We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, caring B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, caring B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Service was over the top wonderful -- not only were we able to leave our suitcases for hours after we had checked out, but we were also invited to take a shower after we returned from snorkeling. Breakfast was varied and I appreciated that I could make my own omelet, with their farm fresh eggs, no less. Also some live piano music during breakfast. The lanai where we ate looked on to a bird feeder with many colorful local birds, and I thought the turkeys and hens wandering about were fun. The space in our room was far more than the two of us needed, and included a little kitchenette and a hot tub and a private lanai. We loved the music of the coqui frogs to fall asleep by.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    67
    32
    20
    14
See reviews for
46
185
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naha, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Already you are ahead by taking the time to read the reviews of Hale Maluhia. I confess I did not do this nor did I read the fine print. After staying there I would like to second the Inn Keeper’s plea that people read what they are getting…

1. The Cancellation Policy. Its rather draconian, if its less than 30 days kiss the money good bye. If its more than 30 days you must write a letter and it must be approved by the management. So basically once you hand over your credit card he has you.
2. No refund for noise. Basically there is no refund for anything. That being said I found the noises of the jungle enchanting (but they are loud) and the rooster at 4am would have been fine if breakfast were earlier (see below) but the traffic road noise at all hours of the night was truly above and beyond. The property is situated at the apex of a 10mph turn on a steep incline. This means that drivers are slowing down, to include the heavy trucks that happen to be using the road in the middle of the night. Our situation was made worse by the fact that we stayed in a room with a lovely view of the road at ground level, the sound traveled right in…
3. Cleanliness or lack thereof. Basic cleanliness of a lodging establishment should be a given and should not requires guests to complain. This is a problem that we experienced first hand as well as noted from other reviewers. Simply put the Jasmine room was dirty and moldy. The carpet (which hold molds and allergens) just compounded the situation. When looking at positive reviews the Japanese tea room is frequently mentioned, this may be different so pay attention to the room you book. On the day we were gone when the ‘cleaners’ came by the room it was not made up. When we arrived there were spider webs and filth in the bathroom and dead bugs in the shower. I have traveled throughout Europe, African and the Americas/ far East and stayed at less expensive and FAR cleaner places. The owner will reply to this as he has done to other negative reviews that he has fired the cleaner responsible or say they have staffing problems. This constant excuse begs the question why do they have such high turn over? Poor supervision, pay or working conditions?
4. Breakfast. It starts around 8am and if you are early risers as we are this really puts a dent in your morning activities. If you want eggs or waffles you will be doing the cooking as well as the additional prep working of chopping up veggies, etc. It does say self-service omelet bar and they really mean it. Also the breakfast is the same everyday. When I complained they did supply some fresh spinach but neglected the olive oil.
5. The food handling also leads much to be desired. I saw the cottage cheese stored without a cover in the fridge and the same dish appeared to be set out on multiple days. This means it sits out for an hour plus unrefrigerated and this is repeated several times. It is a great environment to grow bacteria and make people sick.

Bottom line… we left early, lost our money and stayed elsewhere and we won’t be back! The ‘good deal’ that the owner touts was far overshadowed by the hassle and the points above.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Jasmine room and think twice before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
“Inns Be Ware,“ Next morning these guests told me that they had decided that they would like to check out as they would like to visit other areas around the Big Island. I reminded them that to cancel their reservations meant that I would need to wait on giving them a refund as to see whether I could re-book their nights for them. They then became very upset that I would not alter the Inn Policy to which they said that they had agreed to. (These guests said that they read our cancellation policy prior to reserving 5 nights but obviously had not.) Our policy is typical of most small B&B Inn without walk-in traffic. They were also shown the Jasmine Room for inspection prior to checking in and found it acceptable. (There is no payment of any kind until a guest has reviewed a room or cottage with us and accepted it.) They then asked for spinach and decaffeinated coffee but not mention olive oil and these were made available to them the very next morning. 95%+ of our guests love our Breakfast Lovers Buffet and find our Omelet bar an exciting way to meet new friends. The Omelet condiments are carefully fresh prepared at 7 AM each morning. As our staff also eats breakfast in the mornings, after our guests, our breakfast food is not stored until the staff is finished eating. Actually the store tub of cottage cheese lasts about one day but we wash and use the same serving container each day. We have no roosters at our Country Inn, but we are in the country and the neighbors have one or two. If they do get onto Inn property, they are relocated. This is all covered in our Inn “Information” file. The road to our property is basically a go to work and go home typical country road. As to others using the Jasmine Room, please check our other reviews, they loved it. We did find a small spider web or two under the bed and took care of it. Had these guests mentioned it we would have been happy to have resolve any "clean" issues sooner. They did decline a free upgrade to a more expensive room. Perhaps these folks would have been happier at the “Four Seasons?” But perhaps not....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honokaa, Hawaii, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Friendly and wonderful hosts, a gorgeous setting in the hills above Kona town, and beautifully maintained landscaping all make Hale Maluhia a delightful retreat. We loved our first night in the Banyan Treehouse Cottage, which has an amazing view from both bed and balcony. Our second night in the Japanese Tea house was even better and we are already planning a return trip with the entire family!

Room Tip: Loved the Japanese Tea House!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Old banyans flanking the path and driveway give a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed three nights in Hale Maluhia Country in. And we wish we could stay longer. It is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, nice and autentic home for a few days.
Breakfast with the home made bread and cake was wonderful and everything is made fresh. The garden is lovely and you think you are somewhere far away in a secret place but still in town within 5 minutes by car.
We travelled for 6 months around the world and stayed in plenty of guest houses. But we will Keep the Hale Maluhia in Special mind, it was one of the nicest places we have been so far.
Thank you very much for this lovely stay. We hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundtheworld20013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My two children (8 & 10) and I stayed in the the Tea House Suite. It is a Japanese style octagon shaped suite with shoji sliding doors and windows on the top of the property. It is nestled under a huge banyan tree and you can look out over the lower areas of the B&B, including the library, kitchen and breakfast area. For us this was a magical place and great for the kids to explore the chickens, rabbits, and all the little steps and levels of the garden. The suite had a queen size bed and a futon could be added on the floor. It was spacious and airy. We opened all the shoji sliding windows and air was flowing through the screened windows. The bathroom was wonderful with a great tub and also spacious.

The library had a large selection of movies for children and families and we watched "Night at the Museum" at the end of our day.

Breakfast in the morning was served on a lovely lanai looking out into part of the garden where we were able to watch the birds, turkeys and chickens coming for their morning feeding. There were little water fountains in the garden and it was very beautiful. The buffet had a great selection of fruit, pastries, homemade bread, jams and cereals. There was a do-it-yourself station for waffles and omelets. The eggs and all the fruits were fresh from the B&B's own chickens and gardens.

The B&B is close to Kona town and it is only minutes to drive to Ali'i Drive, the main road with all the restaurants and shops in Kona. Also the Kona Beaches on Ali'i Drive are just as close.

The staff was super friendly and caring. All of them engaged also with the children and we all had a great time. Ken & Sue, the owners, were wonderful and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaleMoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

First and Foremost. Be careful when trying to locate this establishment if it will be your first time there. Watch the right side mail box numbers carefully as you proceed up Hualalai Rd. and definitely slow down to a crawl, even if people are following you, when you see the 10 MPH sign about 1.5 miles up the windy road because the driveway entrance is on your right just as you get to the middle of that sharp horse-shoe curve.

Second, a few facts. The Inn is on the older side. You can unload your car at the top of the driveway but must park your car at the bottom of the inclined driveway and walk back up to your room. Many birds, chickens and even a few turkeys will grace your presence and provide entertainment while you watch them and enjoy the breakfast seating area. The Inn is very convenient to stay at after landing at the airport or before flying out another day. Breakfast was ready at 8:00 a.m. and there was a large variety of foods that allowed us to serve ourselves and eat at our leisure.

Third, my opinions. The owner, Ken, is a very nice friendly gracious gentleman who wants to make your stay there as enjoyable as possible. Mat and his wife, staff, were eager, friendly and very helpful. The Inn is really quite interesting. I believe we got good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel_Valley_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at Hale Maluhia Country Inn right before Easter 2013. I had booked without reading reviews- then read some negative reviews, but we chanced it and went anyway. I couldn't have been more happily surprised. Every day I would get up early to have real Kona coffee in the garden and watch the birds. The breakfast was great- get their bread recipe! Make your own omlettes with all the possible ingredients at your fingertips. There had been some recent renovations, and everything was in tip-top shape. Talk about a chocolate on your pillow- there was a whole box on our pillow! It was peaceful and mellow- cooler due to a slight elevation- and quieter because it was not right in downtown Kona. We loved it. Thanks to Jason and the others- Carol L.

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs corner room- not in the main house. It had been recently renovated and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandHoppers1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.9 mi away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
14.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Property: Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Address: 76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Virtual Kona Coffee Plantation of five rooms and two cottages in country comfort. Exceptional Breakfast Lovers Buffet and DIY omelet bar, fresh fruit, fresh bread baked daily, pure Kona coffee and bird watching. Relax to sage advice, friendly prices, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled. Just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing