We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean and cozy inn. There is a new inn along with the cabins.”
Review of Salmon Bake Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salmon Bake Cabins
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Really clean and cozy inn. There is a new inn along with the cabins.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This inn is by far one of the nicest bed and breakfast lodges we have stayed at. It is super clean and the beds are comfortable. Decor is really nice and has a real lodge appeal. Morning breakfast is included and the dining area is very cute. The cook came out of the kitchen to ask if we wanted eggs or waffles and served us shortly after. Coffee and food was great. We lucked out finding this lodge online. The inn also runs a restaurant next door and this was very convenient and served scrumptious food. I would definitely recommend the Salmon Bake inn. Staff was also very polite and accomodating.

Room Tip: Stay at the Inn. It's much nicer than the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickietoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Not a bad price, but even for the cheap cabins you would expect clean bathrooms. Also, there are only three bathrooms for everyone to share. Not very fun in the morning. Some of the bathrooms were downright disgusting.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Get out of the hustle bustle of town and enjoy a nice place. We just needed a place to sleep and for thd little one to take a nap. We stayed in cabin #4 and there was plenty of room for our travel crib. Felt very comfortable. The employees were super nice even at the end of the season!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We only stayed here one night but for the price (significantly cheaper than anywhere else we stayed in the state) you can't beat the value. We really recieved the same amenities here as anywhere else, granted if you had a large family paying for breakfast ($7) might not make it as cost friendly. We stayed in cabin 3 and had more than enough room for 2 of us with a queen bed and two twins bunked. We felt like we were in the wilderness even though the parking lot was probably only 20 feet away we were nestled back behind trees which was relaxing. It was also very convenient walking over to eat at the salmon bake since we had planned on eating there one of our nights in Seward anyway and I would recommended getting a meal in there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldboomer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice place but the cabin is too small. No place for luggage, no hangers or dressers. The bed has a queen on the bottom and a bunk on top and jammed up against the wall. You have to crawl over the person next to you to get out of bed. The owner is very nice and breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Stay in the Lodge. It seems to have larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tango9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Salmon Bake is a great combination of convenient location, comfortable lodging, warm atmosphere and an exceptional restaurant. Located just off the main road north of Seward and a short distance from the famous Exit Glacier, Salmon Bake is in a beautiful wooded location. The cabins look rustic on the outside, but inside they are spacious, clean and well appointed, including very good lighting. Right next door is the Salmon Bake restaurant, which has a mid-scale menu featuring lots of fresh fish dishes, deli sandwiches and steaks. The food there was really quite exceptional for such a small town. It was far better than the well known restaurant in town where we had lunch.

My only complaint is that, like many businesses in Alaska, the staffing levels are too low to provide fast, efficient service. Each employee seems to have multiple jobs and you often have to wait for somebody to help you - even to check in/out!

Still, we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin farther away from the restaurant for extra privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maguiredan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulst, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked one of the Salmon Bake Cabins after reading quite a lot of positive reviews on Tripadvisor. To be honest I think this place (cabins and restaurant) is overrated en outdated, not the lodge, thats a nice, new, wellmaintaned place. We slept three days in cabin 2, which was clean and had a large bathroom. we didn't like the the rustic bedside, beds were to soft. TV wasn't working well, fridge and coffeemachine were OK. The cabins are not in parklike surroundings but on the edge of the parking of the Salmon Bake restaurant, a popular place in Seward. We had a salmon meal, but found it average at the least. Interior of the restaurant did meet up with our standards, uncomfortabel seating and noisy. There are far better places in Seward.

Room Tip: I would recommend the lodge, not the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmon Bake Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Bake Cabins

Property: Salmon Bake Cabins
Address: Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Salmon Bake Cabins Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing