We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service but......”
Review of Oriental Garden - CLOSED

Oriental Garden
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and service but......”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Its local family owned, I like the food and the service has always been very attentive, but with two guys running the place it is definitely missing a lot of detailing.
Off times should always be spent doing those extra cleaning jobs in this place is certainly lacking that. Upon closer inspection this restaurant is so filthy I just don't think I can eat here again.
Best egg drop soup and kimchi!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dashAK99664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The food is basic chinese with the usual menu. Nice booths with view looking out on 4th St. The head waiter was friendly and excellent. He is a magician and entertains everyone. Nice touch as kids get impatient sitting at the table. He had everyone cheering. Very inexpensive for Seward .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
1 review
“Unedible food chow mein mush”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I hope I can save someone from going here. First time I have ever written a review it was that bad. Chow Mein was old mushy and no flavor. I believe it was old leftover food from the lunch buffet. Could not even finish it because the meat just did not taste right. Usually you cannot go wrong with chow mein but they did their best to make it tastle like slop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Better of the two Seward Chinese restaurants”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

My wife, who is China born Chinese, thought the food here was really good. I did too. The service was pretty good with magic tricks and origami. We ate at both in town Chinese joints and this one would be our preference. By the way, neither is Chinese owned or managed or has Chinese people working there. Both are Korean. But Oriental Garden makes Chinese food just fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gonezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Really nice food, and very entertaining. The service has a lot of different ways to entertain you, and gives you plenty of good food, I always have leftovers. Usually they don't see when we are ready for our check so I have to go up to the register to let them know, but other than that I recommend it

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OwlWig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing