We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Food, Coffee and Gift Store” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranting Raven Bakery

Ranting Raven Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Seward
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb Food, Coffee and Gift Store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Ranting Raven was recommended to us for breakfast and we were not disappointed. The mushroom/gorgonzola quiche was absolutely fabulous - melts in your mouth. The coffee was strong and hot. Took an almond shortbread for dessert later in the day and it, too, melted in our mouths. Stopped there both mornings and am happy we did. Delicious and affordable food. Service was excellent, so others must have hit the server on an off day.
The adjoining gift shop is also excellent, with a majority of items by Alaskan artists at all price ranges.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baba51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    40
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I'm sure there's friendlier places around”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We walked in here in search of lunch, everything was hard for the server, she was rude, abrupt and unfriendly.
The food was average, the environment canteen like. Couldn't finish off our lunch quickly enough and leave.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great baked goods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The pastries, quiches and soups are great. A good place to for breakfast and lunch. The quality is consistent. The adjoining gift shop has interesting and artful gifts, not the typical tourist souvenirs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude server”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

went in for an afternoon perk up, around 3pm gal working the counter was rude complaining about how she had been there since 5am. she was locking up the back door early so no other customers could get in. She was annoyed that people wanted caffeine beverages at that time of day. Drinks and baked goods delicious - she soured the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeatherHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
201 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fun stop in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is the one "snack" stop that drew me in; I chose their gluten-free Cranberry Coconut coffee cake and it was quite yummy. They had a good selection of baked goods and hot drinks. I would return here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ranting Raven Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Ranting Raven Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing