We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Vacation”
Review of Alaska Base Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska Base Camp
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Vacation”
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Alaska Base Camp is amazing! When my husband and I opened the door to the yurt, we were so excited to find a beautiful, clean and romantic room, which included a comfortable bed, futon, twin bed, kitchenette with a sitting area and a bathroom with a nice, hot shower (perfect after a long flight or hike). We enjoyed spectacular views of the mountains and Resurrection Bay on clear days from the screen door and large deck. We also enjoyed listening to the rain (as you do from a tent) and enjoyed our favorite radio programs from our computer. How amazing to wake up and see 1 or 2 eagles on the flag poll next to the deck, and sea otters floating on the bay. We used the gas grill to prepare nice dinners on a regular basis and used the lounge chairs on the deck to relax. George, the owner, is very friendly and is always available to share suggestions for your trip. This was the most peaceful and relaxing vacation we have ever experienced, and are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightsunshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland ohio
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

we got moved to the yurt when the alaska saltwater lodge asked us to move there for one night, apparently they sublet overflow days from the owner of the yurt. It was great and we wished we would have stayed all three days there. you have your own personal deck right on resurection bay with your own grill, patio furniture, etc. and a fully equiped kitchen as well. It was clean and had everything we needed and in such a beautiful spot. the only downside was that there is a dome on top that lets the light in, and the night we were there was the only day of course that the sun came out, so we were up very bright and early.

  • Liked — location, uniqueness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimcht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Spent two nights at the Yurt in June 2008. . Honestly the owner’s website does not do much for how nice the place actually is. We are campers so we were not expecting much more than the basics with the added bonus of indoor plumbing, refrigerator and microwave. I cannot tell you how surprised we were when we entered the Yurt. “Dirtbeard” summed it up pretty well . Oh and the view on a clear day………..heaven! I almost hate to post on Tripadvisor as the word will get out on this little gem. Thanks George for your hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Chi_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Overall we were very pleased.

The location is Lowell Point two miles south of Seward. The point is more developed than we expected and like so much of what we saw in Alaska contained what can be described as personal junk yards along the road. But once you get to the yurt it and the setting are very nice.

The Yurt sits next door to the owner on one side and another building on the other in a row of beach front homes. The yurt is very nice and the owner/manager very personable and accommodating. The front deck overlooks the western shore of Resurrection Bay with views of the mountains across the bay to the east. From the Yurt you can walk out onto the beach. It is fully stocked with one bed, two futons, kitchen and bath. The kitchen contains a microwave and toaster oven, but no stove. In the center of the roof is a skylight that is not covered, so the yurt is flooded with light whenever it is light out... which may be an issue for some in the summer.

All said, we liked it and would recommend it as a base of operation while in the Seward area.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirtbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.8 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
747 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
559 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#5 of 14 in Seward
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Resurrection Lodge on the Bay
20.1 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
8.0 mi away
Orca Island Cabins
Orca Island Cabins
#10 of 45 in Seward
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Base Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Base Camp

Property: Alaska Base Camp
Address: 14000 Beach Drive, Lowell Point, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Also Known As:
Alaska Base Camp Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing