We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Ranked #2 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. Situated on the outskirts of Seward on a mostly private lake. It was great to be 5 minutes from the town and have the peace and quiet of the woods and lake. The B&B lets you have use of their kayaks tp paddle around the lake. The lake is full of salmon so your chances of seeing a bear are good. We saw a bull moose come out for a drink one night. There is also a trail head at the end of the road. We walked it a few times but I would take bear spray with you. Ask the innkeeper for it, there was a lot of bear scat and tracks back there.
The breakfasts were lovely with a wide variety of options. There were also delicious hand dipped ice cream bars every night at 8.
The place was kept clean and the innkeeper was a good host and very personable. There was also a fridge for guest use in the garage which was nice.
There are some rules for the house such as quiet time after 10pm and breakfast only available for an hour.
The only thing I wish would have been available was laundry service.

Room Tip: For groups traveling together, I recommend the top floor of the house. It has two bedrooms with a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandiko83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
185
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in this B&B a few weeks ago. Beautiful setting, complementary kayaks are great in good weather, which is rare. Wish we could see the owners more, they seemed to be lovely people but we mainly had to interact with the innkeeper Dealoah.I can imagine some guests finding it difficult to put up with her style but we managed to get on. We followed the rules:))!!
On a few occasions we felt like we were a bit like unwanted guests in someones' home.
The bed in our upstairs room was too short for my husband and uncomfortably high.

Room Tip: Room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyBuksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Our location is VERY special and happy you recognized the beauty it offers for our B&B guests. The lovely green is lush from it's "rain forest" location, as our section of the Kenai Peninsula falls into the Northern Boreal Rain Forest. So, the guest is right on our sketchy weather possibilities. Visiting Alaska is not a trip to plan for sun - even Fairbanks residents feel they have need having winter for summer! Seward's usual weather pattern is rain and when it's sunny - we are being BLESSED! Sorry you did not feel blessed, guests last week enjoyed six days of Seward splendor! It's a gamble and for future guests - bring your rain gear (layers) and don't let the weather intimidate you from trying all the adventures we have to offer. Kayaking in the rain will offer the same wildlife as you would see in the sun - the fish and eagles and bears.... don't care!

Sorry to hear that you felt our American standard queen bed length with a queen sized bed frame from IKEA was too short. Taller guests might want to consider any of our other guest rooms, other than Resurrection Peak, as they do not have a foot board. The queen bed in that room is a full sized queen frame from IKEA with a custom high quality American mattress. The current trend in USA is for the higher quality mattresses to be thicker and taller, plus we have 2" memory foam topper on the bed. The bed receives raves for it's comfort - sorry for guest problem.

We accept the compliment and hope to live up to it for future guests we get the opportunity to interact with. We are both full-time employed requiring a full-time Innkeeper to oversee our B&B. Daloha and Ginny have split the summer duties - both have a different style of communicating with each being truly professional as our Innkeeper.

We often joke that a B&B would make a great reality TV show, with the unexpected things that happen (and they do!). So to assure continuity for all our guests in our B&B at anytime, with the daily turnover of guests we like to make all aware of a few items. As with most B&B's the guest making the reservation is the only one in a group who reads the property guidelines and polices. We have found it essential to have all guests informed of our simple guidelines to enhance their stay for safety, comfort and enjoyment. Our guest's introduction to the property and their rooms has eliminated most of the opportunities for confusion and ensured their safety and comfort.

Our lakeside location and insurance mandates we explain specific basic requirements of our kayaks and canoe use - ie - wearing a PFD, their location, hours of use, and signing a liability waiver. We ask guests to enjoy our common areas until 10:00 PM, as many guests have early morning departures for tours, all guests have keys to come and go at anytime. Guests are shown their rooms - not just pointed in a direction, but with the Innkeeper noting the safety escape plan for any emergency and special room features. The rooms on the 3rd floor also have fire escape ladders for an additional safe exit. These are shown to these room guests and always explained in jest "The hammer on top is to break the window - should you not be able to open it, we just ask you to not practice!" which always brings a laugh!

VERY HAPPY, the guest review did not have to mention any loud noises at night from other guests or not having a clue how to exit during an emergency or ??? any of the things that make great reality TV shows (a guest cooking the fish catch in the kitchen during the middle of the night - it's happened!). Instead, we are thrilled the guest found a QUIET, very GOOD SHAPE and CLEAN accommodations. Where, as reviewer noted, we serve hand dipped in pure chocolate ice cream bars nightly to guests. YUMMY and a great social hour - the memories which make a B&B stay special! Along with free to use kayaks on a salmon spawning lake and an eagles nest to view - pluses that are not available anywhere else in Seward!

We hope you'll try us again and we can earn your 5th star! And, the sun might be out! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We've just returned home from our Alaska trip, which was awesome. Lodging is generally expensive, so we tried to camp as much as possible and limit our other lodging. So it was important for us that once we do stay at a place, it would be the best. We couldn't chose better than Bear Lake B&B. So close to Steward and yet isolated enough to let you experience the Alaskan wilderness. Situated on a lake with only few other houses, this is a beautiful B&B, in which the owners put a lot of effort into details, letting their visitors feel as comfortable as possible. In addition to the beautifully designed rooms and shared spaces, great breakfast and ice cream in the evenings, they also helped us reserve a cruise, gave us lots of information about activities nearby, and were so nice and friendly. How great is it to use their canoes to leisurely go around the lake before bed? Definitely one of the memories we will cherish from this trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaamaRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
WOW - thank you for the gracious and glowing review. Don't want to water it down with my comments - guest has said it all so wonderfully! Only reason to stay somewhere else..... we are full! Hope we are open for your stay too...... !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fingal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago for two nights at the start of a family holiday in Alaska. One of the principle reasons we stayed here was not the 5* Trip Advisor reviews but the wonderful response we received over a year ago from Pat when we made our initial enquiry. Pat sent to us a host of information and was so friendly and helpful even though she had no vacancies. We had to cancel our trip in 2013 but resolved to book in plenty of time for 2014.

The location is superb, very easy to find at the end of a short road. Backing onto the lake with the main room and our bedroom looking out over the lake. The bedroom was very spacious with one wardrobe and a large bed. Another wardrobe was padlocked and we understood that it contained some of the owners personal effects. Off the main bedroom was a small bedroom with a small single bed and it's own shelves for clothes. Again plenty of room and spacious. The decor was excellent with really nice soft carpet and very clean. En Suite Bathroom was again very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. As if this wasn't enough, a door led out to a wooden balcony overlooking the lake and with a large table and chairs.

The common areas, Lounge, Breakfast area were just as clean and of exceptionally high standard. Separated from the breakfast area by a counter was the small kitchen area. The decor was so good that it must require a lot off attention even with the stipulation that guests remove their footwear at the door. We'd no problem with that requirement and it certainly added to the cleanliness and feel.

The breakfasts were good and filled us up nicely. Cereals and eggs or bacon cooked by the Innkeeper Daloha. The innkeeper ran out of milk at breakfast and whereas it didn't affect us, she made a comment to two of the other guests that if they had been earlier they would have had milk. It seemed strange as clearly somebody (whoever was last) would have had no milk. She also laid on ice-cream coated with chocolate at night. Really nice and it went down very well with all the guests.

Also we were late back to the B+B one evening and brought a couple of sandwiches with us to eat on the balcony. Of course it rained and we had to scuttle in to the dining area. After eating and tidying up, my wife was washing a couple of the plates in the kitchen area. At this time Daloha appeared and she made reference to the fact that we were in "her office". It made us extremely uncomfortable and definitely affected our view of what is a beautiful place.

Having said all that, we would definitely recommend Bear Lake Lodgings and would stay there again. We would advise to ignore the tone of the statement of Rules on arrival and the overbearing Innkeeper, and just respect and enjoy the lovely location and facilities.

(Sorry Pat for only giving you 4 star. This is partly because we were requested to give 5 stars! You've a wonderful place, and we feel honoured to have been a guest. Daloha was at all times polite and friendly, always competent but just a bit too intense for us. We understand that some guests might be disrespectful and need to be reminded of it but we felt that we needed to watch our step or else we would be scolded)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shels4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of our B&B. You seem to be an observant traveler who enjoyed the many little extra details I put into our B&B for guest's added pleasure. Very nice to know the time spend with you before your travels was appreciated and of value.

Our GREAT Innkeeper for the first portion of summer, Daloha, does have a large, fun and gregarious personally - which may be overwhelming to some. We have received a few comments on TripAdvisor to that effect and I know that Daloha has taken them to heart and is serious about her professionalism in performing her duties. Knowing her desire to be customer orientated I'm sure she will be changing her style to fit more comfortably with all our guests and at other B&B's she manages. The comments you mentioned she made are coming from her style of humor with the situations. We do have a "no kitchen use policy", as stated on our website and on the guest guidelines posted in the rooms. No shoes inside a home in Alaska is a generally expected, due to our unpaved natural settings.

We often joke that a B&B would make a great reality TV show, with the unexpected things that happen (and they do!). So to assure continuity for all our guests in our B&B at anytime, with the daily turnover of guests we like to make all aware of a few items. As with most B&B's the guest making the reservation is the only one in a group who reads the property guidelines and polices. We have found it essential to have all guests informed of our simple guidelines to enhance their stay for safety, comfort and enjoyment. Our guest's introduction to the property and their rooms has eliminated most of the opportunities for confusion and ensured their safety and comfort.

Our lakeside location and insurance mandates we explain specific basic requirements of our kayaks and canoe use - ie - wearing a PFD, their location, hours of use, and signing a liability waiver. We ask guests to enjoy our common areas until 10:00 PM, as many guests have early morning departures for tours, all guests have keys to come and go at anytime. Guests are shown their rooms - not just pointed in a direction, but with the Innkeeper noting the safety escape plan for any emergency and special room features. The rooms on the 3rd floor also have fire escape ladders for an additional safe exit. These are shown to these room guests and always explained in jest "The hammer on top is to break the window - should you not be able to open it, we just ask you to not practice!" which always brings a laugh!

VERY HAPPY, the guest review did not have to mention any loud noises at night from other guests or not having a clue how to exit during an emergency or ??? any of the things that make great reality TV shows (a guest cooking the fish catch in the kitchen during the middle of the night - it's happened!). Instead, we are thrilled the guest found a QUIET, very GOOD SHAPE and CLEAN accommodations. Where, as reviewer noted, we serve hand dipped in pure chocolate ice cream bars nightly to guests. YUMMY and a great social hour - the memories which make a B&B stay special! Along with free to use kayaks on a salmon spawning lake and an eagles nest to view - pluses that are not available anywhere else in Seward!

We hope you'll try us again and we can earn your 5th star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had a really good time at Bear Lake Lodge. It was one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed! The food was good and the property was beautiful. I really enjoyed kayaking on the lake in the early morning. I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Another first time reviewer - HUGE THANKS for writing a review..... just for us! You make us really feel special.
Thrilled you make it out onto the lake for a morning paddle to enjoy all the natural beauty our location offers. We look forward to your return - hope Alaska calls you back to our doorstep soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I loved the location of this Inn. It is set on a lake, with kayaks available for use which was definitely one of the reasons I chose it. It was beautiful and the little paddle we took was perfect. There were Eagles flying overhead. Across the road was an Eagle's nest with the babies hatched that we were able to see with the spotting scope once the owner returned to the Inn.

It is spotless, the beds are comfortable and the bedroom views are lovely. The bathroom was shared, always clean. We were given our own mat for inside the tub as well as our own floor mat and towels. There was a jar of candy at the entry and a dish of pretzels in the common room. We were given a bag breakfast for our early rise day that was stashed in the frig. We had expected to just grab some coffee and cereal when we got up however there was no milk available.

The owner, Pat, returned just in time for us to depart, and it was really quite lovely getting to meet her and she was gracious and helpful. We had a chance to chat about the area and she brought out the spotting scope for us to see the Eagles.

The Innkeeper who was I believe temporary seemed to manage the property like a tightly run ship. We arrived close to the time we had given and right in the middle of check-in time. Her very first comment when we walked inside was that she was glad we had "already followed the first rule of the house." Before she would show us the room, she walked us through the common area pointing to things and listing more rules. She was polite but a little intense. I realize there must be tons of very disrespectful guests but I think a little finesse was lacking. She was making a bundt cake for breakfast the next morning and expressed disappointment that we could not enjoy it as we were heading out early. I asked her if a piece might find it's way into our bag breakfast.... she laughed; it did not. I tried very hard to engage her and have a more relaxed conversation but it was challenging. She told us the coffee pot would be on but I got the sense that we were to take the coffee and go...but there was no milk... I don't think in retrospect that she wanted us to make anything dirty (dishes cups) or sit at the table in the morning. Her disposition did end up coloring our stay somewhat.

So... did I like the place? Yes. I suppose calling it an "Inn" may be been more accurate and may have changed my expectations.
Would I stay there again? Probably, and I would recommend it as a place to stay!

I thought a lot about writing this review and hesitated in what I wanted to say. I then read a few of the very few negative reviews and found they contained essentially a similar "complaint" regarding the caretakers while the owners are away (there are always personality conflicts but this was clearly not the case here), so I think it is worth noting here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBN_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Interesting review and find some items need clarification from our viewpoint.

Very happy you loved our location - we do too! The lake is a beauty and we feel blessed to live in such a lovely area. We wish all our guests were capable to take a paddle and have the same experience as you.

You are a seasoned traveler and having you note so many of our pluses where we attempt to go above and beyond the norm is appreciated. Thanks for those comments. Our young housekeeping staff is inspired by the "spotless" comments directed to their work and they like knowing their efforts are noticed.

Early summer we changed our welcoming email sent to all confirmed guests - these are received about one week before their arrival. We now ask if guests have a morning activity preventing them from joining our breakfast hour - thus allowing us to plan meals better for guests and have "To Go" bagged meal ready. Had our Innkeeper (B&B tender) known you desired cereal instead of a bagged meal, she would have had that ready for you with milk in the refrigerator. Our storage limitations sometimes has back up milk in another location in the house. She did have your coffee ready and we have a pump creamer on the counter available 24/7.

The bundt cake is a funny deal - she does not serve it cold. What makes it special and yummy is the butter and topping she broils into the cake before serving. She was baking it later in the evening and it must cool before slicing - which was to be in the morning. Sorry this didn't work out for you. Guests often open the refrig to take out milk and enjoy cereal before an early departure using the fully set up table and breakfast items ready for the meal time. This is not a problem - we don't put out milk, juice or ice water the night before and only milk at serving time.

I agree - we made a bad call on an Innkeeper position one time in the past. This year we reached beyond our circles to locate a true professional in Daloha. She is her business name www.AmazingInnkeeperRelief.com - and the number of certificates in this profession and other higher education degrees she hold more than impressed me! Along with multiple recommendations from MANY other B&B's across the US. Please just read 5 of the last 9 posted TA reviews and they all rave about her skills and personal abilities - "The Quintessential B&B", "Delightful Stay at Bear Lake Lodgings", "Wonderful Birthday Treat", "Comfortable Stay" and "Super Cute".

B&B and Inns all have different meanings to different people, regions and countries. We are a B&B with a full-time Innkeeper (or Hostess or B&B tender) as we are often absence due to full-time employment. When we are home - we delight in sharing with our guests as does our Innkeeper in our place. We do inform guests of our real careers on our website and have introductions to the Innkeepers for each summer.

I'm happy I got to share the baby eagles with you - as it's something I've been waiting to see for 3 years of staking this particular eagles nest. The eagle excitement continues as they are now standing on the edge of the nest and looking around.

I hope I have cleared up some of your disappointments and truly hope you will continue to stay the B&B way. Thank you for taking the time to review and share your thoughts.

Future guests reading this - please check out our Innkeepers credentials and try staying in a B&B in your area she may be tending! You won't be disappointed, nor will your taste buds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The king bedroom was spacious with great views of Bear Lake. Breakfast was tasty, and Pat and Dennis and staff were extremely helpful. Loved using their kayaks on Bear Lake. Felt like I was in another world on the lake!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
David - very nice to read your review and know that we ticked all the right boxes for you and Fawn! We feel our location is truly special and we appreciate hearing the same from our guests. Hope that our "other world" will call you both back for a visit in the future. I know Dennis would enjoy more conversations with you! Thank you for the kind review and taking the time to post one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
6.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
5.4 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Lake Lodgings B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lake Lodgings B&B

Property: Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Address: 33820 Bear Lake Rd, Seward, AK 99664-9623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a magnificent setting on the shores of a forested alpine lake, Bear Lake Lodgings offers hiking trails out the back door, glassy waters perfect for a morning kayak, and a deck that enjoys the late Alaskan summer sun. The ideal base for all your adventures, the lodge features four rooms, each with its own unique characteristics, including two suites with access to viewing decks and two upstairs rooms with tranquil views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing