We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic country inn experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic country inn experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

For the price, this is an unbeatable Hawaii country bed and breakfast experience. It is located on a beautiful, winding mountain road only a 10 minute drive from the beach and downtown Kona and a 20 minute drive from the airport. The quality of the rooms was reflective of the very affordable budget (less than excellent shower, loud ceiling fan, no travel toiletries, worn down carpet, etc.), but the room was very clean and neat. The atmosphere was incredible and the overall stay was very satisfactory. Chickens and turkeys roam the property and you are lulled to sleep by the gentle sound of mountain wind and Hawaiian wildlife. The do-it-yourself breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly/accommodating. Definitely recommended to travelers working on a budget and seeking a rustic, beautiful, serene Hawaiian experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    67
    32
    20
    14
See reviews for
46
185
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was a lone traveler and it was my first time in Hawaii. Sarah at the House of Peace kindly picked me up from the airport and made me feel like I was being met by a good friend. The guys were great and really welcoming too. They even allowed me to join in with their morning get together where we had a bible reading and sharing, and I was given a lovely gift. The surrounds are so natural and plants and trees are everywhere. It's a really healing environment. Sarah and Rachel took me to the beach which was above an beyond anything they needed to do, and Sarah dropped me off at my next destination after two nights. I felt I was with real friends that I'd known for ages, the place really is aptly named as the house of peace, the nature and wildlife are free range around the place and watching the birds on the feeder was special. Breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh produce, fruit and other choices. The tables were laid with flowers. Coming from a long journey from the UK and still stressed with work, the House of Peace was an amazingly healing experience. Love and nature infuse the place - I can't recommend my stay more highly, thank you - and I'll hopefully return in Feb15! Veronica

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms as i booked late and the first room I was in was booked out. I found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokolosh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for about a week in the Tea House. It's close enough to town to be convenient but far enough away that you really get to enjoy the tranquil island nights. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The Tea House has a private bath with a rainfall type shower and separate tub. It was all marble and just beautiful. If you're looking for accommodations that feel more authentic to island life, this is it. That being said, if you're the type to get freaked out by a stray gecko on your wall then you might want to look into those sterile, boring, over priced hotels nearer to the dock. Great experience. We absolutely plan to stay here on our next trip to the Big Island!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the privacy of the Tea House. It has it's own bathroom and parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeRams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hale Maluhia is an eclectic group of Japanese style buildings interspersed with extensive lightly-shaded rock constructions and small pools, most of which filled with water hyacinth, and waterfalls, plus numerous pieces of cast-iron garden furniture and oriental knick-knacks. The entire area had a light dusting of delightful, small, dry, golden leaves creating an almost ethereal presence, fitting the name House of Peace. The location, way up a hill on the mountain side of the highway, was excellent for the airport and Kailua. Some previous TripAdvisor comments complained about the surrounding small road, but we found it no problem; the establishment was very quiet and peaceful (despite a couple of arguing dogs in the distance at night). Our room, the Jasmine room, was in the roof of one of the buildings, with a slanting roof and dormer arrangement, but it was sufficiently tall for us even though we are over 6 feet in height. We chose this room because the two queen beds enabled to my wife and I to stay with our adult daughter who was traveling with us. The self-service breakfast was excellent with fruit, breads, pastries, and make-yourself waffles and omelets with lots of fresh ingredients such as red peppers mushrooms, garlic, tomatoes, ham and cheese. The breakfast was eaten at communal tables on a very pleasant, airy lanai overlooking a small lawn with numerous birds, chickens and a turkey at a feeder on the other side. Following breakfast on the one day Jason (the manager) gave a delightful piano recital in the living room backing up the lanai. So why have I given this only four and not five stars even though we enjoyed our stay? The reasons 1) We found that the lights did not come on immediately when we returned after dark, resulting in our stumbling on the steps and surrounding edges before the lights were triggered by the motion detection system. 2) There was a gap between the shower and vanity in our bathroom that had accumulated quite a lot of dirt and had not been cleaned for a long time; while it was too narrow for a vacuum hose, this could have easily been done by a cloth on a broomstick. 3) My daughter had to depart at 7am and Jason had said that he would put out some fruit for her, but no fruit was available when she left. So overall an interesting and pleasant place to stay, but I hope that the management can pay attention to these little failings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibberellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Aloha Gibberellin,
We want to thank you for your really great support for our Inn. As to your constructive comments 1) As per your suggestion we have purchased a new sensor light that will be more immediate. 2.) The small gap between the shower and cabinet has been thoroughly cleaned. 3.) Now 3 is the difficult one as my manager is getting married in June and stuff does seem to fall between the cracks like the special 7 am early breakfast. But he will be bringing his bride home in June and I expect that things like this will no longer be an issue. Next time you are here please get a hold of me if there are any issues and we will address them very quickly. We do so want all of our guests to feel very comfortable and at home in our lovely Inn. Again, thank you for helping us keep our Inn snubbed up to a professional quality. Aloha and Mahalo, Ken<><, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olean, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We would highly recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone who wants a very restful and peaceful time. The atmosphere was very tranquil and relaxing. The staff was very helpful and super. The morning Bible Studies that were offered to the staff and for those who wanted to attend were uplifting to the soul. If you are looking for something for body and soul make your way to this secluded spot in Paradise! Ron & Diane

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed only one night, but this was a very nice night. We booked the Banyan Cottage for 5 adults and a baby, but were 6 adults and one baby in the end, because one flight got rescheduled. It was no problem to bring an additional person, and we were welcommed very nicely. Although the cottage was quite tight for so many persons (this was suggested to us beforehand, so we were prepared), it was totally fine for this one night. Four persons would fit very nicely into this room. They brought us also an extra bed and blankets for the baby which was very nice. The breakfast is also very nice with a very pretty outside seating area. Would totally stay at this place for a longer time. The location is okay (nice view). Not very central, but no problem with a car.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We actually stayed in April 2012 for a wedding but TripAdvisor won't let me review that far back so I've put April 2013!

Anyhow, we had the Japanese style hut which was breathtaking. We had a lovely bathroom ensuite with a bath, and the walls and doors were stunning.

By far the most amazing part of this place is the breakfast. You just help yourself to the piles of ingredients for omlette and make it yourself, or use the Belgian waffle maker. There's also loads of exotic fruits, cheeses, meats and so on.

The fresh Kona coffee is fantastic and eating and drinking on the terrace surrounded by chickens, turkeys, geckos, birds and more is a brilliant experience!

We were made very welcome and the owner Ken even gave us a couple of lifts down into town and showed us around on our first day.

Sorry it's taken so long to review - we'd love to go back - shame it's so far from the UK!

Room Tip: The Japanese cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EX_Galensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.9 mi away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
14.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Property: Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Address: 76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Virtual Kona Coffee Plantation of five rooms and two cottages in country comfort. Exceptional Breakfast Lovers Buffet and DIY omelet bar, fresh fruit, fresh bread baked daily, pure Kona coffee and bird watching. Relax to sage advice, friendly prices, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled. Just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing