We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, just renovated - very nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Sparks, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, just renovated - very nice rooms”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

There's a special place in my heart for the King Kam. The location was the best out of all the hotels we saw, it's right on the dock that a lot of the snorkeling and parasailing companies use and right on the ocean. The hotel was still being renovated so the shopping area downstairs wasn't done yet, but I didn't go to Hawaii to shop anyway. The rooms were immaculate and the bathrooms were very nicely done. I would definitely go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidkephart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    1,322
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
800
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My stay here was good. In Kona this hotel is probably one of the better options. In general, this hotel tries to be a little too much like a Hilton or Marriott than King Kamehameha.

In my prime example, the place charges $10 for parking. Kailua-Kona is barely a city and to charge for parking just seems outrageous. Let alone $10 a night.

If you must stay in Kailua-Kona, this hotel will get you a good night sleep with a good room. Ocean view is not worth it as you see more of a harbour than an ocean view. So just take a generally room.

If you are just staying on the big island east coast... go for Waikoloa or the Kohala Coast. This is a much better area for beaches and still can reach Kailua-Kona via car.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights to try to see the Volcano. Weather cancelled our helicopter tour so we explored the local area & West side of the island. Kona is the place to be, a little something for everyone. We booked the Aloha package with Breakfast and it was definitely worth it. The Bfast was good food and friendly wait staff. The concierge was extremely helpful, assisted us with all of our needs from good local dining spots to tours. They were doing some construction on the lobby level due to the tsunami damage, but we never heard a peep in our room or at the pool either day or night. The staff is friendly as can be. The location is excellent also, right next to an actual sandy beach (most of the island is lava rock, so sand is actually not plentiful), and plenty of shopping/dining options nearby. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to the big island.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayll135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This hotel was in a nice location, with many shops and restaurants in walking distance. It is also close to Hwy 11, which you can take to go visit other locations on the island if you have a car. They do charge $10 per day parking, but I'm sure most hotels in Kona do as well. Rooms were clean and offered nice views, although it was slightly noisy from the road traffic in the east tower. Their breakfast buffet was $15 per person, and just average. Their menu indicated more items would be available then were actually was so it ended up being typical breakfast items like eggs, fruit, cereal, potatoes, pastries, etc. Good, but nothing really special. The beach was pretty small, but I understand part of that was due to the recent tsunami which did some damage to the hotel. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are in the Kona area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravel4283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The room & pool were great, 1st floor is under construction, or at least boarded up, lady at the desk evan discouraged going to the luau, felt like there should have been a larger discount for the shape of the hotel, breakfest was not bad, they will do your eggs the way you like them & i had wheat toast every day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soonertravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

ok let me start by saying I picked this hotel because of the location to town and the beautiful beach in its backyard to snorkel in. However the wave hit it really hard and the beach is totaled--no sand , looks horrible. I would definatly wait until the fixed everything--because otherwise its a real bust--
the hotel bar food is fairly good though. the pool is nice. They throw a luau there and its on the grass now since the diaster --so I could see in from my room balcony--and its definatly nothing special and not worth the money. I also went to the luau and the sheraton and that was not thrilling either but a bit better--honolulu ones are way better.
Bubba gump shrimp was a really cool and reasonable place to eat.

The only major problem I had was in the room--looked clean andwas a decent size
but the first night we were there I happened to open my eyes at midnight and see a big bug crawl right over the bedside clock--Now if your like my husband this would not have bothered you --but me I hate bugs, so i jumped out of bed to try and kill it--with no luck--I called the front desk to see if they could send housekeeping with bug spray--and they sent a secutity gard to kill what I suspect was a cockroach--anyhow he had no luck also. So I asked if I could switch rooms and he called the front desk and they said fine--I asked if I could possibly leave my luggage until the morning since it was already unpacked--they said no--I thought this was bad customer service on their part but what could I do (next time I will buy travel insurace) so here I am waking up my family to move rooms in their pajamas and help pack all the stuff--and to make matters worse the only moved us 2 rooms down--not really what I would have wanted -but again took what I got.

SO anyway I thought I would let you know--my husband says people dont change over those kind of things and I am was being difficult--me I think it was gross and they should have been nicer--
You decide

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budget_savings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

The hotel is in what I would term downtown Kona and is relatively close to grocery stores and a Walmart, which is helpful for people traveling with families or on a budget. The biggest highlight of the location is that it's on the beach. The beach isn't huge or anything, but it's nice.

The hotel itself seems to be in good condition. The exterior doesn't set it apart from anything else, but inside it looked really nice. The decorations are all contemporary in style and seemed to be new. We were there right after the tsunami, so the lobby was being refurbished. Our room was unaffected by that, though. We had a room that faced the city (right over the front of the hotel). It had a balcony, two beds, a desk, and a dresser. There was a mini-fridge, but no microwave, which was a bit of a disappointment. The Internet connection, which is included in the price of the room (a huge rarity anywhere in Hawaii), worked for us.

The problem with the hotel is that it is very expensive. Even with using Hotwire, this cost us about as much as staying on Waikiki. I will admit, though, that it doesn't feel like a total rip-off. The beach access, included Internet, and parking (it's not valet parking, though) that only costs $10.00 a night go a long way to making you feel like you're not being taken for a ride financially.

All in all, I wish there was a way to rate half-stars here on TripAdvisor. This hotel is probably somewhere between 2.5 and 3 stars, the hit on the rating coming because of the expensiveness of the hotel in a place like Kona that is really a little off the beaten path. It was a decent experience, though, and I would probably recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahJohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing