We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Check-in was easy. I verified check-in procedures in advance, because we arrived after office hours. There is a conveniently placed telephone directly outside the facility office, and you need only give your confirmation number to receive the lock-box combo.

The condo was like a fully furnished apartment, and our unit had a patio that looked directly out to the pool and the ocean. We bought groceries and cooked our freshly caught fish at the community grill down by the pool. Might be a good idea to pack condiments, foil and the like, because groceries were expensive.

Downtown Kona is in walking distance from the unit, so we used our rental car to drive around the island, and walked to town. Favorite restaurant was Humpys--upper balcony, oceanside, where an appetizer of Calamari and a Margarita was a full meal in itself!

Only item that should be clarified better was the "sleeper sofa," which we mistakenly assumed to be a hide-a-bed. It wasn't. By accident we discovered the blow-up air mattress in the closet. In fairness, the unit's countertop paperwork did explain the air mattress--but who reads all that stuff immediately after checking in following a long flight?

All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Kona!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    200
    83
    36
    35
See reviews for
148
309
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I loved staying here, these are little apartment where you feel like home. And since I am a vegetarian I could cook at the room and carry it .The beach was right in front of our room and its very quiet. The location is great as it central to the city. but its far from attractions like Mauna kea, vaipio valley etc, There was a farmer market at the weekend which is very close to the place. I like the pool and restaurant too. Also there is a cute and cool coffe shop few houses away . That is a must do !

Room Tip: take rooms facing the ocean and a kitchen !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARUSHI11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Aloha!

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay on Hawaii Island at Kona Reef. We hope to see you soon.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us.

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede, Nederland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Great location with ocean view (room B34) and walking distance to lots of restaurants.

Nice pool, with enough beds around it. The jacuzzi is a bit too hot, so nobody seems to use that. Pitty. Four BBQ's are free to use.

Apartments are spacious though simple. Not completely fresh and clean (we've had 2 cockroaches visiting).

Unfortunately the owners are trying to make money on everything. You only get 2 sets of towels, regardless of the length of your stay. We firstly stayed for one night. That's cool then. But on our second stay (a week later) we spent 4 nights, so some clean towels would have been nice. You have to pay $10 for new towels. Same thing goes for washing powder (there is a machine in the apartment), also limited to one per stay..

In addition to that you have to pay $10 per day for utilities.. That includes power and wifi, but why isn't that included in the price. I hate these surprises.

Since we were flying out late in the evening I inquired about late checkout. If you want any time after 3pm you have to pay an entire extra night. Since we were aiming at a 5pm leave, that would have been quite an hourly rate...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RuudKok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in unit D4 the week of 4th of July. The unit was clean and in good condition. The frame for the sleeper sofa was bent, but an air mattress was supplied and quickly remedied the situation (new sofa was on order). The complex is a 10-15 minute walk from downtown. We awoke each morning to the sound of pounding surf. Tough to beat the view when enjoying a cup of Kona coffee. The staff responded immediately and pleasantly to all requests. We rented this unit through Raintree and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuna, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and son and I stayed at Kona Reef A7 in June 2014. This ground floor, ocean view, corner unit was amazing and it was perfect for us! We stayed our first 5 nights here and then moved on to VNP and then to Hilo. In hindsight, we wish we had more time in Kailua-Kona and at the Kona Reef. My one and only complaint (which I'll get out of the way right now) was that it was a bit confusing getting to our room when we first arrived. Our flight got in at about 9:30pm, so I think it was 10 or 10:30 by the time we got to the condo. With no front desk at night and not being familiar with the property, it took us a little while to figure out how to get to our room. Anyway, that's the only complaint. Everything else was perfect. Them room was great. Two huge sliders that open right on to the ocean! Every morning and every evening we spent relaxing on the lanai or checking out the resident sea turtle that visited us every morning. Ground floor was nice, not having to climb down stairs to go out to the ocean or go to the pool. My 10 year old son loved everything about this place. The one bedroom condo has a couch that makes into a bed, and that was his domain every morning and evening. There is a closet full of boogie boards, etc, which we made good use of. I read some warnings about the fact that these condos only have one ac unit and no ac in the bedrooms. This was fine for us. The ceiling fan in the bedroom was perfectly adequate and although the window opens onto the pool area, we really didn't have any problems with noise. Back to the ocean view! That's what we loved most about this place. Watching all the ocean activity... surfers and boogie boarders right in front of us... parasailers, etc. The owners also seemed great. We considered staying another night, so I called to see if the condo was available for one more night. Owners were friendly and said that it was available for another night. We wound up not taking advantage as it didn't work with our next stop. Anyway, this was our home base for 5 of our 9 days on the Big Island, and it felt like our home! We plan to come back to the BI and when we do we hope to stay at our Kona Reef A-7 again!

Room Tip: Go for ground floor corner unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in this condominium resort in April 2014 when we met up with friends to go diving. We spent 10 days and really liked the location. It was much quicker to walk into town than get in the car and try to park in town. We didn't realize how close it was and loved that. This particular unit is a ground floor corner 2 bedroom. The entire back wall facing the ocean are floor to ceiling windows and sliding glass door and the side also has large windows so the views are some of the best you will get. The unit was furnished by the owners and it was much like staying in your own home, maybe better. Good clean attractive furniture, great stoneware, pots, pans, you name it. They have everything you need even down to a cute little sign on the dishwasher signifying "clean or dirty". Check in before you go to the grocery store to see what is there in the way of spices and such because it was already stocked or left by the previous guests when we got there. We liked the ground floor to make it easier to manage bringing our dive gear back and forth. Parking was good, security was good. On our second day the airconditioner went out and we got an immediate response from the owner, the property manager and the maintenance staff. The owner authorized them to go replace it and get installed that day and then since he was in town came by to check personally. That attention right there indicates these folks are going to take care of the business of making sure you are in one of the best places on the Kona shore. There is only one thing to bring up just in case it is an issue, and it is kind of standard for the units here: there is only one airconditioner and that is in the living room so the bedrooms do not cool off too well because it is just too much floor space for one unit. But they cheerfully brought us fans. It did not make that much difference to us because there were too many good things about the place. You need to consider this place if going to Kona. Aloha and Mahalo to the owners of D8 and the staff of Kona Reef.

Room Tip: Corners have the best view. D building easiest access to town. Do your homework, some are simple t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We wanted something more of a private condo type and thus chose this place. The kitchen is fully equipped. Again, a smoke free resort and the best part of it was,it had a private beach of its own! So if you want to go for a dip/sit by the ocean with your morning coffee or chill out with a couple of beer,this is the place! The view from the balcony was amazing (ocean front) and we slept everyday hearing the waves..Therez nothing more peaceful than that!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view condo. U wouldn't feel like getting up from ur balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amritamkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Mahalo for your review and thank you for choosing to stay here at the Kona Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,860 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.7 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Property: Kona Reef Resort
Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing