazed by the quality and atmosphere. We also off-roaded with our Jeep (RENT A JEEP) down at the Green sand beach at the southernmost tip of the island - there are only 3 of these beaches in the world and this is in the middle of a volcanic cone where we were able to swim and boogie-board. Dave and Wendi gave us information when requested, had reading materials readily available and maps to ensure we knew where we were going and what not to miss along the way.

Joe and I are both divers and we also enjoyed a spectaular day of diving - we have gone diving all over the world, cold-water/warm-water, wreck and reef - and this was one of the best sites we have ever dove. And the night MANTA DIVE is a DO NOT MISS! You can do this snorkeling as well. Look into it :) Ask Wendi and Dave!

Dave/Wendi, we miss you both, and cannot wait to return and will also send our friends and family your way. You are two very special people and your home is truly a home away from home as others have said. Thank you for your every kindness and we look forward to keeping in touch! See you sooner than later we hope.

Stephanie & Joe

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, but we stayed in the Nigori suite and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephJoeDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
24.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
20.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.3 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Property: Honu Kai B&B
Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honu Kai B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise with Aloha and Concierge Class Service ... Beyond Compare! Honu Kai, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate, offers a serene, Zen like feel amidst an old growth garden environment ... so relax, rejuvenate your senses and feel at one with nature — whether it’s lounging on the expansive lanai deck, listening to the water flowing into the koi pond, enjoying the garden jacuzzi under the Kona stars, or letting the occasional rain falling on the roof lull you to sleep. Honu Kai is extremely conscious of our environment and is 100% solar powered. We have been recognized as a Platinum Level Green Leader by TripAdvisor, their highest level of recognition. We use biodegradable toiletries, water efficient fixtures, Energy Star appliances, recycle waste, encourage towel and linen reuse, and serve locally sourced or on-site grown organic produce. Concierge services and trip planning by hosts with many years of experience in executive hospitality and travel services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing