We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC”
Review of Silver Oaks Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Oaks Ranch
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Our family of 5 stayed for 5 nights at the amazing Silver Oaks Ranch in April 2012. We had 2
lovely cottages - the Garden View and the Resort View. We absolutely loved our time here. Our fabulous hosts the Deckers have thought of everything. The fridge was stocked with orange juice , milk and fresh eggs. There was also cereal, bread, jam and coffee. The free wi-fi was an added bonus particularly with 2 teenage boys! Beach gear was all provided including snorkels, flippers, and chairs.We all fell in love with the animals especially the gorgeous goats (and my daughter even got to name a baby goat!) Amy was lovely with our children involving them in the morning and afternoon feeding. We loved everything about Silver Oaks and would highly recommend it to anyone. The only problem was that we weren't able to bring any of the goats back to Australia. Our 9 year old daughter did not want to leave, there were a lot of tears on the last morning. Thank you Amy, Rick and Jennifer for the being such wonderful hosts and for making our stay in Kona such a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGray5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

As of my writing this review, there are 99% 5 star ratings and one 4 star rating on Silver Oaks Ranch. I am adding another 5 star to the reviews. The basics are all great, but what really put the ranch over the top were the hosts. Rick and Amy made us feel like family. They went above and beyond to help us (we had some travel problems) and make sure we had everything we needed. They also gave us the kind of local knowledge that made us feel confident in that we saw all we could with the time we had. And by chance we had the added luck to be able to spend an afternoon photographing some local sights with Rick. Simply great!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulCasadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The property is located above Kona, basically it is far enough away to be quite and relaxing but still close enough to conveniently get to the airport or to Kona (maybe a 10 min. drive). View from the property towards Kona and the ocean is just perfect, especially at sunset.

The apartment we stayed in was very spacious had a nice full kitchen, computer / wifi, and hot tub outside. Really all one could ask for. Rick and Amy are wonderful hosts and always had great advice for us on anything on the islands, which restaurants to go to, what to see, etc. There is a fridge stocked with water, sodas and so on between the two unites in the guest house. Also there are boogie boards, snorkel gear and other beach stuff you can use. So if you are looking for a nice and quite place with lots of space/privacy and perfect hosts this is definitly the place to go. We would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captain_0veur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The owners of this ranch are so welcoming and knowledgable. They are willing to give you advice on anything about the island or your vacation. They truly make the ranch great!

The property is up the mountain from downtown Kailua Kona and it only takes about 10 minutes to be right in the middle of Alli drive. But it is that separation from downtown that makes the ranch quiet and peaceful. The guest house had a lot of space and a full kitchen and hot tub and even a full washer and dryer.

I would definitely stay here again. The Deckers are great hosts and the animals on the ranch are friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bmarsh0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

To live in one of the very nice houses of the “silver oaks ranch” was a real privilege.
Anything you could imagine for your holidays was there: Nice gardens and large property, large terrace, sea view, whirlpool, perfect TV screen, DVD, comfortable bed, various machine, cats, goats, horse and donkeys, birds and flowers. The hospitality of Amy and Rick was great: fruit and bread have been prepared, the fridge was full of fruit juice, eggs, milk and whatever you need.
We had there 5 wonderful peaceful days. A pity: we had to leave.
Monique and Luc from Belgium

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jucdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Silver Oaks for 10 nights in January. This place has everything you could ask for, and Amy&Rick are fine hosts. The location is great, 1500 ft above the seashore with a view of the ocean by day and Kona lights by night. It is a quick 10-15 min drive down to Kona. Access towards Kohala is also convenient. We stayed at the Ranch View cottage. The suite is new with a deck out front and twin bed loft upstairs. The kitchen is fully equipped, the main bedroom has a king bed, and there is a washer/dryer in the car port. Among the additional touches we were treated with: a laptop computer with free internet access, a cell phone for free local calls, a complete range of snorkel gear, boogie boards and a fridge stocked with water, juices and sodas. Their are a lot of animals on the property. You can feed the goats, and a very friendly cat named Gigi makes the morning rounds. This was our 1st visit to the Big Island, and it surpassed our expectations. There are a lot of beaches up-and-down the coast to go exploring for. The boogie boarding at Hapuna was a hoot. It has a novice break closer to shore and higher surf farther out, so suitable for everyone, The snorkeling at nearby Kahalu'u was fantastic: a continuous variety of fish in a large shallow water bay all protected by a reef except in the highest surf. Great for novices. Two Steps was also wonderful, clear water with schools of fish to find, except a little trickier getting in, and in deeper water. We had a great hike in volcanoes national park on the Kilauea Iki Trail, about a 2 hr loop, through both the lush forest along the ridge and then descending down along the crater floor. Miscellaneous notes: Kona has a large free aquatic pool facility with many lanes for swimming, and the 'Club In Kona' has an extensive fitness centre/weight room. Only one slight negative - you do get a little road noise at night from the highway above, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. All in all, the 10 days went very fast, we had a very enjoyable time and we hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I am writing this at the end of our 10 day stay at Silver Oaks, using a computer that our hosts lent us for the duration of our stay (how nice is that!).

It's hard to find something to say that hasn't already been said about staying here. In it's simplest form, everything you read before this review is true. The Ranch is in a wonderful location above Kona, it's quiet and peaceful and the cottages are wonderfully outfitted.

If you choose to BBQ or cook your own meals, everything you need is here. If you choose to eat out, Rick and Amy's guide to local restaurants is spot on. We enjoyed wonderful Japanese and Thai meals based on the recommendations, as well as other local fare.
There is so much to do here so it's nice to have pointers on various activities, locations and shopping.

Take the time to enjoy the farm and it's animal population, the various cats that are resident but non-intrusive, the amazing spectrum of bird life (including some turkeys as well as a chicken who thinks he's a rooster), and the magnificent view. As I write this a cruise ship has pulled into Kona harbor and it adds some scale to the vista.

Your hosts, Rick and Amy, are simply delightful. They have thought through what people on vacation may need and provided many things for their client's use. Full of local knowledge and great advice, it's easy to spend time talking to either or them. Rick is an amazing photographer and many of his works are on display throughout the ranch - take the time to enjoy them.

A tip - each Saturday night that is closest to the full moon, there is what is referred to as a Twilight Concert up coast st the Eva Parker cottage next to the Mauna Lani Resort. We spent a magical evening on the beach watching the sun set, the moon rise, and being entertained by some excellent musicians and an outstanding blues/jazz singer. And - it's free!

If you're looking for a quiet getaway with hosts who are great and the comforts of home are at hand, this is the place for you.

Would we come back? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbbyEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.4 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
492 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Sanctuary
Banyan Tree Sanctuary
#18 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Oaks Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Oaks Ranch

Address: 73-4570 Mamalahoa Hwy, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-8650
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £125 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Oaks Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Oaks Ranch is a 10-acre gated estate only 5 miles from the town of Kailua-Kona. We offer private, large cottages with all the conveniences of home. Spectacular 40 mile coastline views surround the property. Staff on hand to answer all your travel and tour questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Silver Oaks Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Oaks Ranch Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing