We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had not been to Kailua-Kona in many years and decided to stay here because our values seemed higher here, than what we could get out of town at a resort. B/C my husband likes views I splurged on an oceanside room. Our stay was for three nights: Tue., Wed., and Thur. The entrance to the hotel is inviting and well kept. It's also right in town, which is very convenient for shopping and sightseeing on foot. We were assigned a room on the third floor in the East Tower facing the ocean and the pier. The room was adequate with a king sized bed and small fridge in the room.

However, that evening, as we attempted to enjoy our lanai seating, the lights on the pier directly shown into our room completely dispelling any enjoyment we might have had the opportunity to enjoy. Huge floodlights are temporarily installed on the pier when the cruise ships harbor in Kailua-Kona. The cruise ships are not there every night; on those nights the flood lights come down. However, we did not know this at the time. My other complaint with the ocean room in the East tower on the third floor, was that because we were near the pier and the public restrooms, I could almost make out the faces of those individuals in that area. I felt the room lacked a bit of privacy in this respect.

Needless to say the next morning, I went down to the front desk and requested a different room. We were offered a room on the 5th floor in the West tower. This time, we decided to take a look first before we just accepted what they gave us. In the future, I may decide to inspect the room before I just take the first room I am given. Given that I am not familiar with how hotels run, this may not always be possible if the hotel is full, but it does not hurt to ask.

The room on the fifth floor in the West tower was a far cry from our room on the third floor. It was a corner unit and offerd a bit of extra space. It was close to the marsh and a secondary road. Yes, their was a bit of noise from the air conditioning unit below and the room contained two queen size beds instead of one king, but the view was so much better. It overlooked the finely manicured lawn, and the sounds of the luau might be a little more noticeable on this side, but since the luau would not be held for the remainder of our stay, we decided to go ahead and take the room. When we went down to confirm our decision, we happily found out that the room would not run us any additional expense.

From a female perspective, I would like to see a full length mirror, and a small mirror that could be attached to the main mirror in the bathroom, for close applications of makeup. Or perhaps I should just carry my own small mirror for makeup application!

We enjoyed the food at the pool and in the restaurant, and the service was fine. The pool hours were fine. The free Wi-fi was fast enough for my husband's preferences. The parking fee of $10 a day is reasonable. As reported in earlier reviews of this hotel, the remodeling and updating they accomplished in the hotel is stunning, after the effects of the Tsunami which occured there in March 2011. The historic compilation of art and commentary of King Kamehameha, throughout the hotel, honors the lives of the Hawaiian race. As does, the life-size replica of an outrigger canoe in one of the foyers, to the courage of these people so long ago.

We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Look before you leap or check out the schedules of the cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanilla_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We only stayed for one night, thankfully, we had a terrible experience at this hotel & cannot understand these ratings. The ocean view room we stayed in had a dreadful musty smell & felt like the room had not been used in a very long time. The corridor outside the room was like a wind tunnel so we could not sleep at all due to the noise, this coupled with the noisy air conditioning & the numerous hairs we found on the bed linen made this a less than pleasurable experience. We will never stay here again, such a disappointment & not what we expected from a Marriott hotel at all.

Room Tip: The premium we paid for an ocean view room was not justified.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We appreciate your feedback and we are truly sorry that you were extremely disappointed with your stay. At King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel we strive to provide our valued guests the highest level of professional service and accommodations. Thank you for your comments and feedback, I was disappointed to read we did not meet your expectations on this visit; you may be assured that all concerns regarding the smell in your room and the wind pressure in the corridor has been addressed with the appropriate managers for their review and corrective action to prevent future occurrences.

Please accept my personal apology for the inconvenience that you encountered during your visit. This is not typical of King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel standards and I wish we could have spared you the inconvenience during your stay. We hope this incident has not caused you to lose faith in our services and hope you will continue to support King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel.

I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We visited Hawaii, the big Island and Oahu. The Big Island is the real thing, the beaches and the Volcano, the black sand beach and the green sand beach. The best coffee and the best macadamia nuts. We enjoyed it a lot compared with Honolulu, where I felt as if I am in Fifth Avenue, Manhattan, lots of shopping malls and very crowded.
The hotel is very nice, great location, many resturants around, Costco close by and many beachs at walking distance. We stayed on the fourth floor facing west. Nice room, plenty of parking.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Nice property in Kona with lots of restaurants and shopping in walking distance. There is a fishing pier right there with lots of marine life. We saw sea turtles and giant jelly fish as well as lots of other topical fish swimming around. There's a lot of local activity that goes on at the fishing pier as well with swim practice and teams of guys launching outriggers. There is a nice pool and poolside grill and restaurant. Resty's mai tais are yummy! Volcanoes National Park is about a two and a half hour ride, but the ride is scenic and park is wonderful! We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back and stay this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc00mes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Aloha! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Mai Tai's at our poolside bar. Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to share your review. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return to Kona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Nov 2011. The hotel is newly remodeled. Marriott recently took over the property.
The rooms are very nice and clean. We had a partial ocean view that was great! One of the best things is the hotel is located right on the ocean with a very short walk to old town Kona.
Very close to great restaurants and shopping. The snorkeling located right next to the hotel in the bay is good. Lots to see and the water is calm and great for swimming.
They offer a very nice pool with a bar in the same area.
The restaurant is ok, but I would recommend that you walk the very short distance to lots of other choices in old town.

When we return to Kona we will stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: The partial ocean view rooms are actually ocean view with additional views of old town Kona.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTraveler831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

The location is great. You can stroll down the main street and catch boat trips from the pier just behind the hotel. There's a beach just behind the hotel (not exculsive to the hotel) which you overlook when eating your breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. There's cold and hot breakfast. Eggs are made to order and good service as well. The pool isn't big but the staff had the pool bar were very friendly. The rooms were big, clean and everything was in order. The conceirge was very helpful with trip booking. Apart from free wi-fi there's also free internet at the business centre. My room overlooked the front of the hotel and I wasn't disturbed at all by noise at night. Maybe its the time of year that I visited but all the restaurants closed down at 10pm. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauny_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear that our location was convenient for you. Also glad that our staff took care of you and that you had a great stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Great central location....whatever you want to do, you can get there from here and the concierge is genuinely helpful and friendly. I do usually prefer a more isolated experience on the islands of Hawaii, but you just can't beat the combination of price, location, and service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfiesaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing