We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite stay on our trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Ranked #2 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed in the Resurrection Peak Room at Bear Lake Lodgings on a recent 10 day trip to Alaska, and it was our favorite of all the places we stayed during our trip. The house is big, beautiful, and clean. The room we stayed in was on the top floor, with a shared bathroom (with one other room). The room and bathroom were both very clean and nicely done, the bed was comfortable, and the view was amazing.

Pat and Dennis (the owners) were wonderful - very helpful and nice, and the perfect balance of making you feel comfortable and at home while giving you the privacy you want. (Dennis even took the time to get us connected with a flight-seeing tour over the glaciers that ended up being our favorite and most memorable experience of our trip.) Ginny (the innkeeper) was also great - very sweet and helpful, and eager to provide us with (or find) anything we needed! And Trooper, of course, can't be left out - sweetest dog ever!

Breakfast was great both mornings, and we were able to enjoy the delicious food while sitting on the balcony taking in the beautiful scenery. Dessert at night... mmmmm.... what's not to love about hand-dipped ice cream bars....

The lake is literally in the backyard, and you are able to use the kayaks/canoes they have on site to explore. Definitely do this - the lake is beautiful/peaceful and the mountains in the background make it one of the most beautiful places we've been. Plus, it's a free activity! =)

Not sure if the house has been fixed since the reviews about it being crooked... we didn't notice a slant at all while we were there. There was some minor work being done on the house but it didn't disturb us at all - they were even kind enough to wait until we were up and finished breakfast before starting.

All-in-all, a great stay. We will definitely return on our next visit to Alaska (and probably stay longer).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pen15club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2010

This was a great place to stay. Great owners, super clean and neat, and all the amenities of a fine hotel. The lodge feel of the building is only accentuated by the sloping floor - a true Alaskan home! The bed was divine and I slept better here than I do at home. Breakfast was awesome, fresh, tasty and just right for starting a busy day. The area is quiet and peaceful, with a great view of the lake and surroundings. Easy to find, with great owner directions. I can't say enough about how great it was - I wish I had been able to stay longer - next trip definitely!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolarSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

A home away from home. My husband and I traveled with my parents to Seward from Anchorage for some R&R and chose to stay with the Perrys at their B&B. Their beautiful lakeside home was exactly what we were expecting from their website. The peaceful and serene setting was more than anticipated. Pat welcomed us with a tour of the home and some helpful tips about local restaurants. My husband and I stayed in the Resurrection Peak room and I didn't want to leave. It was beautiful....it was perfect. Tastefully decorated and oh-so comfortable. Special touches like home sewn accents. I found myself taking a picture of the shower curtain that Pat sewed so I can attempt to make one like it for our home. In the evening we were fortunate to meet Dennis and found we shared some common interests. Pat served yummy ice cream while we exchanged stories. Gracious, salt of the earth type of people! Breakfast was amazing with homemade goodies sure to keep you going until after lunch.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaceytheParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

When we booked out 3-night stay at Bear Lake, we had wanted to stay in the Bear Lake Deck Suite, but it was already booked on one of the three nights. We contacted the hosts, Dennis and Pat, and they were very flexible, allowing us to stay our first two nights in the Deck Suite and the third night in the Lakeside Suite.

The Deck Suite is a very nice, large room with a very comfortable king bed and a small day bed in an adjoining room. The room is one the second floor, which is the main floor of the house and is where the kitchen and common room are. The bath is private and is accessed without leaving the room.

The Lakeside Suite is on the first floor, which is near the entrance to the B&B and lies directly under the dining and common rooms. It's not as well furished or as bright as the Deck Suite, and accessing the bathroom requires a short walk down the hall past the entrance. No big deal though -- people only go thru that part of the house to enter and exit so it wasn't busy.

For both of the rooms, the biggest issue we faced was noise. In particular, in the Lakeside Suite, since you're under the common/dining areas, you hear all of the foot traffic from above. Certainly this is to be expected to some degree when you're staying in a house, but it did mean you'll be waking up when Pat goes to the kitchen to make breakfast.

Speaking of breakfast, we found them adequate but that was about it. Pat generally made a hot item each morning, but one morning it was muffins which she had accidently burned. There was cereal, oatmeal, etc. out though so you could always find something to eat.

On the other hand, because Pat owns and operates a business selling chocolate-dipped icream bars, every evening she makes complimentary bars for the guests. That was nice and provided a good chance to get to know Pat as well as the other guests.

The best thing about the lodge though is the lake it sits up against. One evening we took one of the canoes provided for guests out onto the lake and it was absolutely spectacular. We got to sit and watch six or more Bald Eagles eyeing (and eating) the salmon that were trying to exit the lake up a small stream. It was quite amazing and a highlight of the trip.

One last thing to mention which has been mentioned in the other reviews. This house has a very noticable slant from back to front -- enough so that you can feel the slant when lying in bed. It's actually not a big deal, but it's an amusing quirk that kept us laughing since the walk from the bathroom back to the bed was "uphill."

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tivolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearlakepilot, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

No more indoor uphill hikes! Sorry, if you have read our earlier management response - the foundation received a major overhaul in the spring of 2010. The foundation was strong and structurally great, but with future plans for the house we needed to address the foundation. It's allowed us to add a new porch entrance and more deck room for guests in the Lakeside Suite.

Our menu received a BIG facelift too in 2010 - we went from a continental breakfast offering to a FULL breakfast. A hot entree is offered each morning along with a mix of other breakfast items if the entree is not your choice. Fresh fruit has been added to the daily menu too and our Innkeeper is willing to find whatever you might need to make your day have the right start!

We are sorry a noice problem existed for our guests in the Lakeside Suite and have made a change to handle that problem. We are now using soft soled footwear and using extra care in the morning hours before breakfast time. It was good to get this information and hope our efforts have corrected this situation. We do have quiet time for the main common living areas after 10:00 PM so guests throughout the B&B can get the rest they need.

Nightly hand-dipped ice cream bars continue to be a BIG hit for all our guests! How can you go wrong with freshily dipped in pure chocolate (blend of milk and dark chocolate) ice cream that is next rolled in dry roasted almonds or crushed Oreo cookies? Okay, I'm hungry now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Great locaion, breakfast, and amenties. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

An eagle fishing in the lake and fish surfacing just off the dock provided a foreground for the spectacular forest and mountain background. Access to kayaks and canoes was just the extra service to make my stay exceptional. I liked being removed a small distance from the busyness of downtown Seward because I prefer a setting more private, near to trails, away from noise. The beds and sheets were comfortable. Everthing very clean. Decor very welcoming.

A variety of guests sharing complimentary, hand-dipped ice cream bars in the evening and the tasty breakfast enhanced my stay. We Alaskans arrived by car, another party flew in and landed on the lake. In addition, there were guests from all over the U.S.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskacindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Probably the best B&B in our 9 days trip. Rooms are clean and cozy. Although we only saw the male host (they hired a Innkeeper taking care of everything), they are friendly and willing to share local info with us. Lovely common area and amazing ice cream severed every night. But breakfast is not good enough for us. This is the only negative point we have. And they got a very nice, well trained dog - Trooper. We really loved him.
Will definitely go back again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
5.4 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
3 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Lake Lodgings B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lake Lodgings B&B

Address: 33820 Bear Lake Rd, Seward, AK 99664-9623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a magnificent setting on the shores of a forested alpine lake, Bear Lake Lodgings offers hiking trails out the back door, glassy waters perfect for a morning kayak, and a deck that enjoys the late Alaskan summer sun. The ideal base for all your adventures, the lodge features four rooms, each with its own unique characteristics, including two suites with access to viewing decks and two upstairs rooms with tranquil views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing