We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The location at the upper end of Alii drive provides easy access to lots of restaurants, a few historical sites, as well as being close to the main highway and just a few miles from the airport. Service was fine. The room is nothing special, but perfectly adequate for our needs.

Thank DrMSR
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review and appreciation for our convenient location on the beautiful Kona coast. We hope you would choose to stay with us again should you find yourself traveling to the Big Island. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 3,139 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

We first stayed in this hotel in February 1984 with two small children, and returned as a couple exactly 30 years later. We spent the last 8 nights of a two week trip to the Big Island here, and loved everything about it: great location, very quiet at night, walking distance to everything, nice sheltered cove with easy entry for snorkeling. Our oceanfront room looked out at the luau area, and we sat on our balcony and listened to the music on several nights. I must mention the housekeeping, as it was exceptional, a complete clean of our room every single day, from the kind and friendly staff (4th floor, West Tower). We loved this hotel when it was brand new, as it was so great for families with small children (lovely sand beach, shallow, protected water). And as a Marriott, it has been updated, and the front desk staff were terrific. Will get back before 30 years next time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again on your return visit to the Big Island and for sharing your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are truly delighted that you found our location to be perfect for all your needs while visiting. We were so pleased to learn that you had a very nice time while staying with us and enjoyed your accommodations in addition to the service provided by our staff. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that we can welcome you back for another great stay. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at the King Kamehameha Hotel for one week at the end of February and found it to be everything we were really looking for in the way of accommodation during this trip (location and comfort.) The hotel itself has a near perfect location in Kona, close to restaurants, shops and activities, and an easy walk into old town Kailua/Kona.

If you are looking for a swanky five-star this is not your hotel. If you are looking for a hotel that provides consistently good service and offers pretty much everything you need to be comfortable this is the place. The rooms are reasonably large, clean and come with a bar fridge and free wireless. Ours overlooked the inner courtyard and had a partial ocean view. Beds were a little soft but still comfortable. The hotel has a ground level mall with shops and services including a great little coffee shop and an ABC store which, for those that don't know, is a largely Hawaiian chain of convenience stores that somehow manage to carry a miraculous range of merchandise at very reasonable prices.

The hotel also has a very nice little beach area, with exceptional snorkelling if you paddle out a little bit. It has its own restaurant and pool bar, but there are many others within a short walk, including the Kona Brewing Company for those that like craft beer.

Despite my near life long perspective that Luau shows are cheesy, I did purchase tickets for the Island Breeze Luau as it fit the Hawaii "50" birthday trip we were on. I was pleasantly surprised. The event, which is located right on the Hotel grounds, was exceptionally well run by the hard working team...great food, great show, great staff. I'd recommend it.

A couple of other things to know: guest parking is a bit expensive at $14 per day, which is perhaps my one gripe. Also, travellers should know that Hawaii has strict smoking bylaws so if you tend to be a hardcore smoker you may have some challenges. On the other hand, if you don't smoke, this is a great place!

Would we come back? Absolutely. Kona is a beautiful location and the hotel has everything we would want.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roboflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback as well as your recommendation. We are thrilled you had such a positive experience at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel and delighted that you found our location to be a good central location for your shopping, dining and beach activities. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed, and that you recommend the luau we offer on site. The Island Breeze Luau Dinner & Show takes guests on a colorful and entertaining journey through culture, music, dance and a delicious Hawaiian feast. Thank you very much for your review; we hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very nice hotel in great downtown location. Walking distance from numerous activities and restaurants. In fact because it was so close to everything we never ate at this hotel. Great little beach and grass area on the side of the hotel. Seems like a great location for families with small kids.
Spent 3 nights at this location. Arrived late on Sunday night and was greeted by very friendly staff. Went right to our beach front room located in East tower. Being late we didn't pay much attention to the view. Next morning revealed that our third story room looked over the parking lot of the activities area. I contacted Kirsten at the front desk as we were leaving for breakfast asking to change rooms if possible. When we returned she had a new Ocean Front room ready on the 5th floor of the West tower. GREAT JOB by Kirsten!
If you don't mind a little car and pedestrian traffic, this is a very nice hotel in a central location.
As usual the Marriott staff was very nice and helpful. I would return.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to face internal grass courtyard. Depending on what you want (view or quiet) ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richarddbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your comments. I’m so glad that our staff took care of you and that you had a great stay with us at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. I’m glad that we were able to give you an upgrade and that our central location was convenient for you. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Decorated in old Hawaiian style, I think this hotel is charming. Front desk staff went since and beyond to make sure the stay went well. Loved the pool area & pool bar. Bartender was a hoot, pool waitresses acted bored & disinterested in guests. It's ok, I just ordered from the bar. Beach in front is easy to access & not bad snorkeling. I loved the restaurant. Will be back. Oh and housekeeping here is absolute the most charming bunch of ladies you could ever meet. A friendly Aloha every day & great service.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our staff it is definitely disappointing to learn that your accommodations were not as anticipated in terms of the room size. We are grateful for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back again. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great hotel -- very clean, the staff was attentive and helpful, and the room was quite large. The best part of the hotel is that it is right in the centre of Kona, with ocean views just a short walk away, and lots of shops.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinyirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel during your trip to the Big Island. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. Thank you for your compliments for our hotel staff; we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The best features of this hotel are its location and relative value. There is a nice beach right behind the hotel with snorkeling and a calm surf (especially good for children). It is located within easy walking distance of several historic sights and many restaurants, shops and bars. Compared to the rates of other hotels on the Island, this one is a good value.

This is an older property with large, nicely remodeled rooms, small but well-maintained grounds and a friendly and helpful staff. It has tennis courts and a lobby featuring a large canoe and an art display highlighting the history of Hawaii. The on-site Island Breeze Luau is the best of the five we've attended on several different islands.

All in all, this is a nice hotel in a great location and a good value.

Room Tip: We notified the hotel before our arrival that we were celebrating an anniversary and were upgraded f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our sandy beach and the Hawaiian cultural exhibits displayed in our lobby. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our ocean front luau dinner and show. I do agree that we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,258 reviews
6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3,030 reviews
21 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £142 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel in Kailua-Kona provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into a hotel room or suite at our hotel featuring a private lanai, 37" flat-screen TV, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! The Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing