We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Reef Resort(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$262
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohi'a Park Estate(Kailua-Kona)
US$452
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$925
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,231)
Filter reviews
3,231 results
Traveller rating
1,184
1,432
415
116
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,184
1,432
415
116
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabc storewest towersmall beachthe big islandhawaiian historywithin walking distancepartial ocean viewisland breezecoffee shoppaddle boardsshops and restaurantspool barhotel is in a great locationloved this hotelbreakfast buffetocean frontali'i drive
Filter
Updating list...
1,348 - 1,353 of 3,231 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Good 3 star hotel in perfect location. Nice room with partial Oceanview. Parking just 14 bucks/night. Pool and beach OK. No ressort fee. A lot of restaurants and shopping possibilities just around the corner.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bernie_P82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including our convenient location, accommodations and amenities. Should you find yourself returning to Kona, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Location is absolutely superb
Just stayed for four nights. Took some excellent advice and booked an oceanfront room, WEST WING 5th floor. Yes, East wing too noisy, and need to be 4th to 6th floor to get away from noise. If not oceanfront, avoid the ice machine and the elevators.
Reception - quite good, we got the guy who didn't want to be there, others were great.
Beds - very good
Showers - good
Room in general - very good
The adjacent beach - does function well as a small beach, outriggers train from their early morning, absolutely beautiful large manicured grassed area to laze on
Pool - can be idyllic, well designed and good bar/food. Come Friday afternoon all went wrong - was as though hotel was filling up unsold rooms to locals at budget rates and they came to party, pool busy and rowdy and went from tranquil and quite unpleasant.
Eating out - sushi night here very good, lots of good eating nearby
Heat - suggest get up before 6am, walk the street, go for a swim, retire and relax 12 to 3. Evenings around town are vey pleasant, everything closes quite early.
Parking - $14/night. Ask reception, free reasonably safe parking nearby.
Some good shops in lobby
ABC store onsite is excellent for light meals, drinks, gifts

Room Tip: Took some excellent advice and booked an oceanfront room, WEST WING 5th floor. Yes, East wing too noisy, and need to be 4th to 6th floor to get away from noise. If not oceanfront, avoid the ice machine and the elevators.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DavidMallowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you so much for providing such a detailed review of your stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We love gaining valuable insight into our guest’s experience through their reviews. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our beach area and our convenient location. Your positive feedback for our hotel is greatly appreciated. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It was a last minute decision to extend our stay, and we are very glad we did. The hotel staff that greeted us was extremely pleasant and the check-in process was smooth and quick. The rooms were comfortable - beds, linens, ...

You are located on the ocean in a protected area so it was easy for children and parents to enjoy themselves. First time snorkeling for the children was made easy due to this. There are water sporting equipment near by for rent, if you wanted. Otherwise you could float and enjoy the ocean.

Being right in town, the location is prime. I would recommend this to any one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location, lovely beach area in addition to the friendliness of our staff. We appreciate your compliments for our hotel and staff. Please visit us again soon it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. The location is superb, as are the facilities. The front desk staff are a credit to the hotel. They are so helpful and welcoming. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt310371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you very much for the great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your stay as well as the friendliness of our staff and our convenient location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having come from the excellent Outrigger Napili Shores condo resort in neighbouring Maui (see my review for this), frankly I was a bit reluctant to be staying at a proper hotel again. Thankfully this hotel proved to be a good choice, and a comfortable stay.

Located in Kailua-Kona, it was easy enough to find from the airport, and has plenty located around it, from the shops and decent cafes/restaurants along Ali'i Drive, to your larger stores located just of the highway. Plenty of parking, of which there should be due to the pricey parking charges (my only real grumble about the place).

The room itself was a decent size, very clean, with decent amenities (air-con, large comfy bed, LCD TV, good shower). The 'partial sea view' tag it had was a bit of a joke, in that if you turned your head you could see a bit of the bay brushing up against a concrete wall. But, it was true to an extent. Other rooms were a lot better for this, but probably a lot more expensive. Still, it was quiet, and it suited us.

The hotel itself is a large complex, and has a fair bit on site. There is a small shopping arcade containing an ABC stores mini-mart which was very useful for picking up snacks, drinks etc (at regular prices too, not inflated hotel ones). There is also a little museum/art gallery dedicated to the King himself to whom this hotel is named after, that is worth a look. The gym looked decent, and the pool area and bar is good, although the pool can get run amok with kids sometimes constantly jumping in, despite there being a cosy seating area, so be warned. The little beach area I thought was only so-so, especially as one side of it was cordoned off whist construction work was going on, making it not appear to be very attractive. However the hotel makes the most of what access it has, as sand is clean, and the water is calm enough to swim in, unlike some of the other shoreline access around Kailua. Just don't go expecting a proper beach resort.

As for the restaurants on site, we didn't really try any of them with the exception of the pool bar and grill. The breakfast restaurant appeared deserted for the most part, but with decent places to eat only 5-10 minutes walk away (a few being just on the opposite side of the hotel), and even a good coffee shop within the hotel plaza, you won't feel restricted by what the hotel offers. As mentioned the poolside bar and grill is well worth a visit. They make some very good cocktails (go for the 'Kona Itch'!) and the bar food is of surprisingly good fare. The staff around the hotel are generally friendly and helpful too.

Overall I enjoyed my stay here, and wouldn't have any issues returning. Just wished they wouldn't charge so much for parking.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 99_redball00ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel during vacation in Hawaii. We are pleased that we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, pool bar, convenient location and also the friendly service provided by our staff. Your kind review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews