We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good hotel, nice location. Rooms are what you can expect from a hotel in this price range. We had a room with two queen beds which were large enough to accommodate to 6 feet plus (in height) parents plus two kids. The start was less than optimal as I'm usually the one who handles parking and luggage and my wife does the check-in. I had to show up personally. To my surprise a pilot from some kind of airline bypassed the queue and the crew directly stopped handling us and other clients and helped him first.

The magic happened the next day. We had already checked out and wanted to do some sightseeing as we had an afternoon flight. That was the plan until I really did not feel well. We went back to the hotel and were prepared to pay for a full night as first demanded by the front office. Then Pia took control of the situation. She offered us the same room with a late checkout for a very small amount of money. That is customer service that makes you come back. Thank you Pia

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have partial ocean view in the west wing. I can't tell for the east wing as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Aloha,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay and thank you for your generous praise for our front desk associate. It is always our pleasure to take care of our guests and help to create a memorable experience for them. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    1,312
    360
    96
    62
See reviews for
783
1,333
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

First of all, I would like to give a big "MAHALO" to ALL of the staff at the hotel. Any interactions we had with the staff were very pleasant. They were at all times professional, well-mannered and very accommodating. Our room was comfortable and clean. We could not hear anything from the adjoining rooms when those guests were in their rooms (that in itself is awesome). The restaurant at the hotel is good. If you decide to partake in the Luau, I would suggest that you acquire the preferred seating. We did acquire the preferred seating and were not disappointed. The show was good! The food at the Luau is, well it is the standard Luau foods. Definitely take the time to check out the various paintings inside the hotel along with their written descriptions, they were quite interesting. Definitely, talk with the staff some of them have quite a bit of accurate and in-depth knowledge on Hawaiian history. Since my family loves to snorkel a few staff members pointed us to some areas that are known to the locals that the majority of tourists are unaware of, they were not crowded and we were not disappointed! If you want to explore the island definitely do so, a rental car will be needed. Once again "MAHALO" to the staff for making our stay very pleasant!

Near the hotel are plenty of restaurants and shops, a few places to check out are:
Kona Boys (rental of various water gear).
Paradise Brewing Company.
Volcanos National Park.
Coffee plantations, we looked into both the small and large plantations, we preferred the the larger.
The State Parks are interesting. If you like camping, go for it!
Atlantis Submarines.
UFO Parasailing.
The night time manta ray swim. Do your homework here...
The dolphin swims. Once again do your homework...
Macadamia Nut plantations.
The Kau dessert.


Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Javelin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We truly appreciate that you have shared how much you enjoyed your stay and included so many details about what to expect and what you discovered around the island. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to our guests so that they feel welcomed, relaxed and completely cared for. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, MA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We last stayed at the King Kam in 1988. It is a wonderful hotel and museum. I used the fact that we were Marriott Courtyard members, and return guests, to request a free upgrade. We were granted the upgrade, with a beautiful view of the ocean, the small, luau area, ancient village, etc.

The hotel has been refurbished, and we were quite pleased with room and area. The room had a refrigerator, which was convenient. We purchased breakfast and lunch items at a nearby supermarket. This saved time and money. It was also great to pack a lunch and have a picnic on the road.

We thought it best to stay in Kona. Restaurants and shops are just steps away, as they say. There are more luxurious, Disney like hotels up the coast, but they are very far away.

Everyone was so friendly. People at the bar were very pleasant, but things there and in Kona, close up early. Last call at the hotel bar I believe was at 9pm.

We had to pay to park. A $10 fee. Things get crowded on luau nights, but we always found plenty of parking.

The hotel is also near the start and finish of the Iron Man Triathlon. Many photos in the hotel about this world famous race.

I would stay again, especially if given a free upgrade. As stated earlier, we liked staying Kona. The island of Hawaii is so big, it takes forever to get anywhere. Nice to know you don't have travel far to have a meal, shop, or sight see.

Room Tip: Use Marriott points, a return stay, or whatever you think may work, and request a free upgrade. I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and your compliments on our hotel and staff.
We are pleased that we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations and a convenient location for your shopping and dining explorations. It’s great to hear that our location was a good central point for exploring the island. We hope that you will be back soon to explore even more of the Big Island. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for four nights on July 2014 during our honeymoon.

Good location and free parking don't make up for appalling service, noisy and moldy-smelling rooms, and inadequate pool size.

Where do I begin:
* As honeymooners, we were given a room with two queen-sized beds, and were not moved into a room with a king size bed despite repeated requests. When we finally requested to see a manager, Andy, the front desk manager, showed a complete lack of interest and seemed very happy with our disappointment and anger.
* During check-in, we finally received the room at 2:55pm, 5 minutes before the final guaranteed time, although we arrived at 11am.
* Rooms are noisy and smell of mold.
* Pool is okay, but simply not large enough for such a big hotel so don't expect to have a chair by the pool unless you show up at 8am.

Absolutely no way that we will be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Aloha,
We couldn’t be more disappointed than to hear that your recent stay was not as you had anticipated. It is our goal to ensure a positive experience for all our guests, and we do apologize that your stay did not reflect that. We regret that we were not able to create a better experience on your special occasion but appreciate the time you have taken to explain your experience; we will share your comments with our management team. Thank you for alerting us to your experience, we hope to have an opportunity in the future to regain your trust in our brand. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were told by our tour guide that we made the good choice. This hotel is well located in Kona and is close to everything. Walking distance to beach, market place and a lot of restaurants. You can also walk to the church and palace close by. They have their own small beach and some activities (canoe, kayak etc) are operated directly from there. If you want to some local life, there is a supermarket (KTA) and Long's drugs about 10-15 min walk away. Hotel is large and spacious, so is our room. We were upgraded to ocean view and enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly and responded to every request of ours. There are few choices for food in the hotel, and a ABC store on site. Hotel is about 15-20min drive from the Kona airport.

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms are pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your comments. I’m so glad to hear that our staff took care of your and that you had a great stay with us at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. I’m glad that we were able to give you an upgrade and that all your requests were granted. Many of our guests are attracted to our property because everything is within walking distance – dining, shopping, site seeing, and the beach. We appreciate all your kind comments and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Kona at this Marriott. We spent July 4 there, and even able to watch firwork right outside of the hotel. It has everything in that hotel, the private beach is great for snorkeling also. The meal can be pricey in the hotel, however, it's adjacent to shopping malls outside and lots of other restaurants. And we thoroughly enjoy our Luau party there on Thursday! The performances were great, and food were excellent too! It's a great place to stay if you want everything in one place - beach, restaurant, in-room wifi, gym, spa, hot tub, swimming pool, etc. You name it, they have it there! Do the pre-paid deal, I think it's the best value.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCSoccerMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed the Island Breeze Luau. We are pleased to learn that you had a nice time while staying with us and enjoyed your accommodations and amenities in addition to the convenient location. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Bottom line: this is a standard hotel as far as rooms and service go, but it has amazing art/history and is close to significant cultural, dining and shopping sites. If you're going to stay in Kailua-Kona and want something centrally located to all of the sites, then this is the hotel for you. I was extremely impressed with the Hawaiian history and artwork on display, which rivals some museums. Having the Ahu'ena Heiau right there next to you while you're in a kayak or on a paddle board is kind of surreal. The parking lot and parking fees were the only downside to our stay. My kids would have liked a more impressive pool to play in, but they were still able to have fun by taking advantage of snorkeling and paddle boarding at the beach. I appreciated being able to walk down Alii drive and find a wide variety of shops, restaurants and historically significant sites all within a mile radius.

Room Tip: Our room was standard, on the west side near the tennis courts. It was quiet and had somewhat of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KineticCoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location. Our central location in Kailua Kona is a big plus for our guests because dining, shopping and sightseeing are all within walking distance. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,822 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing