We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Silver Oaks Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Oaks Ranch
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We traveled to the Big Island of Hawaii to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and found the perfect place to stay at the Silver Oaks Ranch. The owners, Rick and Amy, are the nicest people you will ever meet. They are kind and generous folks who treated us just like family while sharing their beautiful property with us. We rented the Ranch Guest House and it was perfect in every way - very clean, spacious, well-equipped, and comfortable. All of the amenities you could wish for were there - snorkeling gear, beach chairs and towels, back packs, reef shoes, coolers, etc. There were some nice extra touches as well, too numerous to mention, except to say that Rick and Amy are very thoughtful hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Silver Oaks Ranch. Most of all, we appreciated it's peaceful and quiet location, just a short drive from Kona. It was a fun and relaxing place and we highly recommend the Silver Oaks Ranch. It is one of the best places we've had the privilege of renting during our many years of vacationing.

Karyn and Jeff (Plymouth, MA)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karyn and Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I'll try to make this short and sweet. Come here if you want to stay at a really nice place with really nice people (and goats). It really is an adorable place with nice views and all the amenities. Someone else said to just bring a toothbrush and cloths; you really can almost do just that. They have snorkeling and boogie boards plus beach towels on top of niceties like shampoo some sunscreen and now some aloe that we left behind.

The owners are super nice. Rick is a photographer and took us on a half day photo adventure to the Waipio Valley which we got to see like very few others. They pointed us to all the right places which turned a good vacation into a great one.

So if you're looking for a great place off the beaten path, stay there.

Room Tip: We like the room with the hot tub but both look nice and there is a garage between the two so it fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank GregRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Frommer’s Hawaii simply said “Book this place” and how true that is.
It is located just off Highway 190, overlooking Kona and the coast, thus providing good views of the coast, and often outstanding sunset views. It is 1500 feet above sea level, so that nights are comfortably cool. And yet it is only a 10-15 minute drive to Ali’I Drive
Our accommodation was excellent – we were in The Ranch House Cottage which had a full kitchen, separate sitting room and bedroom and walk in wardrobe. A daily breakfast is not provided, but there is a welcome basket containing a wide range of foods.
Our cottage had a TV and DVD player, as well as a computer. There are very useful things available such as snorkelling equipment, and beach towels, and cool boxes, and laundry facilities. We were provided with a mobile phone, when it turned out we couldn’t use ours in America
Amy and Rick are very helpful with advice on places to visit. It is very private: you are left to yourselves, but Amy and Rick are readily available if needed.
We have no hesitation in recommending Silver Oaks Ranch. We would definitely stay there again, should we visit Kona in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Air is like whipping cream, birds are singing their paradise songs, the little goats accompany them from time to time, trees and plants dance happily by blooming with this song.Indulging in Silver Oaks Ranch. I saw that pine apples actually grow as bushes not on a palm tree! Our room was clean and cozy. The welcoming basket was full of fruits and there were free drinks/water and eggs-the eggs are so special! I cooked yummy brekfasts every day and there was orange juice, milk and yoghurt+equiped kitchen! Emy and Rick are great hosts who love people, animals and nature. I recommend this place. The Ranch is on the hill and it is cooler than in hot Kona which made us sleep like babies :)

Room Tip: visit Hapuna beach-1 hour away from Ranch-the best beach near Kona, we checked all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dinara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Our family of 5 stayed for 5 nights at the amazing Silver Oaks Ranch in April 2012. We had 2
lovely cottages - the Garden View and the Resort View. We absolutely loved our time here. Our fabulous hosts the Deckers have thought of everything. The fridge was stocked with orange juice , milk and fresh eggs. There was also cereal, bread, jam and coffee. The free wi-fi was an added bonus particularly with 2 teenage boys! Beach gear was all provided including snorkels, flippers, and chairs.We all fell in love with the animals especially the gorgeous goats (and my daughter even got to name a baby goat!) Amy was lovely with our children involving them in the morning and afternoon feeding. We loved everything about Silver Oaks and would highly recommend it to anyone. The only problem was that we weren't able to bring any of the goats back to Australia. Our 9 year old daughter did not want to leave, there were a lot of tears on the last morning. Thank you Amy, Rick and Jennifer for the being such wonderful hosts and for making our stay in Kona such a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGray5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

As of my writing this review, there are 99% 5 star ratings and one 4 star rating on Silver Oaks Ranch. I am adding another 5 star to the reviews. The basics are all great, but what really put the ranch over the top were the hosts. Rick and Amy made us feel like family. They went above and beyond to help us (we had some travel problems) and make sure we had everything we needed. They also gave us the kind of local knowledge that made us feel confident in that we saw all we could with the time we had. And by chance we had the added luck to be able to spend an afternoon photographing some local sights with Rick. Simply great!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulCasadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The property is located above Kona, basically it is far enough away to be quite and relaxing but still close enough to conveniently get to the airport or to Kona (maybe a 10 min. drive). View from the property towards Kona and the ocean is just perfect, especially at sunset.

The apartment we stayed in was very spacious had a nice full kitchen, computer / wifi, and hot tub outside. Really all one could ask for. Rick and Amy are wonderful hosts and always had great advice for us on anything on the islands, which restaurants to go to, what to see, etc. There is a fridge stocked with water, sodas and so on between the two unites in the guest house. Also there are boogie boards, snorkel gear and other beach stuff you can use. So if you are looking for a nice and quite place with lots of space/privacy and perfect hosts this is definitly the place to go. We would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_0veur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
15.3 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Sanctuary
Banyan Tree Sanctuary
#16 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms
0.7 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Oaks Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Oaks Ranch

Property: Silver Oaks Ranch
Address: 73-4570 Mamalahoa Hwy, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-8650
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Oaks Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Oaks Ranch is a 10-acre gated estate only 5 miles from the town of Kailua-Kona. We offer private, large cottages with all the conveniences of home. Spectacular 40 mile coastline views surround the property. Staff on hand to answer all your travel and tour questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Silver Oaks Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Oaks Ranch Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing