We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms may have been remodeled but service and amenities are non existent”
Review of Hotel Posejdon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Posejdon
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vela Luka
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Rooms really good and very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the place had no heart. The reception staff unfriendly and unhelpful. This is not a cheap hotel so would expect some services...it has none, no room service, no laundry, no free wireless for laptops. This place is out of the way and beach access
Is into a busy less than pristine harbour. They would have been better spending $$ on culture, service than rooms...really disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikey196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst diving with Croatia Divers (just next door), well located if you are diving, badly located if you want to visit Vela Luka as it is across the bay (water taxi or 20 min walk). The hotel is very clean and the beds and bedding very comfortable. The view from the room was lovely, although there is a bar at the bottom of the hotel that plays music into the early hours (can be heard through the closed door). The shower was powerful, but hand held as there was no higher wall attachment, so not great.
The staff were mostly friendly but their English wasn't great.
All this however pales into insignificance when compared to the food. Honestly some of the worst that I have ever eaten/looked at. Big silver trays of mass produced slop. Breakfast was bearable, the other meals were truly awful. We tried each meal once, then ate out across the bay.
In summary, good hotel, just don't eat there!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tor486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Lovely hotel; rooms nicely renovated - hotel photos are spot on for what you get. Free internet access, air con, fantastic water pressure in the showers! and a great view out over the bay to wake up to in the morning.

Service was excellent, staff were very helpful and very pleasant to deal with. We arrived after midnight and they had a very nice cold buffet waiting for us. During our stay, my daughter needed a dentist and they rang and arranged an appointment for her there and then.

We were diving with Croatia Divers (see separate review) and as this hotel is right next door it was perfect for what we wanted.

We took the full board option which gave us lunch as well as local wines/beers and soft drinks. Normally I don't do the fully catered thing on holiday but as we were taking a PADI course at the dive centre, the 12 hour days meant we had little time or energy to worry about going out for meals. So from that point of view it worked very well for us.

Food was pretty much what I expected, no major surprises really; the different types of bread were lovely, salads were good, coffee in the dining room was awful! But you can get really nice coffee in the bar, so that was ok!

The clientele seems to be either younger familes or older couples. The hotel has direct access to the pebble beach and it's very popular with locals also There's also a very handy water taxi for only 4 Kuna which runs every 30 mins if you don't fancy the walk around the bay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CillDroichid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

HI,
I have been going diving in Korcula every summer for 3 years now. The hotel was under renovation for a long time and last August I decided to try it out and stayed there for 5 nights instead of my usual private accommodation.

The rooms are nice (especially if you have one with a great view over the town harbor), the AC is good and the service was good as well. Nothing like in the old days :)

There is no pool, but the hotel is on the beach with 15m to water from the terrace.

I had half board and both the breakfast and buffet dinner were good with plenty of choices. Order your coffee from the bar, though :) Plus: They had ice cream every night :)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumijari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

To start, this place looks fantastic; the entire hotel is gorgeous. The beds were very comfortable and both the room and the bathroom were impeccably clean. Certainly no complaints as far as our room was concerned, but the service at this hotel is the absolute pits. We arrived in the afternoon without a reservation and we waited at the front desk almost 45 minutes before anyone showed up to help us. When, finally, somebody arrived, she couldn't speak English very well and she was incredibly rude. Once we got checked in, things were a bit better. We had a great view of the harbor and Vela Luka (the hotel is not located right in town, but rather across the harbor...but it's only a 10 min walk) Directly behind the hotel is a terrific pebble beach that turned out to be a superb spot for swimming. The village looked even more beautiful from the water than it did from our hotel window. Our evening was wonderful, but once the morning came we got another taste of the terrible service. Whatever you do while visiting the Hotel Poseidon...PLEASE, avoid the buffet breakfast. It was, BY FAR, the worst food I have ever eaten. There was a wide assortment of dishes (multiple types of scrambled eggs, several varieties of sausage, toast, cereal, fruit)...and EVERYTHING was awful!!! The scrambled eggs tasted like wallpaper paste, the sausages were cold and undercooked, the cereal was stale, even the TEA was bad. While we had a nice swim and a great sleep, I cannot in good conscience recommend this hotel to anyone. Try to find something else!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karlburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We have stayed at Posejdon and the hotel is nice and totally renovated. The bad reviews from the past should be deleted as that was with different owners as I believe and have experienced . Good job Croatia divers for persuading us to stay at Posejdon. We had a good time !!! Jolene, Mike, josh and Sara

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dpa99c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

This hotel is just HORRIBLE. You must never stay in this hotel. We were supposed to stay there for one week but after 4 nights I just had to run. We had booked an apartment with see view. This apartment was very outdated and dirty. But this was not the worst problem, when we came out to the balcony four rats where staring at us. We tried to chase them away but they were clearly used to people and wanted the apartment for them selves. We complained in the reception. They told us that they never had received a complaint for this apartment before. But we had photo evidence. (To complain is not easy since almost no one working at the hotel knows English or German language) We finally got a room at the hotel, it was no rats and the room was ok.

The service at this hotel is actually the worst I have ever experienced. It was so bad that we just had to laugh in the end. One particular episode captures this well: In the evening around 2300 we went out of bottle water and went down to the bar/reception and wanted to buy a new one. The bar man was standing in front of the fridge and just told us that they were closed. No chance of getting water from a bottle but he offered us a glass of tap water. We asked him nicely if we please could by a bottle of water we could even pay triple price. But no he just almost screamed CLOSED! The water was just 10 cm behind him. I was furious.

The breakfast was also a nightmare. I have no words. I actually got sick during my stay at poison hotel. I don’t know if it was the rats or the breakfast….

We also had to pay extra money for the “update” from apartment to hotel room.

So my advice to you is NEVER STAY AT HOTEL POSEJDON!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank AggiNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vela Luka
0.2 mi away
Hotel Korkyra
Hotel Korkyra
#1 of 7 in Vela Luka
235 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Liburna
Hotel Liburna
#2 of 30 in Korcula Island
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#6 of 7 in Vela Luka
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Aminess Lume Hotel
Aminess Lume Hotel
#1 of 1 in Smokvica
184 reviews
21.9 mi away
Port 9 Hotel
Port 9 Hotel
#3 of 3 in Korcula Town
123 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Priscapac Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posejdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posejdon

Address: Vranac bb, Vela Luka, Korcula Island 20270, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Vela Luka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vela Luka
Price Range: £59 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posejdon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Posejdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Vela Luka
Hotel Posejdon Croatia/Vela Luka, Korcula Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing