We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The service is outstanding. The room is beautiful they all have balconies. I can see the ocean view the pool and there is an area just for swimming in the ocean. The pool was great and the hot tub was fabulous.
If you are going there it is a must see The Luau the Hawaiian dancers, watching the right way to open a coconut. All you can eat. Taking a pig out of the ground and than serving it. The food is very delicious. Just what a great fun time we had there.
I had no problems bringing my service dog with me.
Kona is a place for all tourist to go.
Courtyard King Kamehameha Kona Beach Hotel is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies. The west side facing the ocean and side views of the luau is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThomasABorawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your kind review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We were so pleased to learn that you had a great stay and enjoyed your accommodations and our oceanfront Luau. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    1,299
    354
    92
    59
See reviews for
774
1,315
153
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel with lots to do right on the beach. Beautiful water in the cove. Snorkelled and hired paddle boards, parasailed and just relaxed. Awesome. Hotel was nice, friendly staff, didn't get a sea view but still nice overlooking the streets watching the action while we chilled with a drink on the balcony. Pillows were too soft for us as were the beds but very clean. Where the ice machine was kept there was a smell of mold every time we walked past so maybe this needs to be remedied but other than that all good. Going to lu'au tonight for our final night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. It is our goal to provide great service to our guests so that they feel welcomed, relaxed and completely cared for. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as spending time at our beach. We hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had no problem checking in early into this hotel and were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a ocean view room.
The room was clean and spacious and comfortable, it also had a balcony. The room had a musty smell to it. The pool facitlites were great and the hotel has a beach just down from the pool area
There are parking facilites and you need to pay a fee of $14 each day you want to park there.
This hotel is close to everything and you can walk into to town for dinner.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theraech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your recent visit to Kona. We’re pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed our pool facilities as well as our convenient location. Thank you very much for your review; we hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I wish I would have never checked in. I stayed in room 606, a suite mind you. The balcony provided the perfect view of filthy beach restrooms and showers. The ocean was there, but it was unfortunately located behind the filthy bathrooms. Needless to say the view was not what I was expecting. Anyone checking in please know that room 606 is a very undesirable room. Anywhere in the East Tower with an ocean view will probably provide you with more road noise then you want. The noise is really bad be it day or night. This hotel does not seem to have rules pertaining to quiet hours or loitering. The hotel pool is clearly a local hangout so don't plan on finding a beach chair or any sort of relaxation there. Marriott should step up and hire a security guard for the pool. It may as well be a local YMCA pool, because everyone and anyone is welcomed. The coffee shop routinely has teenagers sleeping in it. Like I stated above, there is no such thing as loitering on this property. A majority of the employees came across like they really need a vacation break. Either they are burnt out or we caught them on a bad day-7 bad days in row. All in all, if possible I would suggest not staying here. Staying at this hotel negatively affected my families vacation. I feel I should at a minimum inform others. Good luck and travel safe.

Room Tip: Avoid anywhere in the east tower. Lots of early morning construction and teenagers loitering around...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Let me assure you that we value you as a guest and are disappointed that you experience were not one to remember.

I would like to apologize for the impression you received from your stay and agree that the incidents you experienced are not how we want to be viewed as a hotel or as a representative of the Courtyard Brand and of Marriot Hotels and Resorts. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to regain your trust in our brand and to exceed all your expectations.

Your patronage is greatly valued and appreciated. We are very much interested to speak to you in person to remedy your concerns for a future visit. At your convenience I would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss your visit with us and to learn more details about your experience and resolve your concerns to your full satisfaction. Please contact me at ndahm@konabeachhotel.com

Mahalo,

Niklas Dahm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was in the perfect location right on the beach and walking distance from loads of great bars and restaurants.
Rooms were a good size and well equipped, very clean and staff were very helpful. The decor is a bit dated but to be honest you don't go to Hawaii to sit in your hotel! We only really slept there and used the beach and pool.
Save money on parking, there is a free car park around the corner, which the hotel told us about!

Room Tip: We had a cheap room overlooking the tennis courts which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaynor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location. Our central location is a big plus for our guests because dining, shopping and ocean activities are all within walking distance. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The snorkeling is great right outside to the right of the pier. We have never seen so many baby fish! Fabulous! The gym is great and laundry facilities clean, close to the harbor for diving! Really just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgirl9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. It’s great to hear from our guests and learn that our location, amenities and accommodations fully met their needs. We’re delighted that you had such a nice stay and look forward to your next visit. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We only had two days in Kona mid-July, and it was one of the best places ever! LOVED the hotel, it has a great location to walking to stores and restaurants. Good, comfortable room, wth views of the ocean. The beach bar and pool can't be beat! We had fabulous service at the bar each time we were there. The first night a customer had an issue and was very rude and critical, but the bartender and waitress were so patient with him and very kind while he was being difficult.

The only negative, and this is not the hotel's fault, is the construction work along the pier. It is very dirty, noisy and difficult to move around to wait for your boat if you book a water trip. There is very little beach, but this is true for most of the Big Island. But what they have is very nice! Great snorkeling!

There is good history there. I loved all of the historical information throughout the lobby areas. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lac0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Aloha,
We also wish you could have stayed a little longer. Thank you for sharing such a lovely review for Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a seamless stay from check in to check out and create an experience for them that forms fond memories. We are thrilled that you had a great time and loved our hotel as well as our pool, poolside bar and the cultural exhibits. Thank you so much for your recommendation; we hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing