We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cabin in the woods.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salmon Creek Cabins
Ranked #13 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Reviewed 30 August 2013

By far our favorite accommodations in Alaska. The cabin was much larger than we expected. Great value for the price. Very comfortable. Hosts were helpful but didn't get in your way. Very close to town and lots of activities. We stayed in cabin 4. The curtains were wonderful for blocking out the sun while we were sleeping.

Room Tip: Cabin 4 was perfect for our family of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smiling-4-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

The host, Betty, at this small group of cabins, was great; very nice and accommodating. Also, the cabins are great and were clean and comfortable.

Unfortunately, you are required to book through a booking agency with one of the rudest, least friendly women I have ever dealt with. Firstly, know that the "kitchenette" that is advertised includes a microwave and refrigerator and nothing else (the woman told me on the phone after we had arrived that those are the only requirements to meet her definition of a kitchenette...). Also, this lady refused to allow us to check out one hour late following our morning fishing trip unless we agreed to pay additional money. She was already miffed by us and the fact that we questioned her use of the word kitchenette on her website so had no incentive to provide any help at that point. I'm amazed she has managed to keep the roster of cabin and B&B clients she has, but there must be no other options for small operators in Seward...

As long as you know these possible issues up front with the booking service, there should be no problems. Again, the cabin itself and the host were great!

Room Tip: Cabin 4 was great. Just don't expect a kitchenette or any dishes, utensils, cups, etc. Refrige...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent just one night and since another hotel booked for us we did not know what to expect. First of all you have to know there is no staff on site, the owners drop by I think daily but you might not see them. The cabins were nice and cleaned, pity was no river by but it was not far from downtown Seward, but it was quite. Two cats will keep you company which was a bonus for us :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Location: not in Seward town center, but in a quiet area off the road behind the bush. About 5min drive into town. Very quiet. No noise at all. Not suitable for people without vehicles.

Cabin: nice and cosy. Very clean, friendly hosts. Microwave and charcoal BBQ. In cabin #2, the stairs to the loft were not only steep, but also right in the middle of the room = dangerous!. If you sleep downstairs and want to get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, be careful not to hit on the stairs. If you sleep upstairs, don't fall off the stairs while you are half asleep trying to go to bathroom. Some cell phone coverage. No wifi. No dishwashing cloth or brush. No plates, cups, mugs. or spatula. Supply of these extras would otherwise be really appreciated.

Hosts: Jim and Betty are the loveliest couple you can probably ever meet. They have been in the business for years.

I would recommend staying with them for the super unique and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank committedmacysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We only had time for 1 night at this cute property. We arrived quite late (after the cruise which ended at 10pm). The owner came to greet us and asked if we had any questions. We needed more bedding supply and he let us go and fetch whatever we wanted from the supply room. We got cabin #2. It was super clean inside. Everything looked new to me. There were a lot of supply outlets in the bedroom area as well as inside the bathroom. (There were 4 of us and each brought 1-2 electronic gadgets each so that really helped.) The bathroom was also very clean and comfortable with nice amenities. I thought the stairs to the loft were a little steep but that's the only thing I wish would be different.

In the morning, the owner brought us moose sausage to try! So to sum up, I think this is a nice place to stay with a lot of personal attention from the owner. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

These cabins are awesome. We had the best ever stay here. The rooms are nice and clean, and Jim and Betty are very awesome hosts. I would recommend these cabins to anyone going to the Seward area. They do have TV, which we didn't need because of the good company. The also have a huge firepit area for night time. Very nice place. We will defenitely be staying here again next year.
Thanks Again Jim and Betty
Mitch, Lynnette, Lamont and Kimberly

Room Tip: Cabins are located in a very nice wooded area. Private, clean and great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 757nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent two nights at the cabin and had a great stay. The cabin was clean and neat and very homey. Our cabin did have TV with a limited number of channels. They also offer free DVD useage while you're there. We didn't use either as we were out sightseeing all day and had no interest in TV or movies when we got back.

The area is quiet and provides for a great night's rest. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,104 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
587 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
5.4 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
14.5 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmon Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Creek Cabins

Address: Salmon Creek Road, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Salmon Creek Cabins Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing