We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Comfortable (ADA compliant) Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great View and Comfortable (ADA compliant) Room”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The King Kamehameha Hotel is located near many good restaurants and interesting sights. Our room overlooked the harbor and an historic monument. The staff was very helpful. Our luggage was routed to Hilo. When it finally got to the hotel, we were not there. As per request, the staff moved the luggage into our room. We appreciated that the room was fully ADA compliant with help bars in appropriate places. We ate a late meal at the bar, it was quite good and the ambiance overlooking the pool and harbor was very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edam231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to learn that how much you enjoyed your stay as well as your dining experience at our Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille. Your kind remarks for our hotel and staff are greatly appreciated and we hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    1,321
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
798
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Location is walkable to almost all the restaurants and to the shopping center.
The beach is clean and without the big waves - make it relaxing to just swim and do lapses.
I am a Marriott Gold Member and was disappointed this Courtyard does not have the 'aura' of Marriott. We have the view of the rooftop, but could see the beach and the pool so not really how Gold Members should be placed especially when the rooms were reserved way back in September 2013.
Hilo is a small friendly town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmadeguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience. We appreciate your loyalty as a Marriott Gold Rewards Member. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our convenient location it is definitely disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you.
We are sorry that you stay was not as you had expected in terms of the view but hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again to change your opinion of our property.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Right in the heart of the town, on pier with small beach, lots of activity going on all the time. Little noisy, dated, but they seem to be really trying to make this a wonderful stay for you and your family. Very kid friendly, nice pool, amenities abound, lots of food choices and easy walk. It is a good get away, not a hideaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our friendly service as well as our amenities and our convenient location. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your return. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adinkerke, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked this hotel for its location having a late arrival with our flight. A shuttle bus, that we booked ahead, was ready at the airport and took us in a 10 min. drive to the hotel. Only 1 employee was available for check in and there was a lot of people checking in at that time (10:30 PM). All in all the check in was fast and the room was fine. We booked a standard room. It was a fare size and all we needed was present. Because of our late arrival we asked for a late check out and we could stay until 12 noon which was a much better time for us to leave. We left our bags with the concierge until the late afternoon before we moved to our other location on the island.
Breakfast was very good and all what you can wish for. Although Splashers at the other side of the road is a very good option too! We had breakfast there the next day and it was very nice and less expensive.
Our stay in this hotel was what we expected nothing fancy but good. We would stay here again the next time especially for its location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to express your impressions with us. We are so pleased to learn that you had a very nice time while staying with us and that our location was convenient for you. All of us here are looking forward to your return to the islands. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked this trip / hotel without knowing much about the Big Island. But I must say, we picked the perfect hotel. Kailua-Kona is the right part of the island to stay at, and King Kam Hotel is perfectly located in Kona.

Pro -
* Great location - walking distance to beaches, local restaurants, brewery, grocery stores as well as K-Mart and Target (ok.. the last one may take a bit longer to get to on foot)
* Great facilities - Nice gym! ABC store is attached to the hotel. And there's this art shop that also sells crepes.. odd, but fantastic!
* Great service - we had a problem with the sink in the room and water just would not go down properly. We told the front desk in the morning and when we came back to the room early afternoon, it was already fixed!

Con -
* Bed - the bed in our room is probably as old as King Kam himself. I have back problem so a soft bed really put a dent on the trip. :(
* Parking - If you rent a car for your trip, there's a parking lot right by the hotel. However, there's a $14/day parking fee that we did not know about. :(
* Upgraded room - we upgraded to a partial ocean view room (aka you can see a tiny bit of water from the lanai). Don't think it's worth paying extra for the upgrade.)

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street if you wish to sleep in. The town is bustling starting around 7am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellaaaaaaa1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I do agree that we offer the best value for the best location in Kona. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

we booked an ocean-front view and loved waking up to the canoes going out for morning practice. There always seemed to be something going on in Kona -- such a charming little village.
The staff is helpful and we're very pleased to be staying here. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: if you spend lots of time in your room, pay a bit more for oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joheydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We're pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to having you with us again in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We last stayed at the King Kamehameha about 30 years ago, and I remember loving the hotel and loving the village of Kona. I knew that the ownership had changed, but I was still excited to stay there again. I was disappointed in the condition of our room, very outdated with a really small balcony. The room itself was really a nice size and very comfortable, but the furnishings were worn and very used. The pool is very small and plain for a Hawaiian pool, and there were NEVER any chairs open by the pool. You could sit outside the pool area, but they did not have any chairs out there, so you laid in the grass. The restaurant at the Hotel was very good, we had breakfast there every day. The service at the front desk was a little slow, and although we had booked rooms for 7 people, the desk clerk only wanted to give us one room. The best part about this hotel is the proximity to the village of Kona. Walking distance to shops and restaurants and bars . However, I must say that I did not feel as comfortable there as I did on Front Street in Lahaina. The main street was a little dark, and there were lots of teens, hanging around, zooming by on skateboards, trying to see how close they could get without actually knocking you over. I was sorry to learn that the Captain Beans glass bottom boat and the dinner cruises were no longer operating. There were a lot of closed down buildings as well. I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank huskerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We couldn't be more disappointed than to hear that your recent stay was not as you had anticipated. It is our goal to ensure a seamless experience for all our guests, and we apologize that your recent experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will allow us to welcome you back for an experience that exceeds your expectations. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing