We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Overall a good hotel and just a cut above what is typically expected at a Courtyard branded hotel chain. Although the hotel is centrally located in Kona, making it easy to head to the north and south ends of the Big Island, the beach and pool areas at the hotel are small and not outstanding. You definitely want to head to the other beaches on the west side of the Big Island which are much more scenic and have more things to do (boogie boarding, snorkeling, etc.). The people at this hotel are very friendly, easy to approach, and the hotel does a fabulous job of providing all of the necessities for a vacationing family in Hawaii (there's even an ABC Store attached to the hotel). My only disappointment with this hotel (and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5) is that I had a room with 2 queen beds on the 6th floor with a very small bathroom--only one person can stand in it and use it at any given time--the vanity, toilet, and tub/shower are all together in the same area, which makes it really inconvenient for a family of four on vacation. Also, I wish my hotel room had a full length mirror available. This was the "upgraded" room that the hotel put me in as a Marriott Gold Rewards member.

Room Tip: Even though hotel is on a busy street, my 6th floor room facing the street was quiet. If you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our hotel staff and convenient location it is disappointing to learn that our room size did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the Big Island. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,322 - 1,328 of 3,141 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed over Fourth of July, and we were able to see the parade and fireworks from our balcony. Though our room faced the street, with the sliding doors closed we did not hear much noise - except for the occasional emergency vehicle. The hotel is perfectly located near shopping, dining, and the bay. The luau was amazing. My kids have asked to come back, one because of the luau and the other because of the breakfast buffet and the pool. Wonderful stay!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank rmrincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed the Island Breeze Luau. We are pleased to learn that you had a nice time while staying with us and enjoyed your accommodations and amenities in addition to the convenient location. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent a long weekend here and as always was happy with service, value, and safety. Great location in nice neighborhood and was great base for site seeing. Short walk to downtown Coconut Grove with restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you so much for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for more great stays in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly staff throughout; very comfortable rooms. My room w/o view actually had a gorgeous view to the side of the bay, and across the roof to Hualalai. Good fitness center and pool, access to yoga (not free), but the biggest attraction for me was being able to cross the street and swim or snorkel in the bay. Coral right there, lots of gorgeous fish. Amenities include well-stocked general store on site plus good coffee shop, clothing store, poolside bar and grill. Disappointment? The restaurant. Too many excellent restaurants within walking distance to bother with this one. This hotel was highly recommended by a friend who comes here often for business.

Room Tip: West wing, inside rooms. Great side views of the harbor; and of the volcano on 6th floor. Avoid east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123carolyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our location, amenities and friendly staff it is disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you. We are grateful for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back again someday. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed three nights and really enjoyed it. We came over to Kona from Waikiki, much friendlier and relaxed. Every area is sparkling clean and staff is attentive and helpful. Beautiful area, easy walk to shops and restaurants. Interesting Hawaiian art & history on-site in hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of you stay including our exceptional service provided by our staff, comfortable rooms, and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were very happy with our choice. We did not upgrade to get a better view but we were still happy with our balcony and made good use of it. Room was great, beds are super comfortable. Location is great- walking distance to the water, shops and plenty of food. The hotel food seemed a little pricy for our budget but there were many great choices down the street. We also made use of the pool and hot tub both were wonderful. If this the part of the island you want to stay this is an excellent choice. Staff was great. We did not have a single complaint.

Room Tip: Limited number of rooms have a great ocean view and that was extra. We did not upgrade to get a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your kind compliments for the appearance of the rooms, our pool and location. While the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel strives to deliver exceptional service and accommodations, it is extremely important that our guests consider our hotel to be a value as well. We are glad you had a great stay and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. It was a great property to stay at and met our needs. Our rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the service was friendly. It has a great location because there are shops up and down the street and many restaurants from which to choose. It is close to the airport as well. There is a fully equipped exercise room. The downstairs area had paintings on display which explained the history of Hawaii and historical figures. There was a pool and access to a beach, but we were wandering around the island, so we did not use them. They do have a snorkel rental shack on the beach and that was helpful for us to pick up our snorkel gear. The housekeeping staff made sure our rooms had enough towels and shampoo for our stay. This really was a great place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your family vacation in Hawaii. We are pleased that we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations and a great location for your shopping and dining explorations. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, fitness center, and also the friendly service provided by our staff. Your kind review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,258 reviews
6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3,031 reviews
21 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £143 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel in Kailua-Kona provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into a hotel room or suite at our hotel featuring a private lanai, 37" flat-screen TV, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! The Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing