We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Seward, Alaska”
Review of Bear Creek Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Creek Cabins
Ranked #14 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Seward, Alaska”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was a little skeptical when my husband made reservations at a "rustic cabin" in Seward but I was very pleased at the comfortable accommodations and hospitality at Bear Creek Cabins. Cabin #3 felt like home the minute we arrived - especially with the welcome sign on the door!! Comfortable bed (some might say too soft), shower, TV, Wi-Fi, coffee, fridge - very clean room and many welcoming touches. We drove the short distance to town and brought some groceries and "Subway" to eat on the deck. The owners are "family" and have supplied wonderful laminated resources in the room to learn quickly about the activities and restaurants in Seward. Some people might have difficulty finding it - if using an online map site - but not if they watch for the large sign on Bear Creek Road. I wish we had planned to stay longer! Sorry we missed seeing the wildlife and exploring the creek. Thank you Candy and Carl!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Any of the 4 cabins would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saderbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The cabins were a great place to stay. There are no places to eat the are extremely close, but there are a few just a couple miles away. There is no public transportation around, so you MUST have a car. The cabins we VERY clean and organized. The coffee and coffee pot were a welcome suprise. The fridge and microwave were also a welcome suprise. We went into Seward (about 6 miles away) and got a few groceries the day of our arrival. That was very handy when we had the midnight munchies. The would highly recommend these cabins to everyone. The best part of all was the price. The cabins were one of the cheapest places in or near Seward to stay.

Rated the sleep quality a bit lower than rest because the bed was squeaky and the middle of the night when you roll over it is a bit annoying.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McArthur, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My wife and I stayed in Cabin #4 for two nights at the beginning of July, 2012. The cabin was large, with a queen bed, sofa, eating table and chairs, fridge, microwave, coffee service, etc. The bed was comfortable, the cabin very clean and attractively decorated. Nothing fancy, but very pleasant and comfortable. The cabins are situated in a wooded setting, back off the road (which carries no traffic anyway), so it was quiet except for the eagle attending the salmon stream screaming occasionally. The cabins are a few miles north of Seward, so you need a vehicle to get to town. Couldn't ask for more. We'd be happy to stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
272 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Thank you Candy for letting us stay at your wonderful cabin. We had #4 and it was decorated so cozy and we found everything we needed. We stayed 2 enjoyable nights. You were a joy to work with from the moment i made my reservations in january and you sent me some scary pictures of the snowstorm that just came through.. to the moment we opened the door to your charming place.
I would recommend these cabins to anyone who wants to be close to Seard by far away from it all.
i also enjoy that you use top notch linens,towels and a comfortable mattress.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank one1badpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011. The cabins are about 5-6 miles north of the downtown area of Seward. This was very nice for us since we did have a car and it didnt take long to get into town when needed. There are 4 cabins on the property. We stayed in cabin 4 and it contained one Queen? size bed which was very comfortable, along with a separate bathroom w/ shower. The cabin is somewhat small, but was perfect for the 2 of us. There was also a couch which I assumed was a pullout so there probably would be no issue with 3-4 people staying there. In fact, there was another family staying in one of the other cabins (2 adults and 2 older teen age kids). There was also a small fridge which was convenient for drinks and food. One note, there is no utensils, paper plates, etc in the cabin. There is a shared, covered patio in front of the cabins that contains 2 charcoal grills and a picnic table. They did talk about bears down by the creek when we checked in, but didnt see any bears down there, maybe they tell the story to everyone to make the cabins more "Alaskan??" But who cares, it was a very decent place to stay and would recommend to others. We'll more than likely stay here again when we come back.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stout93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Location & price: This is the most beautiful cabin located in the wilderness of Seward. It is about six miles before Seward on the Seward highway, going from Anchorage to Seward. Downtown Seward is a five minutes’ drive from here. It is a very picturesque and quaint place. It is a little pricey, wish it had been a little cheaper.
Amenities: There is a microwave, a refrigerator, a coffee maker and a television in the cabin. There is no breakfast provided. There is no shuttle ride to and from anywhere. It is better to have your own car in Seward for a few days. Although it’s a small town, there is a lot to do and it’s a lot easier if you have a car.
The interior: We stayed in cabin #1 which had a bunk bed and a queen bed. We were just two people, my husband and I, but I am guessing that cabin will suffice for a family of four. It is spacious with a little elevated patio outside. It is exceptionally clean and well maintained. We rated it five out of five for the cleanliness.
Added advantages: There is a creek about a few hundred yards from the cabin. This place truly is right in the middle of the wilderness. They say that bears come down to the creek, so watch out when you go down there. We did not see any bears, although we did hear one was around on one of the days that we were staying there.
In the same creek area, much closer to the cabin itself, atop the trees…guess what we saw!! The bald eagle!! We saw a baby and one adult eagle and they were sitting there for the longest time. It was great!! This was in the evening at about 8:30 pm. We also saw one adult bald eagle one morning, at about 8:00 am.
The hosts: Candy and Carl Norman are wonderful people, great hosts who extend a very warm welcome to you and are very hospitable all through your stay. We strongly recommend that you stay here if you go to Seward. It was absolutely fantastic!! We loved it and would love to go back there for a few days if we ever could.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milestone16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The cabin was clean but without any views. If you want to book a cabin, go to their website and contact the owner directly. We booked the cabin through Alaska's Point of View Reservation Service. After we have reserved the cabin, we found out that the owner offers some discount. We then contacted the owners, but they would not give us the discount b/c we did not book the cabin through them directly.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BeautyBalloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seward
6.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
2.9 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
83 reviews
5.0 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
943 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Cabins

Property: Bear Creek Cabins
Address: 33552 Wissamickon Dr, Seward, AK 99664-9606
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bear Creek Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Cabins Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing