We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Wonderful stay but didn't fully take advantage of the property in our short stay as we were out exploring. Never saw the beach out back, or used the pool, or walked to the nearby shops/restaurants. However, the hotel is lovely - quite large for a Courtyard (heard this may be the largest Courtyard) with a beautiful lobby, and very welcoming and charming staff. The room was squeaky clean and comfortable, on par with all other Courtyard properties I've stayed in the past. Updated and modern, can't tell that this placed has been around and renovated (as I was told by the staff) - looks/feels brand new.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ali28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Aloha,
We also wish you could have stayed a little longer to fully enjoy all the great amenities that we have to offer. Thank you for sharing such a lovely review for Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience during your stay and delighted that you found our convenient location to be a good central point for exploring the Big Island. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 3,018 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Everything was excellent. All the staff went out of their way to please us. Rooms very clean and not lux but everything and more I expected from a courtyard. We could walk to everything in town. Was on beach. Could watch all the action on pier. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Great location in town of Kona. We were oceanfront. Liked having morning sun and afternoon shade ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAY4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Aloha,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and learn about their experiences at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations and so happy to learn that our staff took such good care of you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the front desk. When I had made the online reservation I had made a note that it would be my husband's birthday during our visit and they supplied us with a box of chocolates to celebrate. We booked a standard guest room with a King bed with a standard view at $186.00 per night. We were given a room on the fourth floor with a view to the parking lot, but given the rate this was to be expected. The room had modern style furniture, bedding, and appliances. The bathroom and room were large enough for two people and the fold out couch could have easily accommodated small children. The room included a small coffee pot with Kona coffee pods and a small refrigerator. We enjoyed the location of the hotel in relation to the town of Kona and the small beach. The hotel is walking distance from shops, framers markets, the boat dock, and restaurants. The hotel also has a small beach which was great for relaxing and I feel that this added the most value to the hotel. There are basically no other beach areas in Kona and you can literately snorkel from your hotel. The only downfall to the beautiful beach is that when the cruise ships come into port the hotel is unable to keep the beach private for those people staying at the hotel and the area becomes over run with day visitors looking to sun bath and use the private beach area, pool, and bar. It was my impression that the hotel was trying to turn away non-hotel visitors, but were not able to keep up with the amount of people entering the lawn and beach area. It would have been my preference that if they allowed these guests to use the area that they pay a day fee and given a wrist band like many other excursions I have seen in the past.

We sat at the Billfish bar and had several drinks throughout our stay and the prices much better than other restaurants in the area and very well made. It was a great place to watch football and mingle with other guests. We did not eat at Honu's at all during our stay because we did not feel the prices were competitive. We had Sunday brunch at Quinn's and we had breakfast at Splasher's several days. There are tons of restaurants in the area to choose from.

The hotel had a convenience store, rental stand, spa, pool, concierge, car rental, and other helpful amenities onsite and it was very easy to make all of the necessary arrangements from the hotel. The concierge with Pleasant Holidays helped us to arrange a car rental, whale watching tour, and taxis' for a reasonable price. I would suggest making arrangements for excursions as soon as possible upon arrival.

The staff was very kind and every staff member greeted us as we walked by. I felt that this was a great value and I was not disappointed with the quality of accommodations, service or location during our visit. I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to visit again the in future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank vjack0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha,
Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our friendly service as well as our amenities and our convenient location. I agree that we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your return. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed for a full two weeks at King Kamehameha's and thoroughly enjoyed being there and found the location exceptionally handy for our needs. We were able to walk downtown each day just to enjoy the beach breezes and waves as the hotel is right in the downtown area. Although we did not get coffee replenished a couple of times, it was no big deal with the hotel's restaurant on site and also Menehune's Coffee Shop. Hotel staff was so friendly! Wow, they were exceptional every day. We enjoyed the little bay and its snorkeling availability plus the buffet breakfast each morning. The buffet was great and plentiful. There was one night and one morning that was disappointing and that was when a smoker decided to smoke on the balcony - I woke up to find my room full of smoke at night and was not happy. Yes, I did complain to staff and hopefully Security personnel were able to route out the culprit. As I am very sensitive to smoke I certainly hope they caught up with him/her. Great stay and yes we will return.

Room Tip: Although I initially wanted a full ocean view, after seeing how the sun would be positioned on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptompk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review. At the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel we truly care about our guests and it is our number one priority to create an exceptional service for all valued guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including our restaurant, friendliness of our staff, and our convenient location. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

In the heart of Kona. Pick this property because of it's location. It's any easy walk to restaurants (including fast food) and shopping. So...if your counting your pennies, you can eat on the "cheap".
This is NOT a resort in the sense of a large pool and expansive beach. A smallish pool and a small beach set back in a cove. This beach is next to a busy harbor, especially busy when a cruise ship is in port.
This place works best as a base camp for day trips on the Big Island.

Rooms: very small and basic, small bathroom. Room does include a small fridge, small coffee maker and a safe.The mattress seemed a bit old but a foam overlay made the bed comfortable. Views of the ocean from partial ocean view rooms are marginal at best. Our room(partial ocean view) had its best view of the other tower. I would guess that the best views may be from the west side of the west tower. The ocean front rooms in the east tower overlook the harbor parking lot. Again, not the best place for views.

Staff: friendly and attentive. Had a small problem with our room (leak in the bathroom) which was taken care of promptly.

Restaurants: didn't partake. Lots of options close by that were easier on the wallet.

Overall a comfortable place to sleep to rest up for the next day's travel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tivmamtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We sincerely appreciate that you have provided both the positives of your stay and those aspects that you were not as enthusiastic about. All guest feedback is valued and we appreciate every comment as It allows us to continuously improve the experience for future guests. We value you as a guest and hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Rooms are the usual Courtyard standards, though on the small side. Clean and comfortale with a mini-fridge, coffee maker and balcony. We enjoyed how close the hotel was to shops and dining and to the South Kona Coast. The pool area was serene. There is a tiny beach with good snorkling at this property. Just don't swim behind King Kamehameha's structure. I was brushed up on the coral by rough waves and got stuck with plenty of spines from a sea urchin, OUCH! You will see plenty of fish just inside the little beach area so no need to venture beyond the little bay. The hotel offers wonderful Hawaiian music and art throughout the property. An ABC store is also right on the property. The buffet breakfast was worth the $21.99 charge. Self-Parking inside a safe lot and is $14 a day. Bellhops were friendly and personable. Hotel is 15 minutes from KOA airport. Paul Mitchelle lotion, shampoo and conditioner is provided but bring your own body wash if you use that. Overall, compared to the other resort prices, this is a good hotel to fit a modest travel budget.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JBR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha,
Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our friendly service as well as our amenities and our convenient location. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your return. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel is right on the beach. We didn't always get towels and coffee replaced but the front desk had what we needed. They made a big deal about smoking in the rooms with a $250 fine if you smoke in room or balcony. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip. Our first room smelled like someone was smoking in it and then they tried to clean it. At midnight I had no energy to battle it. The second visit the room was ok but in the morning we opened to balcony door and smoke rolled in from someone smoking on a balcony near, had to retreat and not enjoy sunrise. There were other times that morning it continued. The third morning they were bleeding some drain and after less than a minute with the door open the room smelled like a a sewer. The maid did spray something that helped.
The pool was OK but no one monitors the hot tub to enforce no kids under 10 and none under 15 without parents. It was full of 4-8 year olds horsing around. Getting a lounge chair is hard. People come down before 8 and put a towel to save the chair and then don't return till 11to use it. Leave there stuff to save it after a hour of use they left and then come back at 5 to pick it up. This seemed to be common. Lots of empty chairs with holding them. The Restaurant was fair, the fruit wasn't ripe and breakfast was more expensive then other places. You can go right out on the public beach and swim.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east get morning sun which is nice to enjoy coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MossGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Aloha,
We appreciate your review and comments about your recent stay. All guest feedback is taken seriously and we will certainly share yours with our management team. We are truly sorry that your recent experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations but thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,205 reviews
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,913 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £143 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing