We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
164 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a very nice and quiet hotel! We especially enjoyed the environment and location of the hotel in relation to street vendors, restaurants and the beach. The deck area by the pool is very nice and it has a nice bar that serves reasonably priced food and drinks. The area is spacious and inviting. The rooms are very nice and they have a nice deck with nice views. The side near that tennis courts are a bit "busy" but the noise levels are tolerable. As far as the rooms themselves, they have an iron, ironing board, refrigerator, desk, and a nice big screen TV. The air conditioner works very well!

Overall, this is a nice place to stay with lots to offer, even if you want to just stay in and relax.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, avoid the rooms by the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duck1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for wonderful review for the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We truly care about our guests and it is our number one priority to create an exceptional experience for them. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay including dining at our poolside bar. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay; we hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Location is great because you can easily walk to restaurants, shops, and historical/cultural sites. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location and the cultural exhibits. We appreciate your compliments for our hotel and staff. Please visit us again soon it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level Contributor
275 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

One nighter with a friend. Easy to get to and nicely appointed. Walk to many shops and restaurants included the World Famous Kona Inn Restaurant and bar. Nice array of shops in the downstairs mall and off the halls. Lots of stuff for the looky loo in you. Historic items on the walls. Quick front drive thru of dropping and picking up folks. Across the Street is the Famous Quinn's with some of the best Fish Sandwhiches in town and good cocktails. The usual hotel amenities. Great Thai nearby and just down the road from the new Westside Wine shop and Hilo Hatties shop. some even walk up to the Walmart Store. Nice room amenities but the ocean views are not superb.

Room Tip: The lower levels are not as view blessed and can be a bit noisy. Upper floor on the ? view side had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Aloha,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay and our location was convenient for your shopping and dining opportunities. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel feel more like a corporate conference hotel, is charmless and boring. There is no room service, the beach is below average, is small and there are parking lots on both sides of the beach. The only good side about the hotel is proximity to other activities in the area, you can also walk to restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bella134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for the convenient location for our hotel it is definitely disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you. We are grateful for your feedback and hope you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the Island. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Staying in Kona, I prefer to be centrally located but I want a nice room. I found that at the Courtyard. I paid to stay ocean front for the best view since the prices were so reasonable. All of the shops and restaurants were in walking distance. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawyerdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your recent visit to Kona. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay as well as your accommodations. I do agree that we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. Please visit us again soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange
Level Contributor
129 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The staff keeps this hotel impeccably clean. Rooms are modern with comfortable beds. Great pool and safe beach, excellent for inexperienced swimmers. Conveniently located by the water, restaurants and shopping. An excellent value.

Room Tip: Upper floors for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreaterJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your kind compliments for the appearance of our guest rooms, our pool and location. While the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel strives to deliver exceptional service and accommodations, it is extremely important that our guests consider our hotel to be a value as well. We are glad you had a great stay and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columba
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

When our evening return flight to San Francisco was cancelled on a recent trip to the Big Island the airline put all of the passengers up in this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised by the excellent and efficient front desk service when they had a line up over 100 people to accommodate at almost 11PM! The front desk staff was friendly and even found us a room with a king size bed! Our room was clean but despite being a no-smoking room, there did seem to be a residual odour of smoke in our room - suspect this was a smoking room at some point in time and carpet, drapes and furniture probably need to be completely changed and the room needs painting just to get rid of this old smell. That said, it was a very nice room, the bed and furnishings were comfortable. The hotel amenities are very nice with a lovely pool and a nice little beach on a lagoon. In addition, the hotel is very close to the charming downtown and it was very nice to walk around in the morning prior to the departure of our rescheduled flight. If we returned to the Big Island we would definitely consider this hotel as an accommodation option. One note is that the buffet breakfast was excellent but very expensive.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet suggest that you ask that your room not front onto the main road. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We love to receive feedback from our guests and truly enjoyed reading your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our breakfast buffet and hotel amenities. Should you find yourself returning to Kona, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing