We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”
Review of Alaska Base Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska Base Camp
Ranked #23 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Reviewed 19 September 2013

By far the best place we stayed our entire honeymoon! From the second we arrived we felt very welcomed. George had greeted us in the rain, and showed us the place. It was better than the pictures. The view was stunning, and the yurt is done very nicely inside. You can tell a lot of work went into it. He left us with a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of wine, which was truly over the top, we will never forget that! If you are considering staying here, absolutely do it, you won't be dissapointed. The view alone is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meggoMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Incomparable! Easily one of the most memorable places I've stayed. The view of the water off the back deck was stunning; the owner (George) was welcoming, knowledeagble, and attentive; and the yurt was cozy, comfy, and well stocked with kitchen and bathroom supplies. Can't wait to come back next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amalthea1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was really lucky to find this place. At first, it looks like a humble yurt. But when you come inside of the yurt, everything is perfect. Its comfort, convenience, view are comparable to those of five star hotels. It has kitchenette and BBQ grill, so we could make our own salmon and halibut BBQ - it was excellent. A queen bed was comfortable and there was an additional couch bed. In this place, there is only one yurt and the house next to the yurt is the owner's house. So you can enjoy your stay without being disturbed by the others. George, the owner, is really helpful and very generous. He will help you for anything you need.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awesomeradiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was a very cool accommodation, right on the bay with perfect views of the mountains and alpine glaciers. It has a heater for cool nights, and 2 doors for cross ventilation on warmer days, and George, the owner added lots of custom details like an inlayed stone countertop and bathroom floors, and mandatory items like a coffee pot and tea maker. We did not use the barbecue, but we made breakfasts every morning and fixings for lunch. With fresh towels everyday, lots of hot water for showers, it was more like "glamping" instead of a base camp, but it made a great base camp for all the outdoor activities Seward offers, and a great deck overlooking the bay to relax with a glass of wine at the end of the day. We used Liquid Adventures next door for kayaking, and it's a short walk to the beginning of the Caines Head Trailhead, so that leaves driving to a minimum, and it's just a short drive into town to visit the local restaurants or shopping. Sleeping was easy with eye shields for myself, with just the sounds of the eagles right outside the yurt.
Thanks, George, for being so helpful during our visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReenPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

What a find! We LOVED Alaska Base Camp and our wonderful host, George. We had never stayed in a yurt before…and now want to own one. Of course, this particular yurt is very well cared for and it shows. Well kept and lots of great amenities. Very nice and clean appliances (microwave, toaster oven, refrigerator, etc.) This was absolutely the best two nights sleep we got anywhere…very comfortable bed…even with all the light flowing in from the skylight. I did use a mask (but I used one everywhere we stayed in Alaska…were there in June.) I truly can’t say enough good things about this place.

The deck is fabulous and we enjoyed our coffee overlooking Resurrection Bay. We also went tide-pooling one day when the tide was well out a ways. You can walk right on to the beach from the back of the deck.

George was very helpful and directed us to great tide pooling spots, restaurants, and kayaking companies.

Hope, hope, hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Printmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

George's yurt is by far the most interesting place I have stayed and by far has the best view of anywhere I have stayed. George is a gracious host and keeps a spotless yurt. We had 5 ladies and everyone had a bed. The bathroom is super and has anything you could want. The kitchen is great. Small, with a fridge, sink and hot pot and a microwave. Don't plan to do anything more than coffee or a sandwich here but there are so many good restaurans that works out perfectly. Woud stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FTMNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent two nights at the Yurt and had a great experience. George the owner is very attentive and he keeps spotless accommodations. Your front yard is the magnificent bay and mountains. We saw lots of sea birds from the front deck. The Wifi and cellular service there worked great. You can consider yourself very lucky if you can find an open slot to book a reservation. We booked a wildlife viewing cruise with the Salt Water tours and saw every kind of animal including 15 Orcas. We are hoping that some day we can return to the Alaska Base Camp and spend more time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.5 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
5.9 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
6.2 mi away
Box Canyon Cabins
Box Canyon Cabins
#17 of 46 in Seward
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Base Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Base Camp

Address: 14000 Beach Drive, Lowell Point, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Also Known As:
Alaska Base Camp Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing