We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salmon Creek Cabins
Ranked #15 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Highlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and comfortable”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed (4 adults) for two days and were very comfortable and happy. The owners were very accomodating and friendly. Each night, they would stop by and chat for a few minutes about our day and what we could do the next. The cabins were smaller than we expected and we moved to the larger cabin when we arrived. On whole, a very nice place to stay if you like a rustic setting. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eheaterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    19
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed here for four nights on our Alaska trip and enjoyed every minute. This little cluster of cabins is close to town and attractions, yet the temperate rain forest is outside your window. Kenai Fjord boat tours, restaurants, Exit Glacier and dog sled tours are only minutes away. Cabin owners are helpful, yet the place is very informally run, (you leave a check in the guest book when you leave), which suited us just fine. (Note that NO credit cards are accepted except to hold your reservation.) The laundry building was extremely convenient (you just add the per load charge to your check when you leave). The cabin was beautifully decorated, Alaska style, complete with moose antlers and snowshoes. An outdoor fire pit area is available to use. A welcome chalkboard with our names on it by the cabin door told us right where to go upon arrival. There is a microwave, coffee maker and fridge so you can manage a few meals, but no true "cooking" facility.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katmoran5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I'm writing this review to counter the glowing reviews of some others. This was not our favorite place. We like rustic, but this was just below par.
We found our large cabin rather cramped for four people. We found the lighting inadequate. How could you stand it there when it is not the height of summer? The imitation black lace on the windows was depressing. One of the first things we did was remove all the scent bottles from the cabin. The shower was impossible to regulate. There was a small fridge. A table with four chairs. No comfortable place to sit other than the beds.
When we arrived there was no one around. We found the key eventually. There was none of the basic info you usually find. We had no idea how to get more coffee etc.; luckily we ran into one of the owners the next day.
On the plus side it was clean, and in a pleasant area. But I wish I hadn't believed the glowing reviews.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond WA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at another B and B in very cramped quarters and had an open night not knowing if we'd be in Seward or Sodotna. Asking around, a referral was made at the last minute to Salmon Creek Cabins. What a pleasant surprise! Best rate by far, better furnished, cleaner, more friendly (thanks for the moose sausage sample!), and much better facilities. Next time we go fishing out of Seward, we know where we need to book!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skagit46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up North Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We traveled with our group of kids and their friends aged 14-21 and couldnt have asked for a better atmosphere!! Jim and Betty left the light on for us as we arrived late and were quick to introduce themselves and answer any questions we had. The laundry facility was AWESOME and the cabins cute and cozy. We will for sure stay here again and cant wait to be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolatski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I have been to Alaska 10 times and have stayed at the good, bad, and very ugly. Salmon Creek Cabins is one of my favorite places to stay. It is very Alaskan. It is in a dark primevil forest with big trees and undergrowth. The cabins are clean and comfortable but no frills. The owners will help you if you need them but leave you alone otherwise. Kinda Liberitarian thus Alaskan. If you are looking for lots of attention and need a concierge then look elsewhere and leave Salmon Creek Cabins for people who go to Alaska to be in Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Our family of 8 adults spent 6 days in the large cabin. Couldn't have asked for better accommodations, clean, comfortable and certainly affordable. The hosts were quick to give info on what to do, where to go and how to enjoy the Seward area. From this location we took day trips to Cooper Landing and Homer, also saw most of the sights in/around Seward (and visited the many "pubs"). The laundry area was fantastic and we made good use of it several times as it was quite wet while we were there. We enjoyed Jims talks and visits to the deck and the girls especially appreciated the sourdough pancakes/bacon he brought when the men folk left us to go fishing!! We definitely want to visit again and plan to stay at Salmon Creek. The best place in/around Seward for the money and ambiance!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speigle7149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
559 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,040 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
14.5 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
5.4 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmon Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Creek Cabins

Property: Salmon Creek Cabins
Address: Salmon Creek Road, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Salmon Creek Cabins Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing