We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2007

My son and I were very excited about the description of Hale Maluhia. It sounded like there were expandsive, private grounds and rustic cottages under the trees. Clever picture taking can make one believe anything! While this inn was not awful by any means, it was a disappointment. First it was not very private. The grounds were actually quite small, tucked in a bend in the road and we heard traffic noise as cars manuvered the steep turns. We stayed in the Banyan Cottage, the largest of the offerings. It had a nice "big room" floor plan that felt a bit like a nice, rustic cabin with eclectic furnishings. However the bed was very, very hard and uncomfortable. We had no hot water the first night, and barely an apology for that lack. "The wind blew it out." The owner did tell us how to relight the water heater if it went out again! When we took showers the smell of the gas from the water heater came in the bathroom window and was really unplesant...probably unhealthy too. There was no hot plate or way to cook, except an electric skillet and a rice cooker. So meal preparation was difficult except for sandwiches or something very simple. The toilet was very old, very green and very uncomfortable. Yes, I know, that sounds weird but these things can make a difference.
Then there was the noise of a very loud belt sander coming in our window at about 7 am. Later when I tried to nicely ask what that was all about, since it was supposed to be quiet, I again didn't receive any apology but a comment that they were doing some construction. At 7am in a B & B? I don't think so. They also keep chickens and the roosters also greeted the dawn with enthusiasm.
I had been really looking forward to this place but was instead glad to leave. It's too bad, since it has some charm, but at these prices I wouldn't recommend Hale Maluhia.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank waterratMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonaPilgrim, Ken Smith, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2008

Hale Maluhia Country Inn is located on nearly one acre in the Kona Coffee Country and that is in all of our publicity. There has never been any intent to deceive anyone concerning this fact. The pictures submitted on our web site are untouched. As to the water heater, it has been replaced. The new one does not have a pilot light to blow out. We feel bad that the guest did not let us know sooner that the pilot light had blown out. By the way, the picture submitted by this guest was not taken from our Cottage but from our driveway next to the road nearly 200 feet from our Banyan Cottage, where they stayed. But this is old history, nearly a year old, We are learning, growing and doing much better now in making Hale Maluhia Country Inn a great place to stay in Kona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2006

Wow what a place! We only were staying over on the big island for a little while while before we went to Oahu. the hosts were so nice, and the property was really really cool! The owners gave us a tour of the whole property, and were really nice to us.
The rooms were cozy, kind of a "swiss family robinson" kind of thing with all the hardwood floors and the big solid wood doors. Everything was nice and clean, although it was kind of "rainy" outside, which I guess is odd for that side of the Island. I really liked the one that had the little shower and seperate hot tub style bathtub.
I liked the little bridge ovber the stream and the hot tub was realllyyyyyyyy cool. Ken told us how he planted almost every single tree on the place, some of those trees had to be over 100 ft high!
It was only like a few minutes drive to Kailua Kona town, where we ate at a greek place that could make better gyros. And also was like a mile from a coffee plantation!

The next time my girl and I travel to Kona, we'll DEFINATELY stay here. For the price of the rooms, and what you get when you stay there, you can't go wrong. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TinChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

I HAD to write this review after seeing the review below! I was just recently at the Hale Maluhia, and I found it unique and charming, not to mention terrifically economical!

We stayed in the highest (elevation) room on the property, the one overlooking the ocean with the marble jacuzzi tub. The temperature was great, the grounds were amazing for those who love horticulture, local fruits, and koi ponds. We did not eat breakfast so I cannot add my thoughts there, but I did have some sort of homemade raisin tart pastries after breakfast and they were good.

We didn't find the place dirty or depressing at all, and our room was spacious ( my suspicion is that the last traveler stayed in the cheapest "budget room", but she did not specify).

The owner was happy to give us a tour around the place, showing us various flora and fauna and even a few of the unoccupied rooms. The house is hand built by the owners incorporating many local exotic hardwoods, and they raise their own koi and even a few chickens for fresh eggs!! ( no roosters, LOL).

If you are spending a few days on the big island and you like to stay on the "kona" or dry side, and you prefer a cooler jungle setting to a beach setting, this place is very affordable. It is NOT the Taj Mahal, but it is a beautiful authentic local setting at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hopelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
117
Reviewed 5 May 2003

I have no idea why there are so many favorable reviews of Hale Maluhia "Country Inn." My husband and I were so disappointed in the shabbiness of this place that it almost ruined our visit to the Big Island. I feel it is important for me to write this review because I chose Hale Maluhia based upon reviews like the others that appear here and I want to be able to warn readers so that they don't make the same mistake that we did. I don't know where others stayed, but we felt like we were staying in the room of some teenager who was off to college. We felt like we were staying at someone's house, but not in the quaint "bed and breakfast" kind of way. It had a rather creepy feeling to us rather than warm and inviting. It was particularly hard for us to come from wonderful lodging at Hale Ohia in Volcano to this lodging. (We highly recommend Hale Ohia!)Don't choose Hale Maluhia expecting to find something charming - or even very clean for that matter.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilgrim7, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2007

Our apologies to this guest. My wife and I took a much needed vacation at that time and let some close friends cover for us. It was a big mistake and we are willing to comp this guest with a free 3 day stay at Hale Maluhia Country Inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2003

The Hale Maluhia is a great B&B just up the hill from downtown Kona. It's cooler, greener, and quieter than the village, but just a few minutes away, up in Kona coffee country.There is a great all-you-can-eat make your own omelette breakfast, plus lots of fresh tropical fruit.Pleasant lanai to eat breakfast on while watching birds at the feeder.

5  Thank solarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank atsushio926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lene Fogel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
176 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
180 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Address: 76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £58 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hale Maluhia Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Virtual Kona Coffee Plantation of five rooms and two cottages in country comfort. Exceptional Breakfast Lovers Buffet and DIY omelet bar, fresh fruit, fresh bread baked daily, pure Kona coffee and bird watching. Relax to sage advice, friendly prices, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled. Just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hale Maluhia Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing