We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Lake Lodgings B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Ranked #2 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This B&B sits on a peaceful lake, with beautiful views. Kayaks and canoes are available to the guests. We were only there for one night and we wish we had more time to explore the lake. The home is immaculate, appointed perfectly with lots of personal touches made by Pat. And the breakfast was delicious!! A baked apple french toast. Pat also has an ice cream business... and although we missed the evening treats, she made us some ice cream nuggets for breakfast! Also delicious. Her knowledge of the area guided us to an excellent restaurant for dinner. We wish we had more time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearlakepilot, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for noticing all the little extras in our B&B to make it feel like home. I've enjoyed sewing many of the small items to add to that comfortable fee. The Baked Apple French Toast has been one of our popular full breakfast menu items. I"m sure you won't miss the Ice Cream Bar treats in the evening next time. YUMMY! Hope Alaska calls you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
184
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Peace and Quiet. Friendly and welcoming owners. Pat's amazing ice-cream. Spectacular beauty. The ice-cream. Great breakfasts. Incredible ice-cream. Close to Seward & Exit Glacier. Oh... that ice-cream. Canoe and kayak on a pristine lake while watching the eagles....thinking about the ice-cream. Hike or run on the original Iditarod Trail just down the road (before your ice-cream). And, did I mention the ice-cream!?
We spent 2 nights at Bear Lake - staying in the Lakeside Suite. It was very quiet, with easy access through a private entrance and a beautiful lakeside deck. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the Seward area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearlakepilot, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
That is one of my FAVORITE reviews! I have been serving Alaskans hand dipped ice cream bars for 30 years..... there is a reason they come back to the festivals yearly to enjoy them - they are AWESOME! This reviewer is proof that they are YUMMY and the perfect ending to a busy Alaska touring day. I'm thrilled you two managed to fit so many great local activities into your schedule between all those ice cream bars. Thank you for the wonderfully delicious comments and I hope to share some stories with you again at ice cream time - 8:00-8:30 PM daily at Bear Lake Lodgings. Come on back - we soooo enjoyed your company and winter has great skiing - Alaska isn't just for summer visits - we are open in the WINTER where you can leave your ice cream outside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

we will be recommending Bear Lake Lodgings B&B to all our friends. Thank you for making us feel at home. The kids were very happy to play on the docks. Taking pictures for the eagles and nest were well worth the time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

It is true that not many activities are available in wintertime at Seward; however, we do enjoy our stay at Bear Lake Lodging, it is joyful and peaceful.
Pat is very welcoming, considerate and with great humor. She always explains to us in great detail: what to do and what to eat. And even has a booklet that contains almost every restaurant’s menu and maps of different trails. Pat joked about the “crappy snow” because there wasn’t much of snow and my name is Snow. (That’s a good one, I must admit)
The house feels like home and we are like a family. Pat is an amazing lady! She reminds Michelle of her host mother in Minnesota: they are both very warm-hearted, humorous and good at making great food! On the second day of our staying, Michelle was “out of control” and had 3 waffles that morning because it was the best waffle ever! (Although we have been to Belgium and ate their waffle, she still prefers Pat's homemade!)
Moreover, Pat is a lovely mother and grandmother; the story she shared with us about her son's marriage and the miss of her university commencement were really touched - it made us feel bonded with her life. Such emotional connection is a precious experience you won't get from staying in a hotel or an inn or from simply be at the scenic, though it is an indispensable part for a meaningful trip! So don't miss the experience!
PS: the bed upstairs is super cozy and comfortable; we haven’t have that much of a good sleep in these days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 791Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Okay, I'm blushing - thank you for the wonderful comments. I so very much enjoyed our times talking and learning about each other. Winter stays give us more time to spend and get to know our guests. Very happy to hear that Fairbanks came through with Northern Lights for your visit, as Seward did surprisingly have a light display the night after you left. Hoping very much that Alaska calls you back to see it's beauty in the summer time - I rate you 10 stars as GREAT guests on the "Unofficial Guest Reviews" !!! Smiles back to you.... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My grandson, age 10, and I spent three nights here in June 2013. Beautiful property with great hosts.
We canoed on the lake and checked out the salmon run at the weir on Bear Creek! Breakfast were unique and hearty with enough choices to satisfy a 10-year-old!

The ice cream bars each evening were divine!

Hope to visit again!

Tom and Avery
Marietta GA

Room Tip: We liked the lake-view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigFry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Bear Lake Lodgings was simply the best of all our accommodation in Alaska, and it is not hard to see why these folk get such consistently high ratings. Rather than repeat all the rave reviews about the standard of the rooms (outstanding!), food (Ginny’s breakfasts were scrumptious!), and the perfect setting just the right distance out of town, I’ll add a more personal note about how lovely everyone was to my elderly father. Our trip to Alaska from Australia was in celebration of my Dad’s 80th birthday, and we travelled far and wide in the space of two weeks including Denali, the Seward area, and the arctic coast (to see polar bears). Our trip was magnificent for a variety of reasons, but we were especially struck by how genuinely kind, helpful and patient Alaskans were when Dad needed special consideration. No-one was kinder or more helpful than Ginny and Pat at Bear Lake Lodgings! They gave time and attention and clearly wanted to help make his stay as comfortable as possible. On top of all that these kind folks went out of their way to post my rain coat all the way back to Australia after I left it in my room at their place. I really can’t say enough good things about Bear Lake Lodgings except stay there and find out for yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for the very kind comments about us and our B&B, but also for your remarks about Alaskan's and their hospitality in general. Alaskan's are proud of our state and love sharing it with our visitors. It's good to hear that you found our citizen's welcoming and compassionate - Alaska's are truly a little different breed. Not many "outsiders" would be looking out a window at the snow we have now and be praying for colder temperatures and more snow - as we are!

We very much enjoyed you and especially the great stories your Dad shared, wished we had more time to chat. Wishing you both more amazing adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

A very comfortable and appealing way to sample Alaska - right by a lake, the float-plane and boats docked nearby. Delightful hosts, that special ice cream treat, very comfortable room, and its own little world down the road from town. The hosts provide great suggestions for your day with discounts on the boat tours. A hard place to leave!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We are thrilled with nice comments like these. We find many guests are sad they have only booked one night with us, not giving themselves enough time to visit the many great activities and sights in Seward. Plus, time to enjoy the lake with our complimentary canoe and kayaks ready for a paddle! Fun you noticed that we are in our own little world, close to the city and yet far enough for the pleasure of peace and quiet! Hope Alaska calls you back to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
6.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Lake Lodgings B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lake Lodgings B&B

Property: Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Address: 33820 Bear Lake Rd, Seward, AK 99664-9623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a magnificent setting on the shores of a forested alpine lake, Bear Lake Lodgings offers hiking trails out the back door, glassy waters perfect for a morning kayak, and a deck that enjoys the late Alaskan summer sun. The ideal base for all your adventures, the lodge features four rooms, each with its own unique characteristics, including two suites with access to viewing decks and two upstairs rooms with tranquil views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing