We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly staff throughout; very comfortable rooms. My room w/o view actually had a gorgeous view to the side of the bay, and across the roof to Hualalai. Good fitness center and pool, access to yoga (not free), but the biggest attraction for me was being able to cross the street and swim or snorkel in the bay. Coral right there, lots of gorgeous fish. Amenities include well-stocked general store on site plus good coffee shop, clothing store, poolside bar and grill. Disappointment? The restaurant. Too many excellent restaurants within walking distance to bother with this one. This hotel was highly recommended by a friend who comes here often for business.

Room Tip: West wing, inside rooms. Great side views of the harbor; and of the volcano on 6th floor. Avoid east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123carolyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our location, amenities and friendly staff it is disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you. We are grateful for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back again someday. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 3,076 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed three nights and really enjoyed it. We came over to Kona from Waikiki, much friendlier and relaxed. Every area is sparkling clean and staff is attentive and helpful. Beautiful area, easy walk to shops and restaurants. Interesting Hawaiian art & history on-site in hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of you stay including our exceptional service provided by our staff, comfortable rooms, and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were very happy with our choice. We did not upgrade to get a better view but we were still happy with our balcony and made good use of it. Room was great, beds are super comfortable. Location is great- walking distance to the water, shops and plenty of food. The hotel food seemed a little pricy for our budget but there were many great choices down the street. We also made use of the pool and hot tub both were wonderful. If this the part of the island you want to stay this is an excellent choice. Staff was great. We did not have a single complaint.

Room Tip: Limited number of rooms have a great ocean view and that was extra. We did not upgrade to get a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your kind compliments for the appearance of the rooms, our pool and location. While the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel strives to deliver exceptional service and accommodations, it is extremely important that our guests consider our hotel to be a value as well. We are glad you had a great stay and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. It was a great property to stay at and met our needs. Our rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the service was friendly. It has a great location because there are shops up and down the street and many restaurants from which to choose. It is close to the airport as well. There is a fully equipped exercise room. The downstairs area had paintings on display which explained the history of Hawaii and historical figures. There was a pool and access to a beach, but we were wandering around the island, so we did not use them. They do have a snorkel rental shack on the beach and that was helpful for us to pick up our snorkel gear. The housekeeping staff made sure our rooms had enough towels and shampoo for our stay. This really was a great place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your family vacation in Hawaii. We are pleased that we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations and a great location for your shopping and dining explorations. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, fitness center, and also the friendly service provided by our staff. Your kind review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've traveled extensively and this hotel was clean, well decorated and in a great location. Prior to traveling we read the reviews and apparently this hotel was recently renovated. Well we were pleasantely surprised when we arrived. We purchased a room which included breakfast and we highly recommend as the breakfast buffet was a great way to start your day and the food was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the beach area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We love to receive feedback from our guests and truly enjoyed reading your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our breakfast buffet. Should you find yourself returning to Kona, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat! Besides being within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, there is a nice private beach and grassy areas to lay out close to the beach and water. The pool was refreshing and clean and the Billfish Bar has good eats and drinks available poolside! The bed was comfortable, shower pressure was fantastic, and the view was beautiful. We had a partial oceanview and overlooked the back parking area/tennis court. Noise was never a problem either from indoors or out and the shutters blocked out all of the outside light making it ideal for sleeping in! One of the best features of this hotel was the attached ABC store. We shopped there everyday of our vacation and got a free mug for spending $100 throughout the week! Everyday I picked up a banana and fresh pineapple for breakfast and grabbed a couple bottle of waters for our activities! So convenient! The other wonderful feature was attending the luau right there on the property. The food was delicious, the performance was amazing, and the mai tais were the best we had during our visit in Hawaii! I recommend this hotel highly and would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patproc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We love gaining valuable insight into our guest’s experience through their reviews. We’re glad you found the bed in your room so comfortable, that you enjoyed the poolside service, and that you recommend the luau we offer on site. We love sharing Hawaii’s culture and history with our guests and the luau is a wonderfully entertaining way to learn about the language and culture of the area. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay and for your recommendations; we hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is just like any other 4 star hotel. Big, plenty of space, lots of things to do, and great facilities. The employees are all energetic, and always provide a smile no matter what they are doing. Didn't check out the pool, but don't really need it since they have their own beach. Why swim in a pool when you are there for the ocean? Close to all the busy things like restaurants and tourist spots. Fitness center is good to just stay active.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your recent visit to Kona. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay as well as our fitness room and beach area in addition to our friendly staff. I do agree that we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. Please visit us again soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,961 reviews
21 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £148 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing