We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more! ”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing! The hotel safe was right on point and helpful with any and everything. The ladies at the bar where a highlight!

You can rent surfboards, kayaks, etc right on the beach and the snorkeling there is some of the best on the island. We even saw 50+ dolphins whole kayaking right outside the bay. You can also rent cars, book trips and grab coffee all in the building, plus there is an ABC store too.

The wifi is free and fast! Yes, actually fast! Although you do have to pay 14 dollars a day for parking.

We stayed in room 479 which has a view of the tennis courts and a peak of ocean. Was a great deal!

The only downside was the food. Not many healthy options and nothing gluten free outside of fries or salad.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary WiFi as well as our hotel amenities and beach area. However it was disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you with our menu selections. We just enhanced our dining menus to include Gluten-Free and vegetarian selections. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    1,321
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
798
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were here for a week and enjoyed walking to the many restaurants and shops that are nearby. You can swim, learn stand up paddle boarding or snorkel right outside your hotel; the hotel also offers a luau on site. There is a wonderful coffee shop (Menehune Coffee) in the lobby area. We loved their coffee and the wonderful people watching from the tables outside. They also serve fresh rolls and breakfast sandwiches. The staff throughout the hotel were very helpful. We had a partial ocean view room and really enjoyed relaxing on our balcony and watching the big outrigger canoes taking off from the beach every afternoon. There is a $14 per day fee for parking and you could easily get by without a car (if you don't want to explore the island) and you stay here.

Room Tip: We liked the East Tower but I think either building would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportTherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. It’s great to hear from our valued guests and learn that our convenient location, staff, amenities and accommodations fully met their needs. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Shari is a real gem to this hotel! NEVER lose her! She was extremely helpful in getting my family what we needed for trips around the island. She made it all happen! We went snorkeling on the Body Glove, had a trip to the volcano, went in a submarine, and she was a wealth of information about places to eat. As a former concierge and service provider, I can say without a doubt that she knows her stuff. Thank you so very much Shari!

Also, the hotel was wonderful and really great for kids. It is close to everything. The only complaint I had was the hotel's restaurant's food was lack-luster. Brunch that is over priced and even an egg bar but, alas, the omelette I ordered was under cooked. Please don't put mushrooms in miso soup! You need a new chef!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your recent stay in Kona. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay as well as the great service provided by our Concierge Shari. However it is definitely disappointing to lean that we didn’t meet your expectations during your visit to Honu’s. We are grateful for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This Courtyard Marriott property has such aloha!! A great downtown location, friendly personnel, clean rooms, sparkling pool, terrific breakfast, and a fabulous intimate spa. Yoga classes too! There is lovely historic artwork throughout, and several shops within the
property, including UFO Parasail. Rooms are clean, water sports are plentiful just outside your balcony. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when in Kailua Kona.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you had such a positive experience during your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are so delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, convenient location, pool area, as well as our breakfast buffet and hotel amenities. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We spent a long time choosing this hotel. We do not like being stranded in big resorts and this hotel was perfect. Within walking distance of the restaurants, shops and bars of the town but with its own good pool and even a sandy beach just outside. There are sun beds for guests at the rear if the beach. The reef just off the beach has pretty good and easy snorkelling as well

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our central location in Kailua Kona is a big plus for our guests because dining, shopping and sightseeing are all within walking distance. Thank you for sharing your review and hope that we can welcome you back very soon! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We selected this property primarily for its location. I was familiar with the old King Kam which was dated and in need of refurbishing. But Marriott brand made the difference. Hotel was upgraded beautifully and priced affordably. The location is perfect for variety of reasons, many dinning options, shopping and not feeling trapped. High end properties are 30" away.
Staff was great and as a Gold status reward member, I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bento2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we appreciate your kind words about our associates and hotel renovations. I’m glad that our staff provided you with great service and that you had a great stay with us at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice centrally located hotel, one of the few that has a beach. Clean, great service. Food at Billfish Pool bar is good. Honu's is ok for breakfast. Loved having shops in lobby area.

We're simple travelers. This was perfect for us

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing