We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Have just returned from a stay at this hotel. Recently and beautifully renovated. Clean and well equipped rooms with very comfortable beds and zero noise from outside or from neighboring rooms. Staff were always friendly and accommodating at all times and the hotel is central to everything you would want to do in Kona. Excellent restaurants and bars are within walking distance and the hotel has a well priced convenience store open until 11pm at night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Ideal for families, couples , singles and business travelers alike.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powdergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Aloha Powdergirl from Utah,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and we appreciate your great feedback. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. We look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We spent 4 nights. While the price was good and hotel quite nice, we probably would not return as it just wasn't what we were looking for.

Positive
- Beautiful and clean room, lobby area quite nice as well
- Friendly staff
- Awesome pool & bar
- Good breakfasts

Negatives
- Non-ocean view rooms aren't the greatest - our partial ocean overlooked an old tennis court and construction site. However, we did end up upgrading to an amazing oceanfront room.
- The pool was filled with rowdy kids on the weekend to the point we were unable to relax and enjoy the pool area.
- Beach area was small

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank move2maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. I'm glad that we were able to give you an upgrade to an oceanfront room. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are saddened to hear that your experience at our pool wasn't everything you had expected. Unfortunately, your visit was during a weekend of the first canoe regatta which is the islands most competitive sport and also it is the beginning of summer for a lot of students. During these canoe races we have families staying with us from around the island. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and hope that you would give us another opportunity to stay with us on your next trip to Kona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife and I are staying at the hotel right now. We arrived three days ago, and have another four to go.
Room in block B has a view of the sea. Very comfortable beds and well appointed room. One of the best showers we have ever had in any hotel. My wife is a light sleeper so we were delighted with how quiet the hotel is during the night. We couldn't hear a sound from anywhere, including the rooms next door.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful - on arrival the desk clerk pronounced my first name correctly for the first time ever in the U.S. (my name is Ian [of Scottish origin], easy to pronounce but nobody over here in the States ever gets it right)
Looking forward to the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: I don't think you need to worry about any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I am a local resident of Kona, HI, and wanted to share with you all that the King Kam sits at one end of Alii Drive, a huge tourist attraction. Alii drive is immediately adjacent to the ocean, and both sides of the road have places to eat, buy local gifts, visit churches/attractions.... very true to Kona style, Kona is laid back, so you'll see everyone wearing slippers and swimshorts everywhere! The King Kam sits at one end... right on a little beach where you can rent paddle boards or kayaks. It is a great spot!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Aloha Nicole M,

Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to share your review. Thank you for your support and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night, they upgraded me for free to a qcean view room and gave me a super late check out of 4 pm. They could not have been any nicer to me and stored my luggage until I was ready to get on the aggressor boat. Room was clean and a very nice bed, just like I was at home.

Room Tip: to take a taxis from the airport is 40.00, its a 12 min ride. not the hotels fault but something to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

If you're planning to book the Mauna Kea Summit Adventure Tour -- there is a pick-up location just a few minutes walk away from this hotel (at Buns in the Sun bakery). It's the main reason we booked here -- and we found a lot of other things to like about the hotel as well.

The location is right next to Ali'i Drive, the main street that runs along the water. We also enjoyed breakfasts at Honu's in the hotel (great food and setting -- you can sit on an outdoor patio with views of palms & a small beach). The historical paintings and displays in the lobby were also a nice touch. Our room was pretty standard -- the bed was comfy, and the small outdoor balcony was a nice place to rest and admire our surroundings (we had a street view).

However -- the bathroom was pretty tiny. Once you opened the door, the toilet was right there, with the shower squeezed in beside it. A little awkward navigating around -- would have been nice to have a bit more space. There was also a little party noise from the street one night that woke us up. Despite that, the hotel was comfortable & convenient for our needs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sketchy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Aloha!
We appreciate your feedback and glad that you had a comfortable stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast at our Honu's restaurant as well as our convenient location. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that we can welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is conveniently located on the waterfront at the north end of Kailua Village. The hotel has been remodeled; the rooms are spacious, clean, and have refrigerators. The fitness center, computer access, and parking are all convenient and there is a concierge desk. There are several village restaurants, coffee shops, bars, tour boats, and historical sites within easy walking distance. You can quickly drive north or south on Highway 19 for Kohala and Kona National Park sites, hiking, and beaches. There is a restaurant on site as well as an adequate poolside bar. If you are planning on seeing the whole island, this is a good and economical place to begin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing