We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kona Reef Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Village Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
228
206
83
38
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
206
83
38
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomocean frontpublic parkbuilding bpool areathrough vrbowasher and dryerboogie boardersthe big islandthe ground floorbbq areashort walkfull kitchenhot tubcorner unitevery morningbeach chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just Spent 1 Week Here And Enjoyed Our Stay. Were On 3rd Floor Overlooking Pool And Great View Of Ocean. Appt Had All That Was Needed. Shopping At Safeway Was Ideal To Stock Up For The Week. Pool Area Very Clean Although I Was Dissapointed To See Some Guests Not abiding By The Rules. Even Witnessed A Person Washing His Tennis Shoes In The Spa.The Employees Spend A Lot Of Time Cleaning The Area Each Morning. The BBQ's Are Very Handy . Front Of Resort Not Recommended For Swimming But Great For Exploring Rock Pools. Deck Lounges Also On Grass In Front Of Pool. Concierge Service Very Helpful. Booked A snorkeling Tour Thru Them Which Was Great. The Appt Has Dishwashing Supplies And Was Serviced once during The Week. Parking Was Not An Issue. 5 Minute Walk To Shops And Restaurants. All In All A Good Choice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Flybuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Aloha! Thank you for your review. Our home owners association takes great care of the pool area & grounds and I will definitely share this with them.

Mahalo Nui Loa!
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My son and his bride stayed in D17 and loved it. Incredible oceanfront view and a unit that was beautifully decorated. The managers were extremely responsive. The only negative I would say is that it is supposed to sleep four, but we couldn't figure that one out. Also the place was really not large enough to accommodate more than two adults and perhaps a small child. The Kona Reef property is wonderfully maintained; the barbecues were absolutely spotless. Easy walk into Kailua. Would be delighted to return.

Room Tip: Couples would find D17 the perfect spot for a romantic vacation.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtngranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This unit is only fifty feet from the waters edge and provides a beautiful view of the ocean and the Kailua shore, including all the surfer and boating activity and wonderful sunsets. The condo is nicely furnished with some interesting art work. All the typical amenities were provided. It had a fully equipped kitchen, small but very functional. The bedroom was also small but had very comfortable bedding. Unfortunately, the A/C in the bedroom was while functional and needed it was also very noisy. The bathroom is also small but functional - shower with no tub.

One slight drawback is that the only natural light source for the unit is through the lanai. But the real attraction is the lanai itself along with the Pacific view and the sound of waves breaking on the reef. The pool area was nice but usually very crowded. Another selling point for us was the close walking distance of the restaurants and shops of Kailua-Kona. The wifi worked well which is not always a sure thing. This is a very good selection for couples.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the pool with indirect/partial views of the ocean while others such as D 17 have a full-on view of the ocean. I would avoid ground level units. D 17 is on the second floor. The building does have an elevator if you need it but it is not close to unit D 17.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Kona Reef for 3 nights during the Memorial Day weekend in a 2 bedroom suite (A37). The view was magnificent, the rooms were comfortable, and the wi-fi was excellent. On the first night, we utilized the pool area along with several other families. At 6:30 p.m., we were confronted by the few residents who permanently reside at this condominium resort about the noise, even though the posted quiet hours start at 10 p.m. We respected the quiet hours and no one in the pool area was obnoxious, fighting, or rowdy. On the second night, we were again confronted about the noise and treated very rudely by the residents. The kids who were utilizing the pool were not making excessive noise. However, the residents responded by shutting down the pool, by placing cable ties on the gates for the remainder of our stay. This incident was disappointing and we do not plan to stay at this resort again. We highly recommend that if you have children or travel with other families that you look for other accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank renaka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonaReefCondoOwner, Owner at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

The Kona Reef welcomes well-behaved children who are being supervised by an adult. We don't know if you were part of the very large group that booked a number of condos over Memorial Day weekend. Dozens of screaming children in the pool and hot tub (which is supposed to be only for those over age 12), and adults partying loudly in the barbecue area is the opposite of what most guests want when they book a vacation at the Kona Reef. This group made it impossible for other guests and for owners to enjoy the complex's amenities and, in the course of the partying, glass (which isn't allowed in the pool area) got broken so the pool had to be drained and the entire area closed to everyone for the remainder of the weekend. For these reasons, parties of this kind won't be tolerated at the Kona Reef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in unit A33 which we booked through Sunquest Vacations. We have booked through Sunquest before and they are great to work with. We have booked the same unit for next year. We have stayed at Kona Reef before, different unit. This is an old property but the location is great. Unit are individually owned, some owners take better care of their unit. In our case, the unit had been updated but not well cared for. It needed a very good cleaning. But the location is great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HopperRocklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews