We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The snorkeling is great right outside to the right of the pier. We have never seen so many baby fish! Fabulous! The gym is great and laundry facilities clean, close to the harbor for diving! Really just perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachgirl9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. It’s great to hear from our guests and learn that our location, amenities and accommodations fully met their needs. We’re delighted that you had such a nice stay and look forward to your next visit. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,232 - 1,238 of 3,076 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We only had two days in Kona mid-July, and it was one of the best places ever! LOVED the hotel, it has a great location to walking to stores and restaurants. Good, comfortable room, wth views of the ocean. The beach bar and pool can't be beat! We had fabulous service at the bar each time we were there. The first night a customer had an issue and was very rude and critical, but the bartender and waitress were so patient with him and very kind while he was being difficult.

The only negative, and this is not the hotel's fault, is the construction work along the pier. It is very dirty, noisy and difficult to move around to wait for your boat if you book a water trip. There is very little beach, but this is true for most of the Big Island. But what they have is very nice! Great snorkeling!

There is good history there. I loved all of the historical information throughout the lobby areas. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lac0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Aloha,
We also wish you could have stayed a little longer. Thank you for sharing such a lovely review for Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a seamless stay from check in to check out and create an experience for them that forms fond memories. We are thrilled that you had a great time and loved our hotel as well as our pool, poolside bar and the cultural exhibits. Thank you so much for your recommendation; we hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We've stayed at the "KIng Kam" several times over the last 40 years when the property was under various management, and this was the best time ever. Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it all. Large king-sized room (partial ocean view) with rollaway sofa bed was clean and well-equipped. Large lobby museum area provides lots of history about Hawai'i and Hawaiiana. Most of the artwork in this display are vivid works by Her Kane, a celebrated Hawaiian artist, now deceased. Location on its own small swimming beach next to Kailua pier is perfect. Very nice ocean-front pool. Walking distance to several shops and ocean-front restaurants. Only 3 blocks uphill to a couple of shopping centers for more reasonable eats and other necessaries. Gated parking costs $14 per night and is necessary if you have a rental car.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view was worth the higher price to us, compared with no view or mountain (street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for staying with us again and for your wonderful review. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location and the Hawaiian cultural exhibits. We appreciate your compliments for our hotel and grounds. Please visit us again soon it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Love the location in Kona.

We tried once again to stay at the hotel (as I love Marriott hotels and their various brands).

Issue is the bed. BF's back could not take the soft bed that was a bit worn. Glad we booked only one night.

Would I recommend? Yes if location is what you want and comfort is low on the list. In our case, his weak back and his comfort come first amd location second.

Hotel really needs to rethink bed brand if beds currently in rooms are newer. The room we were assigned on the 2nd floor appeared old.

Stayed 1 night 7/18/2014

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank FXDLKM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our location it is definitely disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you in terms of the quality of our beds. We apologize and hope that this did not take away from your overall experience. Thank you for alerting us to your experience, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and exceed all your expectations. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a good hotel with great access to local restaurants and downtown Kona. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The pool and poolside bar are very nice. There is great snorkeling just off the beach from the hotel. if you are willing to snorkel out from the beach, not a long swim, there are often Hawaiian spinner dolphins and sea turtles.

Room Tip: Try to get West tower room in order to have the highest chance of an Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted to learn you had a great time and enjoyed our grounds as well as your accommodations and our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

There's very little beach in Kona, so we were happy to have the little beach here. It's also a great place to try paddle-boarding for the first time since the ocean is protected on 3 sides. We loved the hotel-nice and quiet. Great morning breakfast at Honu's. Nice clean rooms with a great view. Ample parking too. Would definitely recommend. We loved the infinity pool-it was heated so it was a great place to swim in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 13VLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased that we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, pool, beach area, convenient location and dining at Honu’s Restaurant. Your kind review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Ok where do I start. This is my honest observation of the hotel. I wanted to like the place, I really did.

Location-The location of the hotel is terrible. The location seems to be a gathering point for a variety of people-the homeless, drug addicts, and countless low lives who seem to enjoy "hanging out" around the property, all day and night. Hold your wife and children close at night. Trust me there are some real shady people in and around this property. I now have countless memories from our balcony of my wife and I witnessing drug deals going down in real time. Apparently DOG the Bounty Hunter's mantra of "no ice in paradise" has not reached the King Kam Marriot. What a shame, but if you like observing tweekers and the effects of meth on the human body you'll love this place. I would suggest just staying in at night but trust you cant sleep. Booming car stereos and people screaming throughout the night do not make for a peaceful nights sleep. This place feels more like a hostel than a hotel. Can you say "Aloha"??? I can't but I can say "CHeeck Out"

The Luau-Skip the luau. Trust me. Skip the Luau. The workers are beyond rude and have no problem taking your family photo and later saying "20 bucks if you want to keep it". How professional is that? It isn't, like most things here its ridiculous. Don't worry though if you don't attend the luau you will still be able to hear every detail of it from any room on the property. Like I mentioned before, don't plan on sleeping very good here. I would compare the noise level here to Mexico minus the barking dogs and fireworks. The pig was good though.


Breakfast Buffet-If you like your food covered in flies then you will love this place. Seriously, its down right disgusting the amount of flies you'll encounter at the buffet. The view from the restaurant is beautiful but the insect problem is disgusting and inexcusable. The workers "eyesight problems" seem to prevent them from noticing the flies or doing anything about them. Eating here reminds me of eating in a 3rd world country. Word of advice-SKIP the buffet or bring some fly repellent for the pancakes.

Beach-The hotel photos lead one to believe the property contains its own private beach. IT DOES NOT. Most of the beach is being utilized by huge canoes. The beach looks horrible with all the surrounding construction. Good luck rinsing the sand off your body after a day in the sun. The beach showers are located next to a public bathroom that is beyond nasty. The many homeless people in the area use the beach showers to take full blown showers, soap and all. My three year old daughter should not be exposed to this. In all fairness the hotel does seem to provide 1 foot rinsing station. 1 foot rinsing station for the entire hotel is not sufficient. Rinsing off where the homeless shower is not sufficient either.

I will be updating this review when I return home with photos of all the "amenities" listed above.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. You do not want to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Aloha Rob,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Let me assure you that we value you as a guest and are disappointed that your experience was not one to remember.

I would like to apologize for the impression you received from your stay and agree that the incidents you experienced are not how we want to be viewed as a hotel or as a representative of the Courtyard Brand and of Marriot Hotels and Resorts. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to regain your trust in our brand and to exceed all your expectations.

Your patronage is greatly valued and appreciated. We are very much interested to speak to you in person to remedy your concerns for a future visit. At your convenience I would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss your visit with us and to learn more details about your experience and resolve your concerns to your full satisfaction. Please contact me at ndahm@konabeachhotel.com

Mahalo,
Niklas Dahm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,962 reviews
21 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £148 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing