We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Silver Oaks Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Oaks Ranch
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 March 2011

My husband and I spent five wonderful days at the ranch. The accomodations are clean and comfortable. The setting is beautiful, peaceful and quiet. Our cottage was well-stocked; from linens and dishes to beach gear, books, DVDs, binoculars and more. Rick and Amy have made their cottages so comfortable, we had to push ourselves out the door to tour the west coast of the Big Island. They are excellent hosts - we had the privacy we wanted yet someone was always available if we needed anything. Amy and Rick are a wealth of knowledge about things to do in the area!
We hope to return someday with our entire family so they too can enjoy all the ranch has to offer.
Note: Located a short drive to Costco, Walmart, Starbucks and all kinds of Hawaiian shops.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsThatASeaTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Upon entering, we knocked on Amy's father's door by accident. He was super nice and offered us two fresh oranges and then took us to see Amy and Rick. We were a bit early but because no one had reserved the Garden Cottage the day before, early check-in was no problem. Rick and Amy were incredibly nice and showed us around the entire estate. We weren't expecting any type of breakfast or food (as we stayed <4 nights) but, to our surprise, they had given us some sweet bread, fresh fruit, chocolate covered Macedonia nuts, and other great food.

We spent most our time traveling around Hawai'i, but the time we spent at the estate was great. We grabbed a couple cold beverages and bug spray out of the common area which helped during our hikes. We also got to go into the chicken/goat pen and pet the goats until the meowing vacation kitty GiGi came into the pen and chased away all of the goats >.<

When it was time for us to leave, we found out our flight was canceled. Our cell phones weren't working very well so they let us into their house to use the phone. They also offered for us to spend the night until we could find a new flight.

Overall, Amy, Rick, and both of Amy's parents were really kind people and gracious hosts. This B&B was, by far, the best I've stayed in and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapturousderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, IL
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at Silver Oaks Ranch for 5 days during our trip to the Big Island and Kauai. We arrived in Kona after 5 days at the Grand Hyatt, Kauai. It was a totally different experience. We chose Silver Oaks because my daughter, age 4 LOVES animals and we wanted something different from the average resort experience. My daughter was in heaven, watching the goatees and visiting the barn to say hi to donkey and Charon. The views were beautiful, Amy and Rick were so welcoming, and it was great for our family of 4 to have some room to spread out after being in a hotel room. We loved touring the Big Island and Rick and Amy had lots of wonderful tips on what to see and do. We have great memories of Silver Oaks Ranch and the kids are asking when we are going to visit again. I would love to come back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamperedschaaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Best part of our recent trip was our stay on the big island of Hawaii. Our cottage at the Silver Oaks Ranch gave us more peace and privacy than the rooms we had on Oahu. We also had a wonderful view of the coast. This will be our first choice for a place to stay on our next trip to Kona. Rick and Amy are wonderful hosts and made sure we had everything we needed to make the most of our visit to the island.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padawan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This was perhaps our fourth stay at Silver Oaks....for our tenth wedding anniversary this time, and the place is as great as ever! Amy and Rick are perfect hosts. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the Kailua-Kona side of the Big Island, or a more perfect end to a day of exploring than soaking in the hot tub on the porch, with a mai tai in hand, admiring the fabulous views (and, of course, the baby goats in their pasture)! Very, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Rick and Amy's ranch guest house is the nicest place we stayed on the Big Island. While on a 3 month parental leave with our new baby and toddler and we stayed in 8 different places on 3 islands. Silver Oaks was undoubtedly our favourite all-around place on the Big Island (even though we stayed in some other nice spots, too)! We felt at home instantly in our suite. The one-bedroom unit had much more space than a hotel room and it comfortably fit our family of 4 (they brought in a cot for our 2-year old and had a playpen available for our baby). As well, the kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed to cook beautiful meals at home.

The location of the ranch was perfect for us. We were far enough away from Kona to feel relaxed and enjoy the amazing panorama views of the ocean and town from their property (especially beautiful from the pool and hot tub)! From Silver Oaks we spent all of our days exploring the surrounding beaches (Makalawena was our favourite) and snorkeling. Rick helped us with snorkel gear and told us some good spots where we felt like we were swimming in an aquarium! The property was big enough to have some nice strolls around and our 2 year old enjoyed feeding the goats with Amy and watching the horses and chickens.

Bottom line: if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay on the Kona side of the Big Island, Silver Oaks is it. Rick and Amy are incredibly kind and hospitable, and their ranch is a home away from home. Thanks to Rick and Amy for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireweedFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I concur with the other reviewers. I have been staying at Silver Oaks frequently (whenever I can get up the money) since my first visit in 2002. And I don't stay anywhere else anymore. It is so homey, beautiful, comfortable and welcoming that I don't bother with anyplace else. I've stayed in hotels, condos, B&Bs, campgrounds and private homes on all the Hawaiian Islands, and nothing comes close to Silver Oaks. I was in Kauai at a posh condo in July, and it was very nice but slightly noisy, and I'm not used to that. Silver Oaks is QUIET. The condo was very clean, but not IMMACULATE like Silver Oaks. I'm used to that. The condo was a little hot and humid, and I'm not used to that - Silver Oaks is higher, cooler, drier, greener, much more peaceful, private, and roomy. And for all the amenities and personalized service, Silver Oaks is a BARGAIN.Of course, if other people don't stay here, I won't have trouble booking it whenever I can!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherrillFutrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
15.3 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
288 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Sanctuary
Banyan Tree Sanctuary
#18 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
10 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms
0.7 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Oaks Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Oaks Ranch

Property: Silver Oaks Ranch
Address: 73-4570 Mamalahoa Hwy, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-8650
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Oaks Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Oaks Ranch is a 10-acre gated estate only 5 miles from the town of Kailua-Kona. We offer private, large cottages with all the conveniences of home. Spectacular 40 mile coastline views surround the property. Staff on hand to answer all your travel and tour questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Oaks Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Oaks Ranch Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing