We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like the facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Having stayed at this hotel prior to its renovations, I have to say, what an improvement! The rooms are nice and clean and nice flat screen TV, and I LOVED the complimentary WiFi. It was a short trip for my friend and I, but we were happy with our room and we did use the pool, which they nicely made into an Infinity pool with a nice little jacuzzi. I have to say that I was not too pleased with the towel policy. You only get one set of towels per person per day, if you request extra towels, you get charged $5. There's no poolside towel service, just two thin small green towels that they put in your room to take wtih you to the pool....so a word of advice, if you plan on swimming, bring your own beach towel. The staff was not rude, but not overly friendly, they did not impress me. The hotel is in a really great location with lots of great eating places and shopping nearby. Overall, it was a good hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hapunagirlpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

Thank you for your return stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are glad that you are happy with our improvements and also the new amenities such as our flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI, and our new infinity pool. We love to hear when guest appreciate our great location, cleanliness of our rooms, and great service that we provide. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,491 - 2,497 of 3,057 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

The hotel was recently renovated so everything still smells like new. The location is great, right on the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and shops.
A couple of notes: parking is $10 per day and wifi (free) is very slow.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leo_aqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your great comments about our newly renovated hotel. We are happy to hear that our location was convenient for you. Thank you again and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My wife and I are both doctors and need to travel throughout the U.S. quite often; however, this visit was partially business and mostly pleasure as we brought our 2 year old son with us. The rooms are very spacious and clean with all the proper amenities. The air conditioning was very comfortable, as this could be a major problem in Hawaii. We did not eat at the buffet on-site, but I heard it is very scrumptious. There is a nice pool and hot tub, which we enjoyed and a bar near the pool, which is a nice place to relax.
We actually had to cut our reservations early and the Hotel Manager was extremely accomodating, we were so grateful for his hospitality!!! The front desk staff was also very friendly and accomodating. I would definitely return to this hotel for an extended vacation again!! and highly recommend this hotel to anyone, whether you are a newlywed, retired couple celebrating your 20th, or for families, they are accomodating to all.
This is off the topic, but if you are in the Kona Area our two favorite places to eat are Original Thai and the Fish Hopper, these areas are within walking distance to this hotel and are very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRGMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We love to hear that our guests appreciate our newly renovated rooms with all new amenities. It was nice to hear that you had a relaxing time at our pool and hot tub. Thank you for your kind words regarding our very friendly and accomodating staff. We look forward on your next stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I recently stayed that the Kind Kamehameha's Hotel in Kona during our honeymoon in June 2010. It's in a really great location, you can easily walk to local shops, restaurants and most importantly the beaches.
This hotel was renovated in 2010 so everything is brand new. I LOVED that it felt so clean and modern, like we were the first to stay in that room. Comfy beds, great bathroom, flat screen TV and it was quiet. Their pool and bar area were also really fantastic, lots of space.
From the outside the building still looks a little dated, but every inch of the place is brand new inside. They also have a great Luau by the beach.
Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sknegrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

We are pleased to hear the you enjoyed your recent stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your accomodations during your honeymoon in Hawaii. We appreciate your comments regarding our great location, brand new rooms featuring comfortable new beds, flat screen TV, new bathrooms, and renovated pool and bar area. We thank you again and hope that you visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We met up with some close family and extended family for a wonderful 10 day stay at
the King Kam the first part of May (2010). The rooms were beautifully remodeled with upscale tile and vanities in the bathrooms and large flat-screen tvs and a loveseat in our King room. We had a fabulous view of Kailua bay and slept soundly every night, it was so quiet and peaceful.
The staff was great and very accomodating, and we spent lots of time at the beautiful pool/spa area and took advantage of the Happy Hour deals many times during our stay.(huge, tasty portions of fish and chips for less than $5!! - how can you go wrong?)
We were only steps from Kailua Bay where we snorkeled, kayaked, swam and watched
dolphins every morning (the dolphins came in the evenings some days as well). The hotel is only a short walk to lots of shopping and other restaurants. We also attended the Luau one night and it was great! Fabulous food, bountiful drinks and wonderful classic Hawaiian entertainment.
The downstairs area of the hotel was still under renovation, and so we had to walk
around workers occasionally, but they were very polite about it. This was the ONLY,
very small, downside to a very memorable trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

We would like to thank your for taking the time to share your comments about your wonderful 10 day stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are happy to see that the vast majority of our guests realize, enjoy and appreciate the overall value and great service we offer. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our luau show along with our Happy Hour specials at our Billfish Bar. You will be pleased to know that we have completed renovating our main lobby and mall area. We will now start to fill our shopping mall with new retails stores to better serve our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Travelled over 14 hours from Australia for a family reunion to unknown location,not knowing what to expect.I have travelled throughout the World and this vacation was one of the best.A beautiful large room with great views ,friendly courteous staff,lovely pool,and lots of great restaurants,and shops etc all within a short walking distance.I reccomend this Hotel and location to all age groups. Peter Fluin,Adelaide South Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluinsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

Thank you for your recent stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great vacation here with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly courteous staff, large room, lovely pool, and our great location. Thank you for your recommendations and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My family of six-my husband, myself, our 3 children and grandma- stayed at The King Kam (as locals like to call it) during Memorial Day weekend. My oldest son had a baseball tournament right down the street about 5 minutes away. Since there were 6 of us we booked 2 rooms. Originally the team wanted to stay in condos w/ kitchenettes (hoping to cook meals and save money) but one of the moms insisted on staying at The King Kam. The location of this hotel is excellent-near shopping malls and eateries, ranging from fast food drive thrus to fancier restaurants and diners in-between the cost range so saving money on food was not a problem. There was definitely a variety of food offered in the area. Also renting a car is no problem, as well as coming and going, since there is ample parking at this hotel.

When I first walked into the lobby it smelled so clean and fresh like walking into a new model home. The hotel is still undergoing renovations but that didn't bother us. The whole hotel was CLEAN. The renovated rooms although average size, were bright and clean. The pool isn't that big but my kids didn't care, they had fun just getting wet. Also the hotel is on the beach. Elevators were fast. Now from the time reservations were made until we finally checked out the STAFF, omg, they are the absolute FRIENDLIEST-true ALOHA.

MAHALO King Kamehameha Kona Beach Hotel, need I say more?

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohafromKapolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. It’s always nice to receive positive comments. Also pleased to hear that our staff was very friendly and courteous. Our hotel is focusing on making our guests feel as warm, comfortable, and connected with us, and we are showing with your great feedback. We like to hear when guests appreciate the location of our hotel, the cleanliness of our rooms, and the great service that we provide. We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,221 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,941 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £141 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing