We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met expectations but experienced problems with refundable deposit”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Kona Dave's also called Andrees Kona Reef Unit C 23 on Jan 27 thru Feb. 8, 2014. Unit was in a great location and met most of our expectations.
However, our biggest problem was getting Dave to refund our Refundable Deposit.
After much aggravation, excuses and unreturned calls, we filed a dispute with our credit card company and PayPal. It has been 3 months and we finally received our deposit due to the efforts of our credit card company/PayPal. This seems to be an ongoing problem with Unit C-23.

Room Tip: This unit is not full ocean front but has a nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Iluv2travel1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

A one bedroom condo with all the amenities you need to keep you sane in Hawaii. Clean, updated condos with great kitchens. Not too huge of a place, but this is Hawaii. You're not there to stay in your room. We had an ocean view condo on the third floor, which fit four of us quite nicely. The pool area is small but cozy and the beach, which you can't swim directly off of it, is a great place to find crabs, shells, rocks and to take in a gorgeous sunset. This property is within walking distance of Kona, as it's right on Ali'i drive I definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a quite place to call your own after long days of playing on the island!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glamazon1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear you would recommend other travelers to our property. We do love that we have a prime location being in walking distance to our Kailua Kona town.

Mahalo again & Thank you for choosing to stay with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We utilized Kona Reef Resort as an interim stay between our flight arrival and week long vacation rental. We would have gladly stayed longer with the room we had been given (A14 was great - updated and great mattress).

We were a quick walk away from the supper and breakfast locations and the farmers market.

Room Tip: A14 was great and no experience with the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review! I agree A14 is a nicely updated unit and spectacular ocean front view. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to Castle Resorts & Hotels Kona Reef property.

Mahalo Nui Loa!
Imi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked a condo at Kona Reef through VRBO for one week from March 29th to April 5th. Our condo was a one bedroom unit on the ground floor right on the ocean (unit A5). The water was literally 10 yards from our lanai. Morning coffee and evening sunsets on the lanai were highlights of our vacation. The unit we stayed is was very well equipped and very comfortable. All appliances were first rate and the unit was well provided with all the dishes and utensils you could want. A washer and dryer were included. Unit had a wide screen TV and free Wifi. The king size bed was very comfortable. Obviously other units may not be as nicely equipped so do your homework. The units seem to be very well insulated as we heard nothing from any of the other units. The location is great with an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. Kona Reef provides maid and linen service if you want it for an extra cost or you can do-it-yourself. There is plenty of covered parking. One somewhat misleading item in this entry is the word "Resort". This is a very nice, well-maintained condo unit and includes a pool, hot tub, and barbeque area, all of which we used several times. It does not have restaurants, shops, a concierge or similar amenities that some might assume would be present based on the work "Resort". This is not a criticism. It had exactly what we wanted and was as advertised by the owners. I just point it out since the TripAdvisor entry calls it a resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for your review. I will share this with the owner of A05.

Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Kona Reef. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

As I turned 50 on the island of Oahu, this Hawaiian vacation continued with a seven day stay on the Big Island. The Kona Reef Resort came to me as a timeshare exchange through Interval International. The place seems to be a well-kept secret, as the entrance does not scream at you when pulling up off Ali'i Drive. Check-in was smooth, and I was booked into Room B-11, which is a one bedroom suite. The furniture was in excellent condition, and the kitchen was complete with all of the necessities of home. The walls were bright, pineapple colored, and the tropical art was well spaced along the rooms. The bedroom was good-sized, and the bathroom was immaculate, equipped with great towels, linens, and complimentary shampoo and lotion kits. This suite also featured a combination washer/dryer unit. There was an elegant dining room, fully set and ready in case I wanted to entertain guests. The property boasts an oceanfront view, a neatly kept pool and cooking area, and the whole area was well-landscaped. This is a pleasant and relaxing resort, as everything was maintained very well. Plenty of parking for those who rented cars, including myself. When vacationing on the Big Island, renting a car is necessary to go sight-seeing on this most unique and enchanting place on the Hawaiian chain. Service was professional and thorough, and the place always had that nice fragrance of the ocean, especially when the sunsets began to emerge. If you find yourself here at the Kona Reef Resort, you will not want for much. The property is spacious enough, and quite appealing to nature lovers. It has everything you need for a comfortable and pleasant Hawaiian vacation. I vacationed here from August 4th to August 11th, of 2012. My room, B-11, featured a view of the ocean, beach, and many palm trees.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this from trip adviser reviews. Great place to stay. Ocean view. Very comfy. Nice to sit by the pool and watch the ocean. The orientation morning with breakfast was a nice welcoming touch. The rooms have everything you need including a washer and dryer. Great family place

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the tail end of our trip. It's in a great location within walking distance of shopping and restaurants on Ali'i Drive. We booked privately through VRBO and had a great experience with the owners. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Some of the units only have a partial ocean view. If that is important to you try to book a unit clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pggurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £127 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing